We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sup Hip and Super Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #44 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Sup Hip and Super Fun”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is super hip. I love it when old hotels are modernized with true respect for the original historic structure. This might be the hippest Holiday Inn I've ever experienced. Trust me when you walk in, you do not get the hotel chain type vibe.

When we checked in I advised the front desk that we were celebrating one of my friend's birthdays. They promptly provided us with a complimentary bottle of champagne, champagne glasses and well wishes.

The room was gorgeous. It's a small room, but that's to be expected with an older hotel. A room of caution, if you are on a girls' trip the room will seem even smaller, mostly b/c us ladies tend to over pack. The bathroom is also smaller than typical, but it's really beautiful. The double-headed shower is amazing. I'm seriously consider buying myself one after our stay.

We had drinks at the hotel bar that night. It's a small and intimate bar area. The seats are cozy and make long conversations enjoyable and fun. The beer selection is limited, but it's a good place to be if you want something intimate and relaxing instead of a night on the town.

We enjoyed the Sunday brunch in the hotel and were amazingly surprised by what we received for the price. Generally I find buffets of any kind to be so-so and not worth the cost, but that wasn't true in this case. The buffet was worthy of a five star hotel and was packed with yummy food and tons of options. The only thing I didn't particularly like was the eclair, but one bad thing shouldn't ruin it for everything else.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is older the elevators are small. So, if traveling with a group of women, be mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmulvihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you had a good girls trip! Those are very important! I will pass along your compliments to our team. We hope to have you back again, and soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    204
    118
    49
    33
See reviews for
63
187
47
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

You could not find a hotel with more friendly and helpful people. Jacob at the front desk helped us secure tickets to events in the Power and Light District. Our room A/C was not working well that night and a young gentleman named Coleman, went out of his way to check for other rooms and then brought us a fan. He didn't just bring it to the door, he plugged it in and got it all set up for us. He's a good poet, too!
Great location near restaurants and entertainment, clean, and very good breakfast buffet (not included in price though)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We take great pride with the fact that we have a truely amazing team! I will pass along your compliments to Jacob and Coleman. We hope your next trip to Kansas City will include a stay at The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My first trip to Kansas City, Missouri was made even more enjoyable by this extremely comfortable hotel. Of course, the fact that I was able to get a great rate on the Internet was helpful, but I would definitely stay here again. You are right in the heart of their medium-sized downtown (it is fairly easy to walk from end to end), and next to the Power & Light entertainment district. The ammenities were what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, and because this was a downtown hotel, the furnishings and staff were very professional and orderly in appearance. Parking was not a problem; there is an underground garage directly across the street with a reasonable nightly rate. To the guest that complained about not having free parking, I remind readers that this is a DOWNTOWN property in a large city. You can not reasonably expect free parking. If that is a deal breaker, then save yourself the headache and stay out in the suburbs! But if clean, comfortable, accomodations in the central business district are what is important, then look no further than the Holiday Inn Aladdin.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our beautiful hotel! We hope to have you back, and soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Very surprising for a Holiday Inn. We booked through Hotwire and because we wouldn't normally choose this chain we were a little apprehensive. The Aladdin proved to be a very pleasant surprise. Completely charming. From the lobby to the rooms very cute. Valet parking very efficient - worth the price. Room clean, bed comfortable. Housekeeping was a little lackluster when they made up the room the second day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We strive to create a unique experience for each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We called the hotel previously to ask about parking, they told us it was free, however when we arrived parking was not free. I spoke with Jason the front desk manager and he ended up giving it to us for free. But this was after an extremely annoying conversation where he basically told me I was lieing. Bottom line he was very incompetent and should not be at the front desk. The room was dirty with stains on the curtains and in the bathtub. It was a very dated bathroom and it looked like the bed was already slept in. Besides all of this the hallways were so loud and we were woken up at 1am for two hours while people partied in the hallway. This was after we called security twice and nothing happened. DO NOT STAY HERE unless you like dealing with stupid staff members and loud parties. Only redeeming factor was the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review! I apologize you were misinformed about the cost of parking. I would like to speak to you directly about the remaining feedback you have - would you please call me at your convenience.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
816-421-8887
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Love this hotel, great downtown location near all of the action and excellent service. I recommend this hotel to all of my friends and associates. The Martini loft is a great place to relax and have a cocktail. This is definitely not your ordinary Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you like our hotel as much as we do! We hope to have you back, and with some friends!!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We enjoyed a weekend stay in downtown Kansas City for a very reasonable price ($99 + $18.44 taxes & fees). The room was small but nicely decorated and comfortable. We ate breakfast and had a drink at the bar and were satisfied. The concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ca2jo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you had a great experience at our hotel! Did you know that when the hotel was originally 309 guest rooms, and is now down to 193 guest rooms? There was only one bathroom per floor though! We hope to have you back soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 108 in Kansas City
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#21 of 108 in Kansas City
1,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Property: Holiday Inn Aladdin
Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing