We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Designed for romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Designed for romance”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This small boutique hotel is just one block north of the Sprint center in KC. It is a hidden gem in this town if Marriotts and Hyatts. It is very quiet, beautifully decorated with hip, lux decor and dark sexy colors. Our corner room (507) was super spacious and just gorgeous with a white leather couch for lounging. We got the romance package which included a cold bottle of Prosecco and a bowl of fresh strawberries upon arrival. Then, the hotel provided a driver to take us to dinner at Tannin. (Fantastic, but that's another review). We slept well in our luxurious bed and had coffee in our room with the Kuerig provided. Lastly, we had a killer breakfast (included in package deal) in the lobby restaurant. Our waiter Anthony suggested the corned beef hash and eggs and they blew us away. Fresh corned beef, perfectly prepared with eggs and homemade cinnamon soda bread. The portion was big enough for two for $15. We will return here to eat again. If you're looking for an elegant, different place to stay in KC, you must try the Ambassador.

Ps. Gated parking is attached and free of charge.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kansasbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review. It is such a pleasure for us to hear you enjoyed your visit. I am happy you slept well and that you found the hotel quiet. As you mentioned we have a wonderful restaurant and I will be sure to share your nice comments with the entire team. We hope you will return again very soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    80
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
46
174
18
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Ambassador for our anniversary. We loved the complimentary luxury transportation service, which we used to travel to/from dinner in the Country Club Plaza. On the way home from dinner, our (wonderful) driver informed us that we'd been upgraded to a loft suite! The room was gorgeous! In our opinion, the Ambassador is the #1 luxury hotel in Kansas City - give it a shot!

Room Tip: Be sure to mention birthdays/anniversaries for a possible room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_moore81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Happy Anniversary! I am so happy that we made this special occasion memorable for you. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and we appreciate when our guests take the time to post such kind comments. I hope we see you again the next time you decide to stay downtown. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Love this hotel. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. I arrived very late and the kitchen was closed but they sent me a salad and cheese plate and even added a special touch with a dessert not on the after hours menu. Excellent hotel choice for business, fun, etc. Highly recommend. Great bar too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgianna w o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for posting such a great review. It is always great to hear comments like these where our team has made such a significant impact on your experience. I will be sure to share your comments and we hope to see you again very soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My spouse and I enjoyed staying at the Ambassador for our anniversary. The ambiance of the lobby was gorgeous. Our Executive King room was very comfortable and spacious. Thoughtful amenities included iPod docking alarm clock, bathrobes and Keurig coffee maker. The armchair in the room was actually comfortable for sitting. Free wifi was easy to access. AC was a little loud and there was quite a bit of traffic noise from outside the building.

Like many downtown properties, parking was not free ($18 self park at this time) but the lot was gated with prox card access only, so at least it felt like the parking fee had some value-add.

The staff was extremely pleasant and personable. We didn't actually see any other guests while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookmom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Happy Anniversary! We are so happy you chose to stay with us on this special occasion. Thank you for taking time to post your review and for pointing out all of the great amenities we offer our guests and the kind comments regarding our team, we take great pride in providing warm, hospitable service. I hope you will make staying with us on your anniversary a tradition. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint George
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I love this hotel and have stayed here many times. It has great parking right next door in a gated lot and is only a two block walk down the hill to the Sprint Center. Don't bother taking their shuttle, you can walk there faster. The staff is attentive and very friendly. The beds and bathrooms are wonderful and the decor throughout the hotel is upscale. One downside is that they jack up the prices for event nights at the Sprint Center. I don't like that, but all the hotels near there do the same. They do charge you extra for parking and there is no breakfast included. I have never had food from their restaurant, so can't speak toward that. It's a lovely, quiet, upscale hotel. Do not hesitate to check it out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our close location to the Sprint Center. We do have an excellent Bed and Breakfast Package that include parking and a $25 credit that can be used toward breakfast, this great value can booked directly on our website. I hope you will return for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Ambassador is a lovely hotel. The decor was stunning, including the lobby/restaurant, hallways, and our king corner room on the 5th floor. My hotel ratings are always highly related to the bathroom and this one rates very high: it was large, lots of counter space, lighted makeup mirror and enormous shower with awesome showerhead! The room was very clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Refrigerator, coffee maker and free bottled water were nice features. Hotel location and (self) parking lot were very convenient. Short walk to Power and Light district and easy drive to museums, and country club plaza. You get so much more here for your $$$ compared with national chain hotels.
Only suggestions for improvement:
Wifi didnt work very well and there was no info in the room about the hotel or amenities available.

Room Tip: Definitley ask for a higher floor because it will be quieter. Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for such a great review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and you highlighted many of our great amenities. As you mentioned we have a beautiful hotel in one of the best locations in Kansas City. Thank you again for taking time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A friend and I stayed one night in a king room, and had a great stay! The rooms are modern, but the hotel retains the charm of its old building. Every member of the staff was pleasant and helpful, and we loved the free shuttle service. We were two blocks from Power and Light, and loved not having to catch a cab at the end of the night - the walk back was short (3 minutes tops?) and safe (important for 2 females traveling alone).

Only complaint is that, while the Keurig in the room was a nice touch, the coffee at breakfast was $4. Really expensive for a plain cup of coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley6106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am very happy you enjoyed your visit, we are always pleased when our guests have a wonderful experience. I will be sure to share your comments with our team and we hope you with visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
4.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Property: Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Address: 1111 Grand Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64106-2404
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic boutique hotel in Kansas City offering luxury accommodations and elegant public spaces. Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection is a premier space for business and leisure travel. Built in 1920, our seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. We invite you to stay with us and experience this exceptional place, which sits within minutes of the popular Sprint Center and Kansas City Power & Light District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing