We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent history lesson”

National World War I Museum and Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.00*
and up
Kansas City Hop on-Hop off Day Pass
Ranked #1 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National World War I Museum and Memorial is America's leading institution dedicated to remembering, interpreting and understanding the Great War and its enduring impact on the global community. The Museum holds the most diverse collection of World War I objects and documents in the world and is the second-oldest public museum dedicated to preserving the objects, history and experiences of the war. The Museum takes visitors of all ages on an epic journey through a transformative period and shares deeply personal stories of courage, honor, patriotism and sacrifice. Designated by Congress as America's official World War I Museum and Memorial and located in downtown Kansas City, Mo., the National World War I Museum and Memorial inspires thought, dialogue and learning to make the experiences of the Great War era meaningful and relevant for present and future generations.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase
Bella Vista, AR
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent history lesson”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Spent a couple hours here and wished for more time. Terrific introductory movies, extremely comprehensive artifacts of the time and explanation of history before and during the war. Museum was quite crowded on a Saturday morning; I wouldn't have guessed so many people would be interested in WWI. Great to see lots of young people in the crowd. Well worth the tour (and a nice gift shop too).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soxgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,187
    461
    45
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best museums we've been to”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Even if you don't like the subject matter, this place is worth a stop. The grounds are beautiful and the architecture is amazing. There is a memorial tower that you can go up in and have a spectacular view of the city. Once inside, the museum is nicely laid out. Starting at what led up to the war all the way to it's finish in detail. There are plenty off interactive displays, historical weaponry and movies to keep everyone (even children) interested also.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dondejuann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
194 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The museum was a great experience. The museum was very modern and had great exhibits. The tower was also great for catching views of downtown.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoyAviles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The President Should Be Required to Visit Every Year!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We visited on The Fourth of July. Yes it was open and a very moving experience.
This is a monument to the horror of war, not the glory. It exemplifies the sacrifice of our troops and our allies and the joy experienced with the end of the war. Starting with the tower and the hall of memories constructed in the 1920s, we felt a sense of what the humility citizens of that time felt. The newer modern museum on the second level makes use of a variety of interactive experiences. This is a monument of love to those who served and died.
Every state senator and representitive should be required to visit this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 80))------x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb Museum”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This museum is very nicely designed and taken care of. There is so much information to take in, it could be overwhelming, but they've laid it out well to tell you the high level story and let you dive into how much detail you want. Wonderful place to visit whether you think you are interested in history or not!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank OUChamps29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National World War I Museum and Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National World War I Museum and Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing