We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed at the Ambassador Hotel in downtown Kansas City in August. The hotel is brand new and the rooms were fabulous. The front desk employees were fast and efficient. The lobby resembles a W-Hotel in the look and feel. The bar area was very nice. I didn't get to try to restaurant, but the seating area was also in the lobby area. The rooms are top notch. Again, it really made me think of the W-Hotel in many ways, although the Ambassador is brand new so the bedding, furniture, fixtures and rugs were all beautiful. The bathroom was huge by hotel standards and the shower was gigantic and covered in tile. The location is perfect for anyone with needing to stay in the Power and Light district. I really can't say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I took a mini vacation to Kansas City and stayed at the Ambassador for a couple of nights. The rooms are amazing. Spacious and brand new! The decor was beautiful.
The bathrooms had a huge walk in shower.
The service was fantastic. We took advantage of the complimentary ride to the plaza and back one night.
It is a convenient location at a price you can't beat for the value.
I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icanea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Over the weekend we recently celebrated our anniversary. We live in the Shawnee Mission area of Kansas but wanted to get out of the house for the night. My wife read the reviews on this site and decided to roll the dice. Neither of us have ever visited a boutique hotel before. I am more of the low budge type when it comes to traveling. My concern was that this was downtown, not the Plaza area. The Plaza Hotels were booked but we liked the pictures and the Ambassador's website. We ate dinner at the Bristol and visited power and light. We checked in late Friday afternoon. Check in was fast. The front desk boy who checked us in helped my wife carry one of her boxes and bags to the room. We tried to tip him but he declined to take it, classy move. The room was definitely modern. It had a new leather smell. We were on the 5th floor away from the elevator. The bed was very soft. The room was quiet and hallway traffic noise was not a factor. Modern elegance is only way to describe the whole place. Check out was also very easy. If I ever stay in downtown or have any friends and family visit I wouldn't hesitate to point them in the Ambassador's direction. I am surprised there has not been more local press about this place. Very cool spot. Great special occasion spot.

Room Tip: Noise not a factor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayhawks74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I normally stay at the Hilton President for work, which is a very nice old historic hotel and I always get treated very well. On my last stay, I stayed at the Ambassador.

The Ambassador is a much smaller, boutique hotel which is in a very nice historic building. It was totally renovated with a pleasing mix of contemporary furnishings and decor but it still maintained the historic integrity of the original building.

My room was a standard size hotel room but with a large bathroom, a very nice walk-in shower and a single sink. There was a flat screen TV, a dresser, an armoire, a desk, 2 side chairs and a bench at the foot of the bed. My king sized bed was very comfortable with nice linens. There was a plush robe for my use hanging on the wall in the bathroom. A nice feature was the Keurig coffeemaker with individual coffee servings.

There is a bar/lounge/restaurant which is just inside the lobby. It is designed very nice, and looks modern and comfortable.

The hotel is brand new and as long as they keep it looking nice and clean, it should be very successful.

If I had my choice between the Hilton President and The Ambassador, I'd stay at the Ambassador because it is smaller, easier to navigate and the parking is more convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teddysmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My gf and I decided to go to Kansas City for a weekend trip after a long work week. After seeing the reviews on TripAdvisor, we took the chance and booked a Bed and Breakfast package at the Ambassador and couldn't have been more satisified.

While it was a little rocky when we got there and the computers weren't working for 10 minutes, the minute we walked into the spacious,clean, and pristine room, we forgot all about the front desk computer and passed out. The showers are huge, the mirrors are lit, and the king size bed was comfortable. The staff was super nice and accomodating when we requested our breakfast orders and the bartender and waitresses in the beautiful bar they have on the first floor were super friendly.

The location is near the Power and light district which was only 5 minutes away by walking. We roomed on the 5th floor facing the parking lot and there was no noise so we can sleep soundly.

Overall, this was a great place to stay and would try and book a room here again if we ever decided to come back to KC.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel is gem in this city. The location is central to everything and the free car service makes it easy to get to restaurants, bars, clubs and for me the Blue Room at 18th and Vine. The staff were stupendous and genuine. They were without being pretentious and they are personally knowledgeable of the best places to eat and have fun. The bar is inviting and serving a variety of standard and eclectic drinks and cocktails. I would refer this hotel to anyone that wants a warm, exciting, comfortable place for business or pleasure. I look forward to my next stay...a real winner!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moodyivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel is beautiful! When we first walked in the decor is so modern, but inviting. The staff at the front desk were so helpful. Our room was nicely appointed. I love a hotel that has enough outlets for all my electronics. The room looked like something out of a decorator magazine! The shower was huge, the vanity was great and well lit. The room was clean. Loved the free wifi. We left our room to get something to eat in the restaurant. Our server was so knowledgable, was able to tell us about everything on the menu. There were so many appetizers so choose from we decided on the crab cakes and beef flat bread. Both were tasty goodness! The corn chowder was so creamy. My bf had their special which was duck and he thought it was some of the best he'd ever had. The restaurant was busy, but the seating felt intimate so you didn't notice the other customers. We were right by the Power & Light district, just a block or so away. I can't say enough good things about the Ambassador Kansas City. Great room, great service, great location. A must stay if in KC!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ikedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#18 of 109 in Kansas City
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Address: 1111 Grand Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64106-2404
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: £149 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic boutique hotel in Kansas City offering luxury accommodations and elegant public spaces. Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection is a premier space for business and leisure travel. Built in 1920, our seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. We invite you to stay with us and experience this exceptional place, which sits within minutes of the popular Sprint Center and Kansas City Power & Light District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing