We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit sloppy, but good”

Genghis Khan Mongolian Grill
Ranked #292 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: US$15 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Mongolian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A bit sloppy, but good”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The food was good and atmosphere nice. We just had the normal BBQ, nothing from the menu. It takes some practice to get a good bowl -- our first ones were too bland. But it is fun figuring it out. The only downside is that it can be a bit sloppy. There were pieces of chicken in the noodles (from the adjacent bin) and you are likely to get some of the sauce / pieces from somebody else's bowl in your food -- at least to a degree -- as it all cooks on the same grill (although they do a good job of cleaning the grill and will use different sticks for vegetarian bowls if you ask). Items also tended to run out, although they did a decent job of replacing them fairly soon (usually within about 5 minutes of something being out). You have to ask for rice, which seems strange (just put out a tray of rice). Overall, though, the food was good and it was a fun experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Unwilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
262 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good service, food good as expected, fair price too”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I hadn't been to Genghis Kahn for honestly around 15 years, but it was pretty much as I remembered. Food was good, plenty of options for meat and vegetables, and all of it was good and fresh. We went on a Sat eve, and I didn't think around $13.50 for a beef/chicken plate or $15 for shrimp, etc. was unreasonable, and the service was pretty good. Decent beer available, good house wine, etc. I think the best part of this place (and style of place) is that you can make your food whatever you want.....vegetarian, beef/chicken, seafood, etc. Atmosphere was good, this part of town has a number of shops & restaurants around, and the wait to eat (albeit @630p) on a Saturday night wasn't bad at all (especially in comparison to places in Power & Light, Westport restaurants, etc.). We'd go again...two thumbs up!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
“$15 became $30... not sure how”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I went with a group of 6 people. My friends dad paid for 4 of them. I paid for my own meal $22... when the menu said it was $15. After considering the 18% automatically included the $22 was acceptable. Now less than a week later i guess they charged my friends dad an additional $35 ... and claimed i didnt pay $10 when i paid $22.98 which it was exactly. Now my total cost of my $15 meal is now $32.98. Be careful they will swindle money from your pockets.

Bottom line, go to BD's Mongolian grill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“The best Mongolian BBQ”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This restaurant is the Mongolian grill which others should be measured by. If you think Mongolian BBQ is nothing special, it is because you never ate at Genghis Khan. The quality of the ingredients, spices, and the preparation are far superior to any other Mongolian restaurant in the region. The chefs here know what to do with the extremely hot grill and achieve a very high quality product.

This restaurant does a fabulous job with large groups. We have friends who come to Kansas City every year for a convention and they insist on returning to Genghis Khan every time and we end up with huge groups. One time there were over 40 of us, but the staff never blinked, stayed very helpful and provided good service to even that group.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lighthouselovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
485 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mongolian Grill”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

There are a lot of Mongolian barbecue chains around but Genghis Khan is unique and sets the bar those chains are measured by. You mix your own bowl from a wide choice of meats and vegetables. You even mix the sauce from scratch unlike others. The staff is inviting and attentive and the price cannot be beat. This was actually the first Mongolian dinner I had years ago on the recommendation of a client on the far side of town. It was worth the drive and I try to make it back to Genghis Khan each time I'm here in KC for business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasVoyager_BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genghis Khan Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Genghis Khan Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing