We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KC Hotel in Plaza Area”
Review of The Fontaine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fontaine
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Staff were most customer friendly and I have been around. Food in 7th floor Bar was excellent and service really outstanding. Not too pricy for 5 star eatery. Breakfast Staff Simone and maria were especially attentive. Shuttle service was 1st rate. Only small negative was I needed to call to get room cleaned one day after waiting until 5:00pm. Overall this was nicest Hotel experience in Plaza area of KC I have had and I have stayed in area hotels before.For the KC Plaza area and downtown this Hotel is the best available.I will stay again PS welcome bottle of wine is a nice touch!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at The Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

ken d,
Thank you for detailing your stay and the great amenities and service you experienced. Please accept our apology for the late room cleaning. We'll fix that. We look forward to seeing you again and everyone that joins our Valencia VIP program can get wine, bottled waters, a couple of beers, or fruit upon your arrival. VVIP is our repeat guest rewards program that is customizable, allows for complimentary upgrades, gift certificates for food and beverage, and free stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Apparently this is a new hotel. Everything in the facility is in tip top condition. The decor is contemporary and the bedrooms and bathroom's are spacious enough for two people. The king size bed we had was comfortable. I'd give it an 8 out of 10. The location at Country Club Plaza is excellent if you like to walk around, shop and have plenty of restaurant choices. We went to the Nelson-Atkins Museum which is only a mile away. The staff were friendly and professional. The Complimentary breakfast is good but I'd recommend getting to it before 9am. The 7th floor bar is also very nice. They have a terrace adjacent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at The Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

imemine,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Please join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Wow - Hotel Sorella - Thanks for providing KC with a cool, hip, current, fresh, and modern hotel experience! Just stayed at Hotel Sorella for the Big Twelve tournament, and you exceeded expectations. The ambiance - from lobby to bar to room - was outstanding, but what really set you apart was the customer service. Every single person that I interacted with from your bell staff team, to the front desk and the bar was truly the gold standard. We used your complimentary car service to get to and from P&L for the games, and we were amazed by the quality of the car and professionalism of your team. Plus, the welcome bottle of wine was such a thoughtful touch, and the complimentary breakfast was fabulous. Hats off! You will certainly be our first choice for our next Country Club Plaza staycation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at The Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Kari908,
You're making us blush, but you're welcome! Reviews like yours just want to make us do better. Glad you were able to take advantage of the many amenities that we have to offer. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Room was spotless with great attention to details: sheets, pillows, towels were world class. Rosso restaurant was outstanding with creative American food (despite the Italian name) and a decent VERY fairly priced wine list. Continental breakfast buffet was good, but setting--dark cocktail lounge seating and loud music-- not conducive to business meetings. All in all, a welcome addition to KC. Wish they would open one downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at The Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Robert G,
It sounds like you are a seasoned traveler and we are pleased to have you review your visit. Great comments on our accommodations, amenities and food!

Our European Breakfast area is the most unique space on property and was modeled after a hybrid of a greenhouse and observatory as evidenced by the outdoor pavers for the floor and being surrounded by windows on three walls and a 1/3 glass roof. It can be susceptible to a darker feel very early in the morning or on a cloudy day. On the other hand, sunny days and even snow days really give quite a distinctive perspective!

We do apologize for the volume level you experienced. We will be sure to check the music level as it should be at a low volume to act as background music. The whirring of the cappuccino and espresso machine that produces complimentary, handmade beverages is the sound we prefer to promote! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I would like to compliment the service I received by Simone and Maria during breakfast downstairs. They were wonderful and attentive during my stay. Hotel Sorella is lucky to have these two working for them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAD735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at The Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

JAD 735,
"Service, service, service!" The last three reviews all have service in the title! It is what we preach and we have wonderful associates that live it. Thank you for your review and for recognizing Simone and Maria. You are right, we are lucky to have them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

From the greeting at the front door, to the desk personnel and culinary team, the customer service was excellent!! Ruth from Guest Services even let me borrow her hair spray when I called to ask if any was available for purchase.
The decor is clean and modern which is very refreshing.
I will stay here every time I visit Kansas City!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at The Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Michelle L,
Thank you for staying with us every time you visit Kansas City. We will make sure Ruth is ready with the hairspray upon your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed four nights at the new Hotel Sorella in Kansas City and I have to say that the service was extraordinary. Everyone had a smile on their face and was ready to help you at any time. They always greeted me personally and made sure that I had a grey experience. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms spacious and new. All of those things are fantastic as well. The inly negative is a fairly small workout facility, but they drove me to a nearby gym every day to get my workout in! The drivers were very friendly and always prompt. I cannot recommend it highly enough. THANKS!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at The Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

kgersch,
Thank you for staying with us. We were happy to make you feel taken care of at every opportunity. Four nights is a long time, so please do allow us to do anything more to make you feel at home upon your next visit. Any staff member would be eager to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fontaine

Address: 901 W 48th Pl, Country Club Plaza, Kansas City, MO 64112-1895 (Formerly Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: £123 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kansas City's best upscale shopping at Country Club Plaza, The Fontaine is a sophisticated, new destination for business and leisure travel. Walk across custom tile mosaics inset into the gleaming marble floor, enjoy intricately carved wood paneling and playful Renaissance artwork adorning the walls and marvel at the hand-blown Venetian glass chandeliers floating overhead. Each detail is designed to delight the senses while setting a scene of serene sophistication—a place in which guests are both dazzled and utterly relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing