We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to change first impressions...”

LEGOLAND Discovery Center
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$17.98*
and up
LEGOLAND® Discovery Center Kansas City Admission...
Ranked #28 of 159 things to do in Kansas City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We drove two hours to tour LegoLand and Sea Life. Purchased tickets ahead of time online so I was surprised when we still had to wait in line to (get this) get tickets. We asked about restrooms (remember, we've drove 2 hours to get here) and was told the restroom was by the race track (as it turns out, they're located at the END of the tour).
I wouldn't have minded the line to get our tickets too bad, but we were directed to get into yet another line. The staff at the entrance was very friendly, took our picture, and then directed us to the elevator. Finally... we're moving. (We've been in line 20+ min at this point)
We get off the elevator and learned how Lego's are made. Staff member was friendly and made it fun. We browse around a bit and learn that the next step is to, get in yet another line. We didn't know what we were in line for, but that was our ONLY option. Get in line. Another 20 minutes in line for a ride. We thought about waiting to try the ride later, but learned that it's a one time deal. You only get one shot at this ride. If you bypass it, no going back. One member had to forgo the ride because, quite frankly, she HAD to go find the ladies room. By the time we reached the ride, we'd been in one line or another for more than 45 minutes.
The ride was fun. We enjoyed it and would have loved to ride it again. But from what we saw, it's only one ride per visit. Strange.
After the ride, the tour then opened up and we no longer had to wait in anymore lines. From that point on, my boys finally started enjoying themselves. The Lego pits were fun, the playground was a big hit and perfect for burning off excess energy. The build and race area was the highlight of the trip. A lot of kids were enjoying it immensely.
It was very loud in the building, but that's to be expected at a kids place.
We did not eat at the cafe - I can't give any kind of opinion regarding that feature.
There were several features we didn't get to see (building class, 4D movie, Merlin's ride) because we simply were short on time. And also because my son was tired of being in line. As soon as he saw the line for the second ride, he lost interest.
The bathroom situation is just unbelievable. I can't imagine we're the only people that needed to use the facilities upon arrival... it's just unreal to expect your guests to wait that long to be directed to restrooms.
Bottom line: would I go back? Maybe, maybe not. Would I recommend it? Only if you're a Lego's fan and don't mind waiting in lines.

Thank Pearlized80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen K, General Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at LEGOLAND Discovery Center Kansas City. Yes, during our busy summer season the attraction is experiencing full occupancy from the moment we open our doors until we sell our last ticket, and this can lend to some frustration as our guests are excited to start their fun. Your comment regarding the restroom is one that has been brought to our attention before and I am happy to report we will be beginning construction of an addition restroom on the main level of our attraction so our guests will no longer have to wait until they are upstairs! I am thrilled to learn that your family enjoyed our Kingdom Quest ride, the diversity and amount of LEGO available to build and play with, and our Build and Test Racers area. I definitely encourage you to come back when it is no our peak season so that you do get the opportunity to experience the 4D Theater, Merlin’s Apprentice, and our Model Builder Academy—they are some fantastic elements that your son with thoroughly enjoy. Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated.

Rosemary Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 613 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We paid $59 for two adults and one 5 year old for Legoland only (no aquarium). The entrance process was so slow with one employee checking people in, taking a group photo, then ushering us into the elevator. The entire attraction was much smaller than expected. It was very compact and chaotic (this was a slow time per an employee). The random tubs of legos kids could play with were small and full of dirty legos. The jungle gym (think a McD's Playland) looked fun, but no socks no play. And given its summer... many had to miss out. We enjoyed the little chariot ride where you shoot a variety of bad guys and points are kept for each rider. Our favorite part was the 15 minute 4D movie. Very fun with snow, wind, light rain.

My 5 year old loves building at home with legos. But nothing held his attention, plus it was so loud you couldn't hear yourself think.

Definitely not worth money.

Thank Felicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen K, General Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at LEGOLAND Discovery Center Kansas City. During our busy summer season, the attraction is experiencing peak attendance and can be quite crowded with all those kiddos having fun. We encourage our future guests to visit our websiteThank you for sharing with us your recent experience at LEGOLAND Discovery Center Kansas City. During our busy summer season, the attraction is experiencing peak attendance and can be quite crowded with all those kiddos having fun. We encourage our future guests to visit our website at (Kristen please place here) due to all the great information it gives them (1) the opportunity to take advantage of discounted pricing (2) the choice of later timeslots in the day when it is not nearly as crowded (3) helpful tips to make the most out of their visit such as bringing socks for our softplay area. I can also assure you we do adhere to a strict brick washing schedule and rotation. The health and safety of our guests is of high importance to us. You are right, our 4D movies are awesome with many great affects. We show four different ones each day on a continuous cycle so that our guests have the opportunity to view all four. Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated. Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at LEGOLAND Discovery Center Kansas City. During our busy summer season, the attraction is experiencing peak attendance and can be quite crowded with all those kiddos having fun. We encourage our future guests to visit our website at (Kristen please place here) due to all the great information it gives them (1) the opportunity to take advantage of discounted pricing (2) the choice of later timeslots in the day when it is not nearly as crowded (3) helpful tips to make the most out of their visit such as bringing socks for our softplay area. I can also assure you we do adhere to a strict brick washing schedule and rotation. The health and safety of our guests is of high importance to us. You are right, our 4D movies are awesome with many great affects. We show four different ones each day on a continuous cycle so that our guests have the opportunity to view all four. Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated.



due to all the great information it gives them (1) the opportunity to take advantage of discounted pricing (2) the choice of later timeslots in the day when it is not nearly as crowded (3) helpful tips to make the most out of their visit such as bringing socks for our softplay area. I can also assure you we do adhere to a strict brick washing schedule and rotation. The health and safety of our guests is of high importance to us. You are right, our 4D movies are awesome with many great affects. We show four different ones each day on a continuous cycle so that our guests have the opportunity to view all four. Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated.

Rosemary Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place desperately needs to figure out how to move people into the building faster OR perhaps they do it intentionally to stagger the crowd? Supposedly you buy tickets online to be guaranteed entrance. We did not and got in okay. Stood at the door 30 minutes before due to open. Watched line of people enter who bought tickets online then we got in. Even those who purchase online had to go in and wait in another line. Took 30 minutes from getting in line until we were actually into legoland....wore us old people out. But the grands loved it and of course, all roads lead to the gift shop!! Lots to see and do. The 3D movie was excellent.

Thank Patsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen K, Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. During our peak volume times, such as summer we often experience a higher volume of visitors, and encourage our guests to purchase their tickets online to not only receive a discount on tickets, but to also receive priority entrance in to the attraction. We are thrilled to hear that your grandchildren loved their visit to LEGOLAND Discovery Center Kansas City, and that you were all able to spend a fun-filled day together with us. We have to agree with you that the 4-D movie is fun for the entire family!

We hope to see you again soon,
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Listen, if you're hoping for a quiet afternoon with kids, don't show up. However, if you're looking for a fun few hours for your kids, give LegoLand a try. Only go if you purchase advanced tickets or you'll potentially wait for hours. Even with a reserved entry window, you'll still wait 15-30 minutes. Once inside, you'll wait for a couple of attractions, but nothing crazy. There are a number of fun activities, rides, and games for the kids. I would say the minimum age is 2 and once you're children are past 10 years old, they might be bored. Mine are 2 & 5 so they loved it!. At only $16 per person over 2, it's a great value. If I lived anywhere near a LegoLand, I'd go season pass in a heartbeat.

1  Thank jbinsa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen K, Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so excited to hear that your family had a blast during your recent visit to LEGOLAND Discovery Center Kansas City. We are so happy to hear that your children had fun and definitely agree with you that purchasing an online ticket allows for faster entrance in to the attraction, as well as helps to save on the cost of entry.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Kansas City.

Thanks again for your review,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Parents, grandparents must be forewarned. Get tickets online in advance! While they claim to have "general admission," it means you wait for an opening at the end of each group of reserved admissions. The waits can be very long. Customer service is of the "we're so popular we don't have to treat guests well" variety. My son and his family were treated poorly on Sunday, 8/4 because they did not have advanced reservations. Their bad experience was contrasted with a positive experience inside of Crown Center's shops.

Thank Baldy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LEGOLAND Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to LEGOLAND Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing