We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Lakin, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just lovely.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were passing thru Kansas City and so we planned to spend a night for our anniversary! We got the king jacuzzi room an it was just blissful. One of the most awesome holiday inns I have ever been to.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GertyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
GertyAnne,

Congratulations on another great year, with many more to come!

The staff is excited to have made your special evening that much better!

Hope to see you again when you travel through Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    82
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
82
37
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a pleasent staff nice beds and quite rooms. On Sunday of are stay the breakfast attending was completely overwhelmed by the sheer amont of people. When someone went over to help things seem to get better but he was still struggling to keep up. The manager should do schedule changing when there property is full especially on Sunday. While sitting in the lobby at least 10 people came to the ft ont desk to complain. Allison did as good as job as she could to run the front desk at 9:30am and helping diffuse a hot situation. People just need to realize when breakfast closes at 10:00 it will be busy

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank usdantravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Dan,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at when you were in the Kansas City Area.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Unfortunately our breakfast staff was not adequately prepared to provide the level of service we strive to achieve. We strive to have the best service for all of our guests; and have revised scheduling to prevent the situation you experienced in the future.

We do hope you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirksville, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

On a recent stay near the KC Airport, we opted for the Holiday Inn Express near the airport. This is a very nice hotel. The decor is very modern and the staff was friendly. The room was very clean and there were no issues with anything except the beds.
Many hotels are moving towards a more-firm bed and this is one of them. If the room had a softer mattress, this would be at the top of my list the next time I go to KC. We had to get up early to make a flight, so we did not bother to ask if they had a better one. If you go here and need a softer mattress, be sure to ask.

Room Tip: Ask to see if they have mattress choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesrider1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Jamesrider,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express and Suites by KCI Airport as your place to stay before the early flight!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay before your flight out of the Kansas City Airport.

I do apologize about the situation with the bed. All of our rooms are supposed to have Pillow Top Mattress Pads to aid in the softness of the beds.

We do hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the staff!!! Wonderful! I received a phone call from the night auditor confirming my arrival. I really love that! Upon arrival, the shuttle driver finds a parking space for my husband and I walk in to check in! Excellent service at check in! Fast! My room was cold! It was hot and humid outside! Kids fell asleep instantly! Our room was on the I-29 side but the traffic noise was not audible inside of our room. We tried the breakfast and I enjoyed the variety. Smoked cheddar omelette and garden omelette! Choices! What to eat is the question! I love the choices! I'm so putting in the same options at my Holiday Inn Express I manage. As we meandered throughout the hotel the staff was always greeting us! It felt like we were at home. Overall, the experience was amazing and all IHG properties need to follow suit!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reshma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I received the Holiday Inn Express information when I contacted the central booking number for Holiday Inn. I am a Clubs Reward card holder and do a lot of business traveling. We are looking to acquire a new business in the area and I needed to secure a conference room for a few days along with overnight room for myself. I had been working with a sales manager for this location by the name of Amber. The Holiday Inn reservation center had actually provided 3 hotels in the area for me to work with. I ended up selecting another Holiday Inn by the airport instead of this facility for a couple reasons. The other hotels pricing was a bit better and there was construction surrounding the HI on Polo Drive. Since I had people coming in to see me, I didn't want them to have to deal with the construction. When I decided on which facility I was going to use, I called and was forwarded to Amber's phone and left her a message thanking her for her help but I was going to use another HI nearby. After my trip, I discovered that I had been charged for a one night stay as a no show. Apparently, calling Amber and telling her that I wasn't going to be staying there and didn't need the conference rooms wasn't enough. I also didn't sign the paperwork that they wanted me to do which in turn would have reserved the rooms so it was clear that I wasn't using their facility. I left 3 messages for Amber to return my call inquiring that there must have been some mistake as I had left her a message and also did indeed use a Holiday Inn, just one down the road. Amber did not return my calls, and what made it even more unprofessional is I left a message for the General Manager as well and he did not return my call. I have never experienced such poor customer service in my life. All I can say is we will not be using this hotel for any customer or other business stays. Being treated with such disrespect and unprofessionalism will surely impact their business. An FYI - if you would have had the courtesy to call me back and discuss this situation, I might have let this slide but now will be disputing the charges.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear annhe,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week due to business. What a great staff starting with the General Manager-Daniel Fulani and Muktar Ahmed. Both employees were very friendly, professional and accommodating! The hotel is located not too far from a couple of shopping centers for shopping, dining, and/or taking in a movie. The shuttle drivers are friendly and will take you to some of these locations.

The hotel was clean and fresh! It was a great place to stay and I would stay there again when I visit MCI!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We often spend the night near the airport when we have an early flight, and have experimented with a number of different brands. There are many more expensive, but few much nicer than this hotel. I know it's not a Ritz Carlton, but it also isn't pretending to be one. It's just a good value place with large, comfortable rooms, and a pretty decent breakfast. They also charge not that much extra to let you park there for a week, and to take and pick you up at the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Other_Dr_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the compliments!

There are many hotels to choose from around the Kansas City Airport; we are glad that you allowed us the opportunity to serve you.

We do hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
732 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#38 of 109 in Kansas City
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Address: 9550 NW Polo Dr, Intersection I-29 Tiffany Springs Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64153-1130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing