We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey for the food”
Review of Michael Smith

Michael Smith
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael Smith is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 1,417 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 19th
Transit: Just outside on Main.
Colony, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bit pricey for the food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Was here on Valentines Day. The food was very good but for the portions a bit to pricey. The filet was ok( I can make better at home on the grill) great atmosphere and great service but for what we spent it just seemed high. Traveled to Europe and spent half as much and food was better

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel771307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    20
    16
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha Ne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As Good as Advertised”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were in KC to celebrate our anniversary and Michael Smith Restaurant did not disappoint. The food and service were both very good. Michael was table hopping that night so we got to visit with him since we were recommended to him by a chef friend of his in Omaha. He was very friendly. The room is nice and on a corner so there were several window tables available. It is a great place for people watching. The service was professional and efficient, yet friendly. Our food was excellent. We shared a bucatini pasta with a great red sauce. My wife had the 7 hour pork roast and I had pork medallions with a pepper crust. Both meals were accompanied with interesting side dishes. We shared a nice pinot noir with our meal and also shared Michael's version of peaches and cream for dessert. Other than a big hassle in finding a place to park since it was on the first Friday of the month, our anniversary dinner was excellent. Will certainly go back next time we are in KC.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amlcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We went here using a groupon, and it still was not enough. The menu was interesting, and had many selections. The food was artfully prepared, but not as amazing as the reviews led me to believe.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ksmith727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE USA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“close to a perfect evening”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

5 of us ate here and everyone was delighted with the service, food quality, selection and the wine. I ordered a wine off the list, and as often happens when I find and interesting value, quality wine, they were out of it. The waiter suggested three others with which I was not familar, and we ordered two and both were outstanding. Everyone ordered a different entree and we had two different first course, one dessert and we shared. Everything was delightful. Can't go wrong here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesheyozhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peculiar, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

As a frequent diner here, I can't say enough good things about the place. The food, the service, and the operation are all excellent. The menu changes frequently to take advantage of seasonal offerings, and the Chef's tasting menu is always fun to try. If you like wine, let them pick one for you. They always get it right and you may gain a new favorite. BIG ITALIAN THURSDAY NIGHT SHOULD NOT BE MISSED

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skeetscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael Smith also viewed

 

Been to Michael Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing