We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, awful service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, awful service!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My mom and I stayed here during a trip to KC to celebrate her birthday. The hotel itself is very nice, and it's a convenient location - only a few minutes drive to downtown KC. We had a balcony suite overlooking downtown, and have zero complaints about the room itself - it was clean, spacious, and quiet.

Our complaint was with the service we received. At around 9 PM, we went down to use the hot tub. There was some sort of dance or cheerleading event going on, and apparently a lot of preteens were staying in the hotel. They were "cheering" - complete with loud screaming (which echoed around the pool area), stunting (three people on top of each other and flipping into the pool) and acting completely inappropriate for a shared pool - to the point where other children in the pool area couldn't move and risked being hit by someone's "tumbling," and we were unable to hear each other talk while sitting right next to each other. Given that the parents were present and encouraging the behavior, we spoke with the front desk attendant, who said he would send someone to check it out. The person he sent was, apparently, a maintenance employee who quickly walked through the area, and proceeded out of the pool area to have a cigarette. When the behavior continued and we saw no hotel employees stopping it, we again went to the front desk (in swimsuits), where the attendant told us that someone had checked and hadn't noticed anything (what?!) but would check again. We went back to try the hot tub one last time, where I happened to overhear the employee/maintenance man telling one of the parents that WE were unreasonable, complaining, making a big deal out of kids being kids, etc. Yes, a hotel employee "bad mouthing" a hotel guest to another hotel guest. We scrapped the pool idea and went back to the front desk, where we asked to speak to a manager. At first, the desk attendant lied to us and told us there was no manager or other supervisor in the hotel. When the manager walked up behind him, he quickly changed his tune.

To her credit, the manager seemed genuinely concerned about how we were treated by her employees (though not about the kids doing stunts in the pool - isn't that a liability issue for the hotel if someone gets hurt?) She did comp part of our stay. I don't know if the safety issue was ever addressed with the other guests, or if the professionalism issue was ever addressed with the employee(s).

However, I do know that for the price we paid, we didn't expect a gymnastics event in the pool, and especially didn't expect to be belittled and lied to by hotel staff. We will choose another hotel next time we are in KC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley6106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    57
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
31
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel in an upscale area. The deck overlooking the city is wonderful. Great amenities. The server at the Bistro was trying to close but got us drinks anyway. He went out of his way with customer service. The only negative thing was the bed, it was awful! It had a dip in the middle and the pillows weren't great either. That is one time I wish I hadn't forgotten my pillow! I wouldn't be opposed to staying again but would want a different room in hopes that the bed would be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasWildcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Visited hotel on 6/14 and when we go there is was about 10:30am. They didnt have any rooms available yet but after some helpful searching they were able to get a room for us. The rooms are great and the beds are very comfortable. Would stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you are ever need a hotel near the Argosy Casino in Riverside, Missouri, I highly recommend this hotel. A+ on customer satisfaction. From the friendliness at the check-in desk to the roominess and cleanliness of the modern accommodations! When you open the door to your room...you will say WOW! NICE!! Granted it's not cheap...but you DO get what you pay for!

It's only 5 minutes down the highway 9 service road from the Argosy! And NO Cigarette smoke.

I rate this FIVE STARS!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had the pleasure of booking a reservation with Kenneth Thompson, Front Office Manager. For my sister's wedding anniversary, I was on a mission to make this a special stay for her. Kenneth took the time to ensure everything was set-up perfectly and even went above and beyond by upgrading her room to a higher floor. His professionalism was truly appreciated and I am confident my sister will enjoy her stay thanks to all of his efforts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I have come to Kansas City twice a month for the last year, and stay here every time. This is a newer hotel, very clean and sleek. Rooms are great, with floor to ceiling armoire furniture. Beds are comfy, shower is roomy with plenty of hot water. The bar area with food is also a great feature. I'll continue to stay here every time I am in town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank burrisbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard Briarcliff in March of 2014. It has a great view of the downtown KC skyline and it is a newer, updated Courtyard property. Very reasonable and very nice. Briarcliff is a really cool area with great restaurants and shopping. Staff was very helpful and very pleasant. Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the KC skyline view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDMUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City
1.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Worlds of Fun
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Kansas City
119 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff

Property: Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff
Address: 4000 N Mulberry Dr, Kansas City, MO 64116-1900
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing