We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite”

Jalepenos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #290 of 1,416 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A favorite”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We go here so often that that staff knows us. Such a great neighborhood gem. The staff and food are incredible. Great daily specials as well. You must try it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KCPlaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Locally owned, delicious, great service”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is one of my favorite Mexican restaurants in Kansas City. I have had a few different things from the menu. Most of it is pretty good, but some of the chicken dishes are bland and dry. That is the only negative thing concerning food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sumluketac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tamales,Tostado's and more.”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Fresh well done, classic Mexican food. Their tamales are my favorite in the city. Big chunks of braised pork, good masa to filling ratio, chili with same big chunks of pork over the top. Hard to beat. My change up is the pork tostado. Never find those on a menu. Huge and so good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitedog1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I am from AZ and picky about my Mexican food...but Jalepenos delivers. Their chips are fresh, the salsa is mild but VERY good, and some of the menu highlights are the chubby burrito & the fajitas!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kmorgan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best chips ive ever had.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

just wandered in on a saturday afternoon and what a pleasant surprise. We really werent expecting anything but average and got so much more. the chips and salsa hit the table at the same time we did and since we were starving that was much appreciated. the chips were big light crispy and delicious. the salsa was extremely fresh tasting with just the right amount of heat. ordered the pork chimi and she the steak fajita. chimi was huge and stuffed with pork. fried just right and covered with red sauce. one bite and i was hooked and managed to eat the whole thing somehow. waitress kept my ice tea full as i had just finished golfing and was parched. all in all the best mexican ive had here in kansas city so far and will be back often.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jalepenos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jalepenos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing