We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Kansas City”
Review of The Fontaine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fontaine
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem in Kansas City”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We decided to treat ourselves to a little nicer hotel than our usual ones. The Hotel Sorella turned out to be a wonderful treat. I don't think we have stayed at a hotel with a staff as friendly as this hotel. We liked the European styling and the spacious room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    186
    48
    17
    19
See reviews for
182
419
22
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you're a big city traveler looking for modern luxuries this is the best hotel for you in KC. They have done an excellent job with the décor. Every piece of art, lighting and furniture has an interesting appeal. Everything was impeccably clean. We were very surprised by the roof top restaurant and terrace. Excellent menu, views and chic atmosphere. The breakfast had a great selection and a very friendly and helpful attendant. The entire staff seems eager to make your stay enjoyable. It was ZERO degrees when we stayed here in January and the valet guys were impressively helpful and cheerful despite the freezing cold. The location is ideal for business travelers and general visitors. You can walk to the plaza which has the best shopping and dining options in KC. Hotel Sorella is KC gem and they deserve to be booked solid 365 days a year. Well done!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is new so the property is very nice. We might stay here again as the location was fantastic for getting around and walking through the plaza. We had a couple of issues. One at check out which the hotel did resolve after a 30 minute wait while we were anxious to get on the road to head home. They offer a buy two nights; get one free, but they don't automatically put it on your stay even when you ask them to. So at check out the person prints out the reciept, folds it up, hands it to me without confirming anything or showing it to me and says have a good day. Well, they did not take my third night off and it was a little complicated process to correct the problem. The other issue was they had a fire in their laundry room and ran out of wash cloths. So instead of leaving our wash cloths that we hung up per their Green room recommendation in reusing towels, they took our wash cloths and we had to then wash with hand towels. A little cumbersome, but manageable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a few hiccups with the room but the front desk more than accommodated us and made amends for our inconveniences, which were greatly appreciated. Breakfast was light but wonderful. We wished we had had time to use the rooftop pool at night. The room was beautiful and the huge walk-in shower with the rain shower head was wonderful. Overall, fantastic experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadygert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The room was over $400. Too much. The outdoor lounge was nice, and I liked the lounge tents, but I just kept thinking about the neighborhood across the street who had to listen to the DJ's music. I was a little embarrassed since it was so loud. The pool is small and more like a wading area at 3.9 feet throughout. We were there the same night as the NY Yankees. They told us our "large" party of 9 might overwhelm the kitchen. Uh Oh. How were they going to accommodate the Yankees' late night snack? The food was good with very small portions, but I never eat at hotels in my city, so it was fine. I ordered a pizza with BBQ smoked chicken with French fried onions on top - which actually was pretty darn tasty. I prayed they were not the fried onions from the grocery store container that is used in green bean casserole. $4 for a diet coke with no refill! Ouch. The service was nice and the location is ok. Parking was a problem. I am from KC, so I knew where to park off-street for free at 48th and Jarboe. But I also don't mind walking a few city blocks since I'm used to it. Otherwise, pay for valet. Overall comfortable and clean. With decent food choices.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasLoveBirdBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is misrepresented. SMALL workout room, beds and pool is ridiculous. The picture is all you get, it is literally 10 ft wide and long. The workout room is very tiny and they act like
its great on the website-- you also have to use a separate elevator to get to it that brings you under the parking garage. I have stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels and this hotel makes you
feel very uncomfortable if you are a regular person and not really rich or a celebrity. If you are then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8sandy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and it was a superb stay. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff was wonderful. Logan was outstanding and really made you feel like you were the only guest there. She even greeted us every time we came through the hotel in the kindest way. Nate from valet was also very friendly and enthusiastic. The hotel has a 24 hour shuttle service that takes you around the area so that was extremely nice. One of the best parts of the hotel is the rooftop bar. Although the pool wasn't open when we stayed it was such a nice view and atmosphere you can't beat it. The only flaw about this hotel is parking. If you are a guest of the hotel and paying a lot of money to stay here you should not have to pay 18 dollars extra a day to park. Other than that our stay was superb and we will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonAnders63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#25 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fontaine

Property: The Fontaine
Address: 901 W 48th Pl, Kansas City, MO 64112-1895 (Formerly Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza)
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kansas City's best upscale shopping at Country Club Plaza, The Fontaine is a sophisticated, new destination for business and leisure travel. Walk across custom tile mosaics inset into the gleaming marble floor, enjoy intricately carved wood paneling and playful Renaissance artwork adorning the walls and marvel at the hand-blown Venetian glass chandeliers floating overhead. Each detail is designed to delight the senses while setting a scene of serene sophistication—a place in which guests are both dazzled and utterly relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing