We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton President Kansas City
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel with character”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I loved my stay as this hotel. It has kept its 20's look, but yet it has modern updates, without loosing character. Great location, within walking distance to clubs, bars, shopping and entertainment. You wont disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank cumonohito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thanks for that very kind review of your visit to our hotel. The location is certainly a big attraction, but the charm of the hotel is second to none. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    317
    144
    60
    50
See reviews for
176
332
61
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very old, understaffed hotel, with poor service. Bring your camera and photograph the beggars sitting on the Hotel benches in the front of the Hotel. Valet parking is $20.00 and you wait 20+ minutes due to the understaffing. The rooms were made over to give that 1920s look but whoever was in charge failed the challenge

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 408georgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
As you can see by hundreds of prior reviews, your visit was not the normal guest visit. I am very sorry there were some issues with the timliness of the valet service. I am not quite sure about the comment in regards to some homeless people that may have been downtown or near the hotel. If we encounter them we kindly and very respectfully ask them to move on, and we certainly don't condone "taking pictures" of them, we would hope that everyone would treat some of these less fortunate individuals with respect. The homeless problem in downtown Kansas City as in most major metropolotan areas is a problem that needs to be addressed.

We certainly hope you find what you are looking for if your travels bring you to Kansas City in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City Mo, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked the hotel originally because of its proximity to the Sprint Center and Power and Light. We realized that we had stayed here before. Both stays were excellant! I highly recommend this hotel. The price was actually cheaper than many other hotels and it was during the George Strait/Eric Church concert.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for the great review of your visit to our hotel. The location is second to none and I am so pleased you took advantage of our short walk to the Sprint Center for the concert. We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks while I was in town for business. The hotel is an older building but that's just part of the charm. The rooms are very spacious (especially the bathroom) and were very well kept. Only had minor housekeeping issues during the first week stay. The area that the hotel is in is called the Power and Light District and there are plenty of restaurants in the area(walking distance) so that you don't have to eat in the hotel every night. Overall this is a solid 4 stars and if I'm ever in Kansas City again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for the great review Jeff. Two weeks is certainly a long time to visit a hotel, and I am pleased we could provide a great stay for you the entire time. We would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here to avoid having to drive following a concert at Sprint Center. This hotel is a easy walk to the complex, just a straight shot less than half a mile and you are there. As a bonus, you past several restaurant in a full range of price scales between the hotel and Sprint Center.

To top it off, the staff was very responsive to requests (additional towels, sheets, etc.).

This was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for the quick, wonderful review of the hotel. A walk from our hotel to the Sprint Center takes about 3 minutes, and I am pleased you found our location just right for your post concert visit.
Please look us up again if you should be in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I go to Kansas City 6-8 times per year on business and only stay at the Hilton President. Lots of history, beautiful architecture, great location (the restaurants nearby are good - especially the Bristol), and very nice, clean, spacious rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Larry-
Thanks for that very thoughtful review. It is really the highest compliment we can get from a guest. I am so pleased we are able to provide you with a great visit every time you are in Kansas City. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The staff at this hotel are truly top notch. They handle every need with ease. Any questions/issues and they're right there taking care of them. The hostess in the restaurant was amazing with my grandchildren, so patient and relaxed it was a very nice lunch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks Pamela for the wonderful review of your visit to our hotel. Your compliments about the staff is very flattering. The team at the President is what truly sets us apart from other hotels in the area. We would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
1,094 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Property: Hilton President Kansas City
Address: 1329 Baltimore Ave, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#16 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing