We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #49 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
wichita
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, nice”
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed one night and got the Sunsational KC deal where you get the plaza giftcard. It was like home away from home - a kitchen with everything you need, a nice living area with a fireplace, an extremely comfortable, soft bed and a nice bathroom area with a spacious closet. It was a great deal for what you get and we used the gift card at a local restaurant and thank goodness because it saved us a lot on the bill. It was one of the most comfortable, clean hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. We also had a nice view out of the window.

The plaza area is very nice, but if you don't have a lot of money to spend, you're going to want to just walk around and check out the scenery, maybe get an appetizer somewhere and a few drinks. We ate out a few times and the bills were always pretty high, even at lunch. It's a higher end shopping area so expect to spend quite a few bucks on any purchases around there too. Next time we might go to the P&L district and check it out instead, but this hotel was phenomenal and I definitely recommend it. The only down part was the indoor pool in the summer. I prefer outdoor pools in the summer. But it was a decent pool and hot tub - and clean!

Also, we had some noisy kids next door and they had been yelling and shouting for a few hours so we called the front desk. Don't know what they did but that took care of it instantly! Complete quiet for the rest of the evening. The breakfast in the morning was the usual continental type stuff but was pretty good and the little lady walking around was nice and kept it clean and stocked. The hotel's also secured at night and they lock the lobby door and have a security guard right there in the front lobby. Great service!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akbrownWichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    80
    41
    16
    17
See reviews for
84
56
7
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

What a disappointment. Checked in Saturday night 2/28 for one night. I'm Silver Elite in the Rewards program, but was given a room with no window to the outside. The window from the living room and bedroom looked into the dining area for breakfast. I was astonished. I've had views of lightwells before, but never have I had no outside view. I erred by not requesting another room - I think because I was so shocked. If you do stay here, make sure you get a room with windows that look outside. The bedroom part of the room is very poorly designed - there really is only about 12 inches to walk around the bed - very awkward. And although some things said weekend breakfast lasted until 10, other things said 9:30 and they meant 9:30. No sleeping in for breakfast here. The living area was spacious, but overall it felt cheap, and thanks to the no-outside-light room, I can't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BornReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

I stayed at this hotel the weekend of the Big 12 conference (but not for that reason) so the hotel was packed. Nevertheless, the hotel was able to accomodate two rooms together so that I could stay close to my dad who was also staying at this hotel. Both rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. They were both large, with living rooms and little kitchens. The drawback was that the rooms were far from the "lobby tower" and therefore, we had to walk outside between the lobby (around which we got breakfast) and our rooms. This wouldn't be a problem if it were nice out, but for the weekend in November that we stayed there, it was very cold.

On the plus side, the staff of the hotel was nice and helpful; the hotel provided free internet (good for checking in flights); the location of the hotel was convenient to many stores and restaurants; and, most importantly, the rooms were great and at a decent rate. All in all, I would stay at this hotel again. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TysonsTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

I booked through Hotwire and originally was directed to the Q Hotel; the Q ended up being overbooked, however, and reserved a room for us at this Residence Inn instead. In the end, we were quite happy with the change.

The property is very similar to other Residence Inn locations-- clean, well-kept, and nicely furnished. Our studio room even had a gas fireplace. The hotel also has the limited parking facilities of other Residence Inns we've stayed at. However, parking is free, and we had no trouble parking two cars in the garage over an October weekend.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, and accomodated an early check-in with no problem. A room was available, so they were happy to let me in to it.

I agree with the other compliments about the location. It is up a hill from the Plaza, but it's one fairly short block. I would say the hotel is closer to the heart of the Plaza than some hotels, say the Sheraton Suites, which are technically "on" the Plaza. Being in walking distance makes such a difference. I did notice that the Marriott Courtyard is very close to the Residence Inn, but the Residence Inn has the better location.

I've never noticed a hotel that fits the description of the Residence Inn in the Hotwire or Priceline listings, but the Hotwire rate we paid made our stay a very good value. Free hot breakfast, wired internet, and free parking in such nice accomodations for $89/night was a pretty good deal .

As an aside, for those as unfamiliar with Kansas City as I was, this hotel was about a $13 cab ride (+ tip) to the Power & Light district.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The elevator is small and slow, but that's nothing to base a decison on.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShelbyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

This is our second visit to this hotel. It is in an excellent location -only a block from the Plaza. You are within walking distance from many restaurants - our favorites are the Classic Cup Cafe for breakfast and lunch and Figlia's Italian restaurant for dinner.

We had two rooms reserved as we were meeting family there and our arrival time was 3 hours before normal check-in time. We called ahead and requested early check-in and the staff was extremely accomodating and had rooms ready for us when we arrived at noon.

The weeknight manager's receptions are great as well as their breakfasts.

A great place to stay - would highly recommend it if visiting Kansas City and the Country Club Plaza

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank WDMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

This hotel is very similar to other Residence Inn properties - larger rooms with a kitchen, living area, and separate bedroom, a varied hot breakfast buffet, and a manager's reception with snacks and drinks on weeknights. The staff was very pleasant, and went out of their way to offer dining recommendations. The rooms were clean, had nicer linens and furnishings, and were quiet.

What set this hotel apart is the location. This properity is one block north of the Country Club Plaza - a collection of higher end shops and restaurants. It was very convenient to walk down to the Plaza for dinner, drinks, or shopping without having to move the car.

The one caveat is that one block is a pretty decent hill. It wasn't an issue for us, but we commented that it would not be fun to walk up or down that hill on a snowy, icy day.

Overall, this is a quality hotel with a very convenient location. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and room features
  • Disliked — We were on the 6th floor and the elevator was pretty slow. We ended up taking the stairs a lot.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2007

I had a horrible experience dealing with this hotel. They refused to honor the orbitz reservation that i had made. On top of that they were extremely rude and unhelpful. I would not stay there again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank idanovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 108 in Kansas City
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4601 Broadway, Kansas City, MO 64112-1461
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing