We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2009

This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the Plaza. Rooms are clean, roomy, and very comfortable. The only thing that might deter you from staying here is the large hill that you must climb on your way back to the hotel from the plaza. Otherwise, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subwayrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    192
    36
    15
    14
See reviews for
128
143
35
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arkansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

My wife and I used our Marriott points for a weekend get away on the Country Club Plaza. We were surprised to find the building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The hotel was very nice and clean with free parking and internet, fitness room, pool, breakfast buffet, and a restaurant that serves dinner and drinks. There is also a nice patio out front where you can have a drink and watch the people in the park across the street.
We were upgraded to a suite because of a maintenance issue in our room (bonus)!
The room was very comfortable with large screen HiDef TV's in the bedroom and sitting room, a mini fridge that was actually cold, microwave and coffee maker. We also had nice views with lots of windows overlooking the area.
What impressed us the most was the hotel was so quiet. You didn't hear doors slamming or people talking. We slept so well!
We had no problem with service at all.
The location is great and right on the Plaza, within walking distance to all the Plaza offers.
The only thing that I have to complain about is room service was only offered after 5:00 P.M., so no breakfast in bed.
I highly recommend staying here for its location and amenities.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinjones17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We were very pleasantly surprised when entering the lobby of this hotel as Courtyard's are generally your basic accommodations, although always clean and well kept in my experience. This hotel exceeded most full service Marriotts that we have been to in recent memory. From the beautifully appointed lobby to the well decorated and immaculately clean rooms, we cannot wait to go back for a visit. The building was an apartment building dating back to the early 1900's which Marriott purchased about 3 years ago before doing a full renovation of the building. There is a beautifully kept outdoor pool along with an exercise room, guest laundry, and business center all at no charge. The free parking directly behind the building was an added plus. Although, the building layout is odd due to the conversion from an apartment building and the age of the building, there are many exterior entrances that allowed us to enter right near our room with no stairs. It took a little while to understand the layout of the building, but I find that is true anywhere. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and actually remembered who we were and why we were visiting days after our arrival. The County Club Plaza location is unbeatable. Only negative that I can really come up with is that the room was smaller that we are accustomed too, more on the size of a Manhattan hotel room but perfect size for a couple. On a 1 to 10 scale, this one is a solid 10.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolcottEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2009

The hotel was good, the location was good, the staff was excellent. I will go back!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaVolley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

The reason for choosing this hotel was location! It is walking distance to the plaza...except it's too cold to be walking and it's at the end, not the middle of the shopping district.

It's nice and clean if you need a place to sleep.

No frills. A tiny lobby bar if you must have a drink in the hotel. A lame excuse for a restaurant for breakfast. Avoid it if you can and go to The Classic Cup just down the street and you will feel like you are in Paris...if that is possible when in Kansas.

Again, avoid breakfast there.

Rooms 117 is spacious and the two queen beds are larger than queen I think, lots of open space in the room so unlike hotel rooms usually.

Free parking, free internet - unusual these days.

Yes, stairs everywhere are a real nuisance.

  • Liked — Location and clean
  • Disliked — Stairs and lack on restaurant for breakfast, SO many nearby for other meals though.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank InternationalCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

I stayed there for 1 night and I am satisfied with the place.
The whole building is not a new facility but it is very well kept. It has a nice lobby with a lovely fireplace. The staff were polite and friendly. My room was very clean. The bathroom was clean as well. The room had a large LCD with fridge and microwave. The hotel is located close to country club plaza which is a very nice place.
Negative points : The air system was noisy, but I was so tired that didn't have problem with sleeping. My room was small and there was no complementary breakfast. I believe the rate of the hotel is pricey for what you get and the city you stay in (Kansas city) !
Overall, It is a good place and I liked it.

  • Liked — being clean and close to country club plaza
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I generally agree with the numerous positive reviews already posted but need to point out that if you have bad knees be aware this place has stairs everywhere. From the front parking/check in parking area area there are 2 flights of stairs to get to the lobby. True there is a lift but it won't work without a key, a key that is kept at the front desk. No intercom. to let them know you need help. Argh

From the front desk to the free computer, there is a set of stairs.

  • Liked — Large quiet rooms
  • Disliked — Stairs everywhere!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4600 J C Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-1603
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Courtyard by Marriott Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, the property is perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting/social event, or enjoying the area's excellent shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, this Kansas City, Missouri hotel is designed to fulfill the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful and modern services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing