We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Florida and New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The location was great -- we could see Royals Stadium across the highway!

However, the first room we were assigned was so bad -- dark, musty, smelly. We asked for a different room. Our new room, "in the tower" was better but not great. On the floor next to the bed were little pieces of wadded and discarded paper which never got vacuumed up -- for a long time based on the dust around them.

We didn't go to the water park so cannot comment on that. The restaurant was very slow service with a VERY limited menu of mediocre pub food.

Take a pass if you can. I think this hotel is suffering under bad management.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ASeas0nedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear ASeas0nedTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    175
    179
    141
    172
See reviews for
467
101
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Based solely on location, this hotel has its benefits if you are attending a game at the Truman Sports Complex. Which is why I booked here.

The exterior of the hotel looks decrepit. The lobby is serviceable.

The toilet in my room would not flush unless I held the handle until all waste disappeared.

My window blinds were broken.

While there were many outlets to choose from, very few of them actually work.

My breakfast was just an additional three-dollar charge per night when I booked on hotels.com, but it wasn't worth three dollars.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HoosierTransfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear HoosierTransfer,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the appearance of the property. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I planned a little get together of relatives at the CoCo Keys Water Park, so we just stayed at the adjoining Holiday Inn. I had read the reviews and they were not very good. Our room was OK. The desk chair was warn and the beds creaked when you got in and out of them, but they were pretty comfortable, however, I like a hard bed. Our biggest complaint was the air conditioning. The fan was very loud. Our other complaint was NO free breakfast or even coffee in the lobby. Most hotels have free coffee in the lobby. Other than that, the stay was OK.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing West and you can see the stadiums
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeper72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear sleeper72,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with our amenities. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Kandice and Sherri were excellent with there service and very attentive and helpful plz know that kandice did help my family numerous times. Had a great time and family was very happy. Thank you kandice and Sherri

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djmuzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear djmuzik,

It was great to hear that Kandice and Sherri provided you the WOW factor in customer service for your stay. Our front desk is constantly getting great comments from valued guests as yourself. I will make sure this gets shared with them and the front desk team. We look forward to servicing you on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Robert Harmel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Top notch all the way! I've stayed at other hotels and this one was the most comfortable by far and they cater to your every need. From the pleasant receptionist at the desk (wow, the lobby was stunning and very spacious!) to the beautiful guest rooms and to the morning breakfast bar, everything was wonderful! The room colors were very warm and inviting and made you feel right at home. And the bed was so cozy comfortable that we decided to sleep in alittle longer! Cudos to Robert, the operations manager and Candice, the receptionist for making our stay very enjoyable! We will definitely be back and I highly recommend to all when staying in Kansas City, this hotel is the best! Oh, I almost forgot, we could look out our room window and see a great view of the Chiefs football stadium and the Royals baseball stadium! WOW!

David DeSpain
IHG rewards member
Stayed 04.19.2014

Room Tip: Stay in one of the top floor rooms. A great view of the Kansas City skyline and the stadiums!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear David D,

David, thank you for your stay and being a valued IHG rewards member. We are going through a large amount of change at the property it was truly my pleasure to personalize your experience and provide you the stay you expected. I have shared your comments with Kandice as well. She is a true asset. Again, thank you for the opportunity to personally serve you and I look forward to your next visit so that you can enjoy the hotel and our great customer service.

Sincerely,

Robert Harmel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had read the reviews before booking our stay a the Holiday Inn so had little expectation that I would love the place. Well, that proved to be true BUT I did like it. The hotel lobby is beautiful and check-in was a breeze. The staff at front was friendly and knowledgeable plus +++ although I had booked the room without the water park package, I was able to get a great deal for our group of 5. When we walked into our hotel room, my first impression was that the room was clean...enough. As other reviewers have said, the carpets in the hallways and rooms need a thorough shampooing (or replacing) so an odor wafts throughout those areas upstairs. In addition upon entering our room, we encountered fixture issues that housekeeping should have addressed prior to our arrival (an entry light didn't work, the bathroom sink plug was broken, the toilet chain disconnected easily) but these inconveniences were fixed right away so thumbs up to HI's front desk for the courteous and prompt customer service. So far, we're off to an OK start. We headed straight to the water park after unpacking. Fortunately or unfortunately though, because I had stayed at another chain's water park resort in June, the comparisons were on from the very beginning. Overall, I would say that this one had a lot of great features too - the water was as warm as promised and it had the slides, the lazy river, the toddler area, the pool, adult hot tub, snack shops, wet bar and more - everything that kids and adults desire. And we played here for hours at a time all 3 days. For a resort that allows street guests as well, the place didn't feel overly crowded. Now for the downside and here is where my comparisons don't help - first, there wasn't a lot of walking room or space between the features; sometimes it felt tight getting through and around the people that were there. Also there was a certain lack of professionalism or lack of training of staff in the establishment. For instance, anywhere you go in the USA there is to be absolutely no running around water. This wasn't enforced. And depending on the lifeguard in areas, things were overlooked like height restrictions and cutting in. Big kids were allowed in the toddler pools and any kid in the adult hot tub. Also, the inner tubes for floating and sliding were not maintained. For example at the Lodge, lifeguards whistled at you if you didn't put your tube away immediately after use which kept the pool clean and the guards on top of inflation. Here, empty tubes floated everywhere and deflated tubes were left everywhere as well. Also dry towels weren't readily available at Cocokey so as soon as fresh ones were set on a ledge (that is how many or how few were set out), they were gone. I nearly lost it when at one point, I watched as a boy spit wads into the pool for entertainment while waiting on the stairs to go down one of the slides but I couldn't get a lifeguard's attention in time to stop him. I know kids will be kids and a lot of stuff goes in these pools but c'mon, it's a bit gross to watch it being done on purpose. We stayed Fri-Sun. Friday, we ordered pizza. On Sat. evening, we ordered room service which was decently prepared and reasonably priced except that the menu in the room was outdated so I was a bit frustrated when told that my initial selection was no longer offered when I had been looking forward to it all day! The free wifi did not work for me either which was annoying. It disconnected constantly and therefore was a complete waste of time (I kept trying). Finally, as we prepared to leave the hotel today, I noticed that the wall vent in the room by which we had laid one of our suitcases was covered in dust. Eeewwww and no wonder my daughter was having allergy issues and actually ran home for her inhaler on Friday. We had thought that perhaps she was having issues with pet dander left behind although I didn't know if pets were allowed there. This vent issue was a little over the top especially when the vent is at ground level and would take under a minute to clean. Additionally during our visit, we had found a paper bag underneath a club chair we moved to accommodate seating for the kids. So the reviews on this hotel about housekeeping are right on. The staff needs to use the time between 11:00 and 4:00 to pay more attention to detail or maybe management needs to staff more appropriately. I will say that our room did get picked up during the day so unlike others who had to call, we didn't have that problem. Checkout was quick and easy (the invoice under the door, a key drop-off). I would probably do the water park again if the deal were right and skip the hotel because I live here and there is definitely an issue with housekeeping that can't be ignored so I'll take my dust for free. That's saying a lot because I love hotels and am never ready to come home! In fact, we just got back from CA/Disneyland two days prior and we were already out again. It's a long review but I wanted to give as much of the experience as possible.

Room Tip: I requested a top floor based on other traveler tips but didn't get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear teankc,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and two kids just got back from this place. I'll start with the few negatives that we experienced.
The beds absolutely suck and lighting in rooms are not what I've come to expect out of a Holiday Inn. The kitchen is not consistent. For example we ate the buffet breakfast on Friday. They have the powdered eggs that every hotel has. They were not bad, I mean how can you mess up powdered eggs? Well this morning we had the buffet and my 8 month old wouldn't even eat the eggs(they looked and tasted like cheesy cottage cheese) and he tries to eat everything!! Now on to the good stuff...
Charlie, from the restaurant, was great!! She served us every evening we stayed there and was absolutely amazing!! We told her what our plans were for the following day and she actually cared enough to ask about them the next day!!! Tessy(hope that's spelled right), makes some pretty amazing drinks. I love Bloody Mary's and she makes them pretty good! Since I was already at my destination, I drank 2-3 each night. Even the host(I'm sorry I never got his name) was awesome too!! On to the waterpark...it was great, it was included in with the hotel and kept my family entertained. Not too crowded, a lifeguard every 10 feet, just all around a good experience. We will be returning

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCollinsNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear RCollins NE,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of the property. As many other guests it was wonderful to hear how great of a time Charlie, Tessie and Michael our host provided you in the bar area. I am concerned about your breakfast experience as we do use a fresh liquid egg product but apparently did a poor job of preparing them during your stay. I have made our new Chef aware of this to ensure we are putting a consistent high quality product out for our guests. Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to serving you next time you are in the KC area.

Sincerely,

Robert Harmel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
15.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 9103 East 39th Street, Kansas City, MO 64133 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kansas City SE - Waterpark)
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adam's Mark of Kansas City is a full-service hotel and conference center located on the Southeastern side of Kansas City, MO. Our location is adjacent to the Truman Sports Complex, home of the Kansas City Chiefs and Royals. The Adam's Mark of Kansas City offers over 369 well appointed rooms and 17,000 sq. ft. of event and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kansas City Se - Waterpark Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing