We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We visited this hotel when we went to pick my stepdaughter up at the airport. It was close and very easy to get to. The interior decor was a huge surprise to me! It was lovely! The room looked fancy and very nice. The only disappointment we had was that the pool area was very small. It echos very bad so when its full it is VERY loud. There were so rude people there opening the exit door and smoking while standing in the door way. Drinking in the pool area when the rules say no glass containers allowed. I felt like it needed to be monitored more closely. Other than that, it was a great experience. There were 6 (2 adults and 4 kids ages 12, 8,6, and 2) of us staying and we had plenty of room. The 12 yr old slept on the couch and said it was pretty cozy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpea723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear sweetpea723,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the pool area. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Guest feedback is very important to us. It is important because it allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you and your family will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here as a sort of staycation/honeymoon style vacation. I (the wife) was very impressed with the decor of the place. We rented a suite style room (for under $100 a night before taxes!), and the extra large bathtub was in full view of the bed and the tv. It was very relaxing for the most part. The only complaints we had was that we could hear the neighbor behind us snoring, so the walls are a little thin. Also, since we arrived late, we got the last suite available, so it was near the elevator. It was difficult to sleep past 8 since people could be heard going to the continental breakfast. My husband also enjoyed the breakfast. It was very comprehensive. The only thing that was bad about it was that the waffle maker was broken. There was an exercise room near the pool. I felt like it was safer than your typical hotel exercise room since one could see into it from the hallway (usually they seem to be stuck in some back area of the hotel where someone could come and go and not be noticed). All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and the staff were friendly. Lastly, the hotel was in a less densely populated area of Kansas City, so it appears to be safer than other ones.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator and next to an unoccupied room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your wife. We hope you enjoyed your special time in Kansas City. Thank you so much for telling us about your concerns in the hotel . We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We hope you were not inconvenienced at all. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Worst stay ever. It first started when checked in. They did not have the room we reserved with a credit card. We had three people, they gave us a king bed instead of double. The third person ended up sleeping on the floor on an air matress, for the cost of 100. Management wad helpless and would not do anything.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladylibra7597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear ladylibra7597,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and we are truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret you found your stay less than satisfactory.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you will give us the opportunity to create a better experience for you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

As others have said, the hotel decor and feel is great. I love the efficiency feature where you have to put your room key in a slot to turn the lights on and how all the lights turn off 3 minutes after you remove your key. More places need to do this! The only bad thing about the rooms is the beds have waterproof mattress covers which are noisy and uncomfortable, but I know why they do it.

This place would have gotten 4-stars (I reserve a 5-star review for truly 5-star places), however I had to give it 3-stars as they couldn't get my bill right. I am tax-exempt and informed them when I checked-in and gave them my tax exempt information. When I went to leave, they still had the taxes and fees still on there. I had an early flight home (6am) so the manager wasn't there yet, so person #2 couldn't remove them but informed me that she would email me a new receipt later in the morning. Around 4pm that day, still no receipt. So I called and got some guy (#3) that sounded like he didn't even work in a hotel but he passed me on to a sales manager?? I don't recall her name (#4), but at least she showed the effort to fix the issue and make it right. I finally got a new receipt but they still left one of the fees on. I was frustrated at that point at just left it.

Oh, and the taxes/fees at this place is crazy!!! For $99/night there is $18 in extra costs from 7 different things that get charged to you. That's almost 20%!!

All-in-all a nice new place, but don't make your customers contact you multiple times after you have left

Room Tip: It took me 15 minutes from when I left the hotel until I was on the rental car shuttle bus back to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Nick K,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is a brand new property with delightful decor. The front-desk staff was efficient, friendly and seemed genuinely happy to have a bustling hotel--there were a lot of people staying the night we were there. Everything was clean, very comfortable beds, nice exercise room and a salt water pool! (Whirlpool is standard chlorine.) Breakfast was usual hotel food (drive 45 minutes to Wheatfields in Lawrence if you are headed that way anyway.) Great eco features like low-flush toilets and the key card electrical system. It was quiet and we all slept very well.

Room Tip: The rooms with a King bed are very spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jencircletheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear jencircletheworld,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us. we value all guest feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Overall a very nice new hotel but the beds are horrible and mattress pads are even worst.

For a new hotel and new beds you would think they would have invested money so guest could get a good nights sleep. The fact that you can get a rate that includes parking while your on a trip makes it very easy to book and stay, take their shuttle to the airport in the AM, so that is a huge advantage. BUT the beds are, as I mentioned horrible. They are hard, very hard and the mattress pads are even worst. Reminds me of beds you sleep on in Mexico.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marine-0311-Grunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear Tom G,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for telling us your concern about the bed. We apologize for this inconvenience. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We were disappointed when the old airport HIE closed a few years ago. Now a new one has been built just a bit further from the airport. The new HIE decor is a dramatic change from the old - you might call it retro/deco. We liked the use of color, the faux deluxe columns, and retro art. We liked having food available well before the full breakfast hour as many guests were there for early flights. (Kansas City's airport is far north of town and winter weather unpredictable). We didn't like the extra firm mattress or the quirky energy saving features (insert card in slot to turn electricity on). On balance, once we get used to the new concept, we will look forward to seeing more HIE properties updated to this decor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Island-Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Island-Voyager,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your great comments about the new hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family. We will pass all of your comments about the hotel on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for also telling us your thoughts about your room. We have a lot of new features. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
792 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
22.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Address: 9550 NW Polo Dr, Intersection I-29 Tiffany Springs Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64153-1130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: £77 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing