We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Orland Park, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great location for the plaza”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We came down to Kansas City to eat some bbq, and decided to stay at the Country Club plaza location. It was a very nice hotel with a couple of quirks but nothing that was bad.

The circular drive up to the front door would be easy to pass by if you are not looking for it. It is steep, and you have to get out of your car and go up a handful of steps to get to the front door, then on to the front desk. I was going to be parking, and right next door is a parking garage, but don't park there or they will tow your car, or so I was told. The hotel parking lot was around the block and behind the hotel. It had both covered and uncovered parking, and seemed like it might be a bit limited, but we found a spot right in front of the back doors. Once in the back doors you are at the elevators, which are the kind that have doors in the front and back, depending on what floor you get off on. The lobby level and the back door level are on different levels, and things seem a little chopped up.

Our room was a larger guest room corner and on the third floor. It directly overlooked the tiny pool and upper parking deck. The view was nothing to get excited about. It was quiet by the pool and it was not a problem. But the room was very very spacious and clean, and the two beds were very comfortable. Internet was free and I had no problems with it. Parking was an extra $5/day. They have a little business "nook" next to the front desk that has a pc and printer and you can print off boarding passes from there.

The location is right on the edge of the Country Club plaza and within walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants.

Overall we had a very nice stay here and I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    192
    36
    15
    14
See reviews for
128
143
35
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
165 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance of all the Country Club restaurants and shops, and a quick drive to any part of KC. It's always a great place to stay, with ample parking, and I will be back. I should add the rooms all seem to be larger, as are the baths. It's also within walking distance of the Nelson Adkins museum.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BattlegroundTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Champferg-

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy to know that you will be back next time your are in KC.

Warmest regards,

Amy Ridgeway
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Came in for a few days and opted to stay down by the plaza. It's a great place to walk around, and it's pretty easy access to get to a Royals game and visit friends in the suburbs as well.
The room was nice, although I wished it had a safe. It has an outdoor pool and a gym, although both are pretty small. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sreptile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have been coming to KC on business ocassionally and have happily been staying at this Courtyard. Housed in a historic renovated apartment building on the edge of the Country Club Plaza, the hotel is well appointed for most occasions. The lobby is somewhat small, but has a small bar/coffee shop and a very nice patio to sit and enjoy the evenings.

The rooms are large and beds comfortable. Not super impressed by the TV channel selection, but that's a minor complaint. The King rooms feature a small loveseat & coffee table, as well as a large desk for spreading out, as well as a mini-fridge & microwave. Plus free wi-fi, which is fairly reliable & consistant. I've always recieved great service here as well and the staff is very helpful.

The location really stands out. Easy access to area businesses & downtown for work. Within 10 minute walking distance of just about everything on the Plaza (resturaunts, shops, etc). All-in-all, it is a very nice to place to KC and at a pretty reasonable rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed over the weekend for a weekend trip to KC. The hotel was easy to get to, parking was convenient, the room was fantastic. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a pullout sofa. Everything was very clean, and though they were busy, it was also very quiet. The location was very convenient. We enjoyed strolling around The Plaza in the evenings & we went to Schlitterbahn on Saturday. The staff was excellent & very friendly. We will be staying here on our next trip to KC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn_78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

As a regular at Courtyard hotels when I travel, this location was up to expectations. I am rarely disappointed with Courtyard. In addition the hotel has unique historical charm and a terrific location within walking distance of some of the best dining and shopping in KC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed two nights- room was very comfortable and clean ! Check in was efficient. Parking was immediately adjacent and free. We stayed on the 5th floor and the A.C worked well. Lobby bar was small but a nice plus. Note no free breakfast and did not utilize the restaurant but did review the breakfast menu and it offered many choices. Location was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Fifth floor east side was nice with a good view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chance s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4600 J C Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-1603
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Courtyard by Marriott Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, the property is perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting/social event, or enjoying the area's excellent shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, this Kansas City, Missouri hotel is designed to fulfill the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful and modern services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing