We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton President Kansas City
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
581
344
154
70
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
344
154
70
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspower and light districtsprint centerwalnut roomdrum room barfront deskcorner roombeautiful hotelentertainment districtclassic hotelmodern amenitiesbars and restaurantsbreakfast buffetwithin walking distancewedding partyvalet parkingself parkbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
1,046 - 1,051 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

First off, the guys out front were very helpful getting our luggage, opening doors and answering questions. Front desk was ok as long as you don't ask anything too complicated. We had more than 1 room under our name and it got very confusing at check out. Rooms were wonderful. COMFY beds, CLEAN bathrooms and all the little things you need. Within walking distance to KCP&L and surrounding restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is a really beautiful hotel right in the middle of everything right at the Power & Light District. It is hard to believe that this hotel was closed for more than 20 years. Why would anyone let such a building go to waste? Anyway, my experience at this hotel was very good. I arrived very early on a Saturday morning on the Southwest Chief from Albuquerque. Even though it was before 8am I was given a room straight away! Just an example of the great service I experienced for my entire stay. Not just any room btw, but a corner room overlooking the P&L District and the rest of the city with huge windows that open. Even being close to an entertainment district on a Saturday night, with the windows closed the room was very quiet. I would definitely stay at the Hilton President next time I am in KS and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: I would go for a corner room if I could. You get a view on two sides!
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButFli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thanks for the great review of our hotel and your visit. Why anyone would have wanted to tear this gem down is beyond us. Fortunately we have some ownership with real vision about taking something like our hotel and restoring to its original condition. It is certainly part of Kansas City history.
Let us know when you are in town again, we will try to get you in one of those rooms with the great views of KC!
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Hotel is good with a great service. Staff is helping and also exteriors. Calm surrounding. Onlyy problem was inavailablity of Wi- fii Internet. location is great and easily access. I am impressed with the food and more with the rooms. Staff is trained and helping.

Room Tip: No Wi-Fi, so please make surre you have enough big cable to get internet
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anky_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Beautifully Restored Historic Hotel located in the center of the newly resurgent downtown Kansas City. The bright lights and noise of the Power & Light District bars/clubs/restaurants are within a 3 block radius as well as the KC Convention Center, Theatres, Ballet and much more. I was impressed with all the new development but downtown KC is still hit and miss in terms of an urban wasteland after 5pm. Number of wedding parties taking place in the Hotel and the usual late night hijinks in the hallways (noise) but nevertheless I had a marvelous time. Love the old 1920's charm of the hotel and staff was helpful/friendly. The self parking garage was rather steep for KC prices $16 per day but there was cheaper street parking available nearby. I would definitely recommend it for a nice weekend getaway or city break

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thanks for your kind review. I often wonder if the weddings of the 1920's were as much a party as the weddings of current day? You bring up a valid point when you question the noise in the hotel and we do our best to monitor the levels of noise and the traffic in the hallways.
Either way I am glad you had a nice visit to the hotel. Look forward to seeing you in the future!
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed one night recently as we were attending an event in the P&L District.

Location is fantastic, and while all the standard Hilton touches are present and the hotel has been beautifully restored, it just lacks some of those finishing touches that will make the place truly elegant and the place to stay. For example, table clothes on the breakfast table, and warm plates so your food does not go cold too quickly. Valet is good but parking is expensive, particularly when there are many off street locations nearby.

Overall, if you get a competitive rate then choose this over the other nearby chain hotels. The only sad thing is that for a few extra touches it could be really special.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pointschaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thanks for the review. We were the first business to open in the entertainment district, and it has been great to see the downtown resurgence from the hotel point of view. Very pleased you had a nice visit to our hotel and we hope to see you again.
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews