We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A KC Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We rented out the full hotel for two nights over our wedding weekend and it was one of the best decisions we made. The service, staff and attention to detail was exceptional -- and our guests were completely comfortable. Most of them were from NY, Illinois, and California and visiting KC for the first time -- The Ambassador was perfect way to showcase KC charm. The planning process was easy and the sales team was quick to respond. Chef Shaun also helped us tailor special brunch menus and late night snacks over the weekend that our guests loved. Highly recommended for wedding festivities or just a trip to KC.

Room Tip: The corner king rooms are amazing -- or splurge for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. On behalf of the entire staff, we are so happy to have played a part in such a special celebration. I am glad we were able to make you and your guests feel at home, and I am especially pleased to read your comments about our executive chef, Shaun. A fairly new addition to the Ambassador, Shaun has brought several new dishes to our restaurant Reserve, comprised of fresh, local ingredients. We are so glad you enjoyed our brunch and late night snacks.

I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again during any future visits to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    79
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
46
169
18
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a good hotel with the amenities and efficiency of a larger chain but the atmosphere and personal touch of a boutique hotel. Nice big room and comfortable bed - shower but no bath. Excellent breakfast delivered to room. There is a nice restaurant downstairs used by hotel guests but also people from outside. The rate of $169 was very good value. Parking convenient, right next to hotel. free wifi. The front desk staff seemed a little overwhelmed when I called to book - I was put on hold for 15 minutes and then had to start again when another person picked up. But that a very minor quibble in an otherwise very positive stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, we offer all the amenities of a larger chain in a more intimate, unique setting--and without the steep price tag. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed these accommodations, and that breakfast was also prepared to your satisfaction. I do, however, regret your experience on the phone and apologize for any inconvenience.
We hope to see you again during your next visit to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have stayed here twice and my review is long over due. I was traveling for business during the winter of 2013 and ended up stranded in KC due to a snowstorm. The staff at this hotel took great care of me! I can't say enough good things! They even went as far as shoveling my car out of the parking lot! Great little bar/restaurant onsite and the rooms are appointed with modern amenities. The rooms are also clean and extremely comfortable. I try to stay here every time I am in town and recently stayed again a few weeks ago. Same experience--it was wonderful! The location next to the P n L area is perfect for evening entertainment if needed. I am also planning to stay at the hotel in Wichita soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNTraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
How great to hear you have stayed with us on more than one occasion. The weather last winter was extreme, to say the least, and I am glad that we were able to make you feel at home. Our goal is to accommodate our guests in any way we can, delivering the best experience possible. It pleases me knowing we've given you that experience.

We look forward to having you again, and hope you enjoy your upcoming stay at our Wichita property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here for a night away while attending a concert at the Midland. Could walk to the venue, as well as The Power and Light District, and the Sprint Center, but, since it was raining, we took advantage of the hotel's shuttle service that will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. The concierge even offered to pick us up after the show. The room was very beautifully appointed, and the bed was extremely comfortable. I have back issues, so this is very important to me. I slept wonderfully. Our room was directly across from the elevator, yet we never heard a sound. It was so quiet and relaxing. The bathroom was luxurious, with a rain showerhead, lighted vanity mirror, vanity seat for putting on makeup, very art-deco!

The front desk staff was very accommodating and friendly, the concierge was wonderful!

All in all, our stay was just what we needed. A quiet, relaxing retreat after a wonderful concert! Thank you! You made our night away just perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service, one of the many accommodations that set us apart from nearby hotels. All guests are entitled to star treatment, and our luxurious Cadillac Escalade certainly helps to deliver that experience. I will pass along your kind comments to our Concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very pleasantly surprised. We stayed in an executive King room for an event at the Midland Theater. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The lobby bar is very comfortable also. These people seem to know the 'Hospitality Business'. Large rooms with large bathrooms all nicely decorated. The only negative we noticed was the amount of lighting in the room. We didn't really miss it, but if you were working at night it could be an issue.
We will definitely be back when going to an event at Sprint Center, The Midland, or most any downtown venue. They do also offer a complimentary car service within a 5 mile radius which should get you all the way to the Country Club Plaza based on my GPS.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefJeffTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the chic atmosphere of The Ambassador. We take pride in creating a warm, welcoming environment while also maintaining a sense of elegance. Regarding our complimentary shuttle service, you are correct in stating that we will transport our guests as far as the Plaza, Kansas City's destination for fine shops and dining. In fact, our central location means that any downtown excursion is merely minutes away.
We look forward to having you stay during your next visit to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

WOW!...from check-in...we were early and room was ready!...SIZE of room...gigantic with ample lighting!...extra seating...two separate sinks in the bathroom!...huge walk-in shower!...comfortable bed!...tons of pillows...great mirrors...and QUIET!...wonderful bar and restaurant and the price was gray!...on-site parking too!...within walking distance to Sprint Center and Power and Light District...DO NOT pass this hotel by!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah4501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our luxurious accommodations, and hope to see you again during your next trip to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for NIN at the Sprint Center on 9/30. We stayed two nights. Only two blocks from the Sprint Center and the P&L district with tons of restaurants, bars, and other stuff. Very easy walk. Free parking too!

Room was really nice with a huge shower and two sinks. Not sure if we got lucky but according to the fire escape map in the room, our room was at least 2x bigger than any other on the floor. As far as I know it was a regular room.

They offered a complimentary shuttle at check-in which we used to shuttle us to Boulevard for their unfiltered tour.

We did not have a chance to eat at the Reserve since there's SO many places to eat, but it looked very nice. Prices were comparable to the other restaurants in the area (10-15 for an entree).

This hotel is not a big building but we never even saw another guest except for a few in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
I am happy to hear that you stayed with us during the NIN concert. We are located only 1.5 blocks from the Sprint Center which make for a great location anytime you attend an event or concert. As you mentioned our large rooms and walk in showers make for a very comfortable stay. I am glad you were able to use the hotel shuttle, we are happy to drive our guests within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. I hope you will think of us again next time you attend an event downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
4.3 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
1.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Property: Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Address: 1111 Grand Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64106-2404
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic, independent boutique hotel. Built in 1920, the seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing