We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality boutique hotel with some idiosyncrasies”
Review of The Fontaine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fontaine
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quality boutique hotel with some idiosyncrasies”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Hard to find a new hotel near the Plaza. The location is two blocks off the Plaza. Part of an office complex. The rooms were well done with modern updated furniture. The bar and restaurant upstairs had poor service but great views. The continental breakfast in the morning was excellent. Be careful what side of the hotel you choose if you are sensitive to noise.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    187
    49
    18
    19
See reviews for
184
423
22
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

To start with I want to say that I have stayed at this property 3 times now. The first time, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The next two times, not so much. With that said, I will start off with my first time staying here because the next two times are sort of the same complaint.
Overall I do like this hotel and in Kansas City seems like a breath of fresh air for the hotel industry. It's clean, contemporary and has a nice youthful vibe to it. As a business traveler this sort of place fits my needs.The room size is nice and larger than a boutique property yet not overwhelmingly big like maybe a convention center type hotel. The bathroom and shower were really nice and liked that it had a shower stall and not a tub. I thought the bed was comfortable and sleeping was pretty easy as well as the fact that it's pretty quiet overall.
The only complaint I had about the room on the first trip is that there wasn't a dedicated dresser or drawers to put clothes in. Instead I had to use the bedside table as my dresser which did not hold a lot of clothes at all.
My only other gripe with the room is the mini bar set up. It's the kind like in Vegas where if you remove an item for a certain amount of time, you get charged for it regardless of whether you want it or not. I think this is a bit foolish especially for a hotel in Kansas City. No offense to KC but seriously, you are not Las Vegas and think this is more a deterrent from people using the mini bar. Plus the selection isn't so great to begin with. Besides that, I do like the room and had a good first stay. I like the continental breakfast as well and the ladies who work it are super nice and enjoyed seeing them in the morning. This is a free perk so I do like that but would have liked the option for a restaurant sit down full breakfast as well. There is room service which is nice but if you have the room service breakfast, why not just open the restaurant up for full service?
As a business traveler (ugh) I would have liked this option as my days are long and don't really get to eat lunch always at a normal time.
Ok. So now to my other stays at the property which have sort of made me decide to stay elsewhere in Kansas City. I understand everyone has different thoughts and opinions and not everyone feels the same. I respect others opinions and happy they have had good experiences.
So this is what happened. I checked in and asked for a room away from the elevator and on a high floor. They said ok…Except they placed me in a room next to a service elevator and on the second floor where I could never open my curtains because the window is at street level. If I had a lemonade stand, I could just open the window and hand it right to the people off the street. Also, it was a handicapped accessible room for which I am not and did not request. When I asked them about switching rooms, they said there weren't any available but to check back the next day. So I did and still nothing. It was kind of frustrating because I don't really think the front desk tried hard enough. If it was a Kimpton Property or such, they would have worked really hard to make sure my needs are met and if they couldn't come through, they would have offered me freebies to keep me happy. This hotel I feel could have cared less. Which brings me to the people at check in. Overall I feel like they make you feel like you are lucky to be staying at THEIR property and have an air of pretension about them. Almost like, we are too cool for you.
Upon check out this time, I explained to them my whole situation and they apologized and put it in my file to give me a better room when I returned…..Well I returned and they gave me another less than desirable room. It was only for one night so I wasn't going to complain but felt like, this property just doesn't have it together when it comes to customer service and taking care of the customers needs.
Unfortunately I won't be staying at this property the next time I am in Kansas City. It was nice but I have to say good-bye to the Hotel Sorella.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TVtravelLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topeka
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was a very nice surprise. You were greeted by friendly smiles immediately on entrying the lobby which was bright and airy and modern. The room although lacking some art was very European in style.

An added benefit was the restaurant Rosso and the infinty pool.

So in short a welcome addition to the KC hotel scene and within walking distance to the plaza area shops and restaurants.

Well done!! We really enjoyed our short stay!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Some hotels just look like any others. Then there are the hotels which have a different vibe. Some of the best chains have the ability to deliver many hotels each with its own vibe. 'W' Hotels is very good at achieving vibe in all their properties.

Sorella in KC falls into this class. The lobby immediately sets a vibe that resonates through the rooms, the public areas, the meeting services, and the staff.

Particular credit goes to Tia in guest services who knows the Hotelier business better than most.

I highly recommend this property for business and pleasure. I look forward to trying their other properties mostly located in TX.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We began our trip with a completely unimpressive stay at a Fairfield Inn in Olathe (do NOT stay there!). When we moved "uptown" to this hotel, it was a welcomed surprise. Clean, classy, with an attentive staff (even by midwest standards!). Our room was trendy and spacious. And its within walking distance of anything you'd want to do. Two slight negatives: (1) the pool was closed and (2) they were training some waitstaff and the bar service was a wee bit subpar. Overall, however, a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eschmidtva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We decided to treat ourselves to a little nicer hotel than our usual ones. The Hotel Sorella turned out to be a wonderful treat. I don't think we have stayed at a hotel with a staff as friendly as this hotel. We liked the European styling and the spacious room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you're a big city traveler looking for modern luxuries this is the best hotel for you in KC. They have done an excellent job with the décor. Every piece of art, lighting and furniture has an interesting appeal. Everything was impeccably clean. We were very surprised by the roof top restaurant and terrace. Excellent menu, views and chic atmosphere. The breakfast had a great selection and a very friendly and helpful attendant. The entire staff seems eager to make your stay enjoyable. It was ZERO degrees when we stayed here in January and the valet guys were impressively helpful and cheerful despite the freezing cold. The location is ideal for business travelers and general visitors. You can walk to the plaza which has the best shopping and dining options in KC. Hotel Sorella is KC gem and they deserve to be booked solid 365 days a year. Well done!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fontaine

Property: The Fontaine
Address: 901 W 48th Pl, Kansas City, MO 64112-1895 (Formerly Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza)
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kansas City's best upscale shopping at Country Club Plaza, The Fontaine is a sophisticated, new destination for business and leisure travel. Walk across custom tile mosaics inset into the gleaming marble floor, enjoy intricately carved wood paneling and playful Renaissance artwork adorning the walls and marvel at the hand-blown Venetian glass chandeliers floating overhead. Each detail is designed to delight the senses while setting a scene of serene sophistication—a place in which guests are both dazzled and utterly relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing