We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for NIN at the Sprint Center on 9/30. We stayed two nights. Only two blocks from the Sprint Center and the P&L district with tons of restaurants, bars, and other stuff. Very easy walk. Free parking too!

Room was really nice with a huge shower and two sinks. Not sure if we got lucky but according to the fire escape map in the room, our room was at least 2x bigger than any other on the floor. As far as I know it was a regular room.

They offered a complimentary shuttle at check-in which we used to shuttle us to Boulevard for their unfiltered tour.

We did not have a chance to eat at the Reserve since there's SO many places to eat, but it looked very nice. Prices were comparable to the other restaurants in the area (10-15 for an entree).

This hotel is not a big building but we never even saw another guest except for a few in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

I am happy to hear that you stayed with us during the NIN concert. We are located only 1.5 blocks from the Sprint Center which make for a great location anytime you attend an event or concert. As you mentioned our large rooms and walk in showers make for a very comfortable stay. I am glad you were able to use the hotel shuttle, we are happy to drive our guests within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. I hope you will think of us again next time you attend an event downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here as part of a business function so I don't have any idea what it costs, but it was probably worth every penny. Large rooms and large bathrooms, especially nice showers. Décor is really nice. One negative about my room, the lamp had a 15 watt bulb so the living area was exceptionally dark. If I had time to read, I may have had to go to the bathroom area to see a book. The food was also above average for hotel restaurants. We had multiple meals provided for us and the choices and taste were excellent. Seemed more homemade than mass produced. And I may want to marry the person that makes the chocolate chip cookies in the lobby, they were awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed having your group with us during your conference. I will be sure to share your comments about the food with Chef, and of course about his wonderful cookies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I travel. A lot. I'm on the road way more than I'd like for work and the overwhelming amount of it is big chain based. For the most part, they do a good job of doing what they do. You know where everything is, the people are polite enough, the room is what it is, etc. Due to the rather sudden nature of this trip, all the chain places were booked and so myself and a co-worker booked two rooms at The Ambassador. Then, we spent the next three days at our conference telling anyone who would listen about how much we were enjoying our stay. The shuttle service and Robert in particular were so simple, accommodating, friendly, and helpful in a way that was just above and beyond. It was simply the best hotel experience I've had in what seems like forever. Just a gem, close to everything, super comfortable, beautiful rooms, great food, everything just terrific across the board. Well done to the entire staff, ownership, and everyone involved.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your experience. I am happy to know that Robert made such a lasting impression with you, we often receive great comments about our entire staff. Also thank you for telling others about our beautiful hotel, word of mouth is the best form of advertising! Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed two nights in one of the loft suites. Room was comfortable, spacious, and tastefully decorated. Within easy walking distance to the Power & Light district attractions! Room service is exceptional and provided by an on-site restaurant (the Reserve). Bottled water and Keurig coffees were provided and replenished daily. Gated parking next to hotel was included with our room rate. Would stay again next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of of our two story loft suites. I will be sure to share your comments about room service with our chef and culinary team. I hope you will think of us again the next time you plan to travel to Kansas City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located just a couple blocks from Sprint Center and the Power & Light District. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful. They also have a shuttle service that will take you within a five mile radius. We didn't use the shuttle service, since we were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go. Steamboat Arabia is about 7 blocks away and the National World War I museum is about 12 to 15 blocks away. Recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARtravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here in Kansas City. The Ambassador is located in downtown Kansas City and is just minutes from the River Market Area, Crown Center, The WWI Museum and the Power and Light District! I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff, and thanks again for staying at the Ambassador Hotel Kansas City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Only a year old this hotel is making its mark in KC. The decor is modern without going overboard. The staff and service top notch and the location is within walking distance of the Sprint Center financial and entertainment district. If you can't walk it they have a Caddy Escapade to ferry you within a five mile radius.
Breakfast is wonderful and a bargain. Small and friendly this new hotel tries harder to impress.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for kind review of the Ambassador KC! All of us here are delighted to hear your gracious comments. The Ambassador is located just two blocks from the Power and Light District, and yes we have a complimentary shuttle service that can take you both there, and anywhere else with in a 5 mile radius of the property! Thanks again for choosing the Ambassador as your hotel while in Kansas City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

historic hotel updated in a very cool way; excellent deocr, all rooms spacious, very reasonable price when a block of rooms reserved. in rooom 202 a suite with enough room for 8 guys to dress and eat before going to the wedding. good breakfast , nice cocktail bar. Joe Dimarco- event coordinator did a very efficient a d responsive job for us. also have a shottle for drop off in 5 mile radius. definitely rec using this hotel for a group...

Room Tip: room 202 suite overlooks entrance but is super quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us here at the Ambassador KC. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our entire staff here strives to provide the best service possible and I will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments! Thanks again for staying at the Ambassador Hotel Kansas City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#18 of 109 in Kansas City
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Address: 1111 Grand Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64106-2404
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: £149 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic boutique hotel in Kansas City offering luxury accommodations and elegant public spaces. Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection is a premier space for business and leisure travel. Built in 1920, our seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. We invite you to stay with us and experience this exceptional place, which sits within minutes of the popular Sprint Center and Kansas City Power & Light District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing