We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Room was nice but small, it was supposed to have a sleeper sofa but didn't have one, mattress was something you would expect from a motel 6, No swimming pool. Lady at front desk was supposed to have extra pillow and blanket brought up, I never got it and when calling front desk I never actually got through, it rang continuously. Location was nice but over all experience wasn't great. I wont be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that the experience you had was not what you were expecting. I hope you will give us another chance.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked a room for an anniversary overnight date with my husband on a travel site for a great deal over Memorial day weekend. I emailed the hotel and asked if we could get a room with a view, since it was our anniversary (and we had read other reviews about views of a wall). The hotel kindly obliged us. We also checked in a few minutes early, with no problems. We weren't offered the champagne at check-in, but that was okay. it was graduation weekend for the local high schools and self parking around the hotel was full. We had found a nearby garage who let us park there for a few hours for free until graduation let out. Then we found a spot in the garage directly across the street for $7.00 a day - cheaper than the valet and in the exact same garage. The room was small, which is common for an older hotel, but clean. The bathroom was small and clean, but there was a tub, which was great to soak in. It was a great room for the price. You could tell the walls needed to be replastered under the paint, but it was still neatly painted. It is a great location from the Power and Light district, just a few blocks walking distance. We had a great weekend, and the staff was polite, even though we had limited contact with them. We didn't eat at the restaurant or the bar, so unable to comment. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LawrenceJhawk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will pass along all your comments to our staff - we really appreciate the feedback!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. It's one of the smaller ones in the downtown area. The inside was breathtaking and our room was very clean. It was a little small, but that is to be expected in an older hotel. The bartender actually helped us learn a great deal about local attractions and recommended a nice restaurant. We will definitely stay at the Aladdin again the next time we are in KC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jillianjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely pass along your compliments to our bartender. We hope to have you back, and soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It's tough to rate this hotel... Gorgeous old building, and the staff and location were fantastic!!! However, parking was messy, and our room was dirty and unkempt.

5 stars for service and location: The staff was amazing - they treated us like royalty from the moment we pulled up in front the door until check-out. The hotel is also right smack on the edge of the Power and Light District. We were in town for a concert at the Sprint Center and were able to walk there (as well as to numerous fantastic restaurants) without having to deal with event parking.

2 stars for Parking: the parking situation was very confusing when we first pulled up. Thankfully, Adam from Guest Services came immediately out to greet us at the curb and explain our options ($16 for valet parking, or $12 to park in the ramp across the street). We opted for the ramp. On the plus side, ramp parking on level 2 offers direct access to the hotel, which was convenient.

1 star for room quality: Although I loved this hotel's old-style look and layout (the building is on the national register of historic places), the interior is not being very well cared for. The room and hallways were visibly in need of vacuuming. The full-length mirror in our room was smeared with what looked like dirty children's hand prints. The air vent in the ceiling was kicking dustballs down onto the floor beneath. The windows were caked with smudges and film (a detriment to what would otherwise have been a great view of the city), and the curtains had several tears in them. There was a smattering of dirt and hair on the bathroom floor and bathtub, which had not been cleaned very thoroughly.

But in the end, the location can't be beat, the price was very reasonable, and the guest services were outstanding. I hope that the Holiday Inn (which owns/manages this hotel) will begin putting better effort into maintaining the interior cleanliness of this beautiful, historic building. I slept comfortably and was happy with the staff and the location, but I probably will not stay here again due to the poor quality of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sali_Bloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you liked our guest services and location! However, the cleanliness issues you have described are not something we take likely. I would like to hear more about your stay and what room you were in so we can research and address the issues you have described immediately. Please contact me at your convenience.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales & Marketing
816-421-8887 - direct
sdevault@hialaddin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we wanted to be in the Power and Light District. It was the PERFECT hotel for being within walking distance of so many things! The room was small, but very clean. My only complaint about the room itself was that the air conditioner didn't cool the room well and was very loud. On the other hand, the staff was exceptional! They offered us complimentary champagne while we checked in and were very eager to help or make suggestions on where to eat or what to do. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tberendzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I would like to know what room you stayed in so we can immediately address the air conditioning issues you have described. Please call or email me at your convenience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
sdevault@hialaddin.com
816-421-8887

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for a conference located next door. Hotel did not look like much from outside but inside was nice with rooms that were very nice and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was very good for sound quality except for a bad shower head in the room next door made an high pitched screaming noise in the morning. They eventually fixed it but it took awhile.

They have a laundry room but only offer one washer and one dryer. The elevators were very fast although small. The parking was $16 a day for the valet parking which is a little slow. I would not call this a 4 star hotel but more of a 3 star with close to 5 star service. The room itself was as nice as some 5 star rooms I have been in but I would rate it as a good 4 star stay with the comfort and service earning the bulk of the rating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rezboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I love that the service levels we provided made your stay! We hope to have you back soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location, especially to the Sprint Center where we were attending an event. The 0.3 mile walk to the event center is easy as it is downhill, but remember this when returning that it is an uphill walk the whole way. You might want to get a cab or transport for this reason. That being said, the walk back to the hotel was well lit and we felt safe walking back.

The hotel has a unique design and has historic charm. As are more historic hotels though, the rooms and bathroom are small. Our room on the 6th floor was very clean, and we enjoyed the towel animal awaiting us. The beds were firm. I did like that the bathroom had extra shelves to place items so that the counter top did not get cluttered.

The price is definitely a plus, especially for its close vicinity to the downtown. The hotel offers valet parking at $16 a day with unlimited come-and-go access, but they also have a parking garage right across the street that you can use.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so fortunate to have such a great venue as the Sprint Center so close to us. We hope to have you back the next time you attend an event there.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#18 of 109 in Kansas City
1,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: £92 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing