We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
192
26
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
26
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bthe nelson atkins museumporch swingdecanter of sherryart museumartichoke dipcookies and hot drinksturn down servicewalking distancelittle touchesjacuzzi tuboff street parkingthird floorthe location is perfectbusiness and pleasurehappy hourhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I went to Southmoreland for a quiet stay after our wedding and it was everything we hoped it would be. The room we stayed in was clean, quaint, and well-decorated. The deck offered a nice view of the grounds. The staff was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The breakfast can't be beaten--absolutely delicious! I'd love to stay here again if I ever pass through Kansas City in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I just got back from staying at Southmoreland on the Plaza for our 5 year wedding anniversary. It it such a special and romantic place!

We stayed in the Clara and Russell Stover room, which we highly recommend! It is on the 3rd floor, has an amazing jacuzzi and private balcony (although the balcony is down the hall instead of attached directly to your room). The bed was very comfortable too. The whole Inn has a relaxing atmosphere.

The hosts were very hospitable and took time to show us around and give us tips on things to visit and show us where we were going on maps, even looking opening times up on the internet for us. They also let us keep some drinks in the refrigerator while we were out for dinner.

They also have lots of little goodies that we enjoyed - snacks at check in, cookies and hot drinks in the evening, a package of chocolate on the bed, and a wonderful breakfast on nice dishes in the morning.

The location of the Inn is perfect too. It is one block away from the Plaza and about one block away from the art museum. We were able to walk to both and, since it was raining, they even let us borrow umbrella from them.

Everything was beautiful and much more special than if we had stayed at a normal hotel. It was definitely a splurge with the price, but it was the most special anniversary trip we have had so far. This was our first B&B experience and I know we will be going this direction for future trips! We are highly recommending this to all of our friends!

Room Tip: The Clara and Russell Stover room was amazing! It has a large jacuzzi, nice bed, and balcony down the hall only for the use of people in that room. It is on the 3rd floor so we didn't have any issues with noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I visited Southmoreland recently for our anniversary. What a great place for a getaway! We truely enjoyed our fantastic hosts! In addition, this B&B is located within walking distance to the plaza on a quiet side street. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. Delicious home cooked breakfast awaited us each morning. We stayed in the Jacob Loose room on the second floor and enjoyed reading on the private balcony. This is an exceptionally well run B&B. You will not be disappointed booking a room with these great hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSRancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Southmoreland was the best B&B we've stayed in in Kansas City. The location is central to the city and within walking distance of the Plaza and Nelson Atkins (and many other things if you're willing to walk). Our room was nice and nicely kept. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and very creative.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dondejuann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at Southmoreland on the Plaza. We are experienced travelers, having stayed in every kind of accommodation in many countries. This inn is at the top of our list of places to stay. From check-in, with wine and hot snacks, through warm cookies at night to a gourmet breakfast, our only negative was that we had to leave to go home! :-). Excellent innkeepers make your stay personable, while respecting your privacy. This is the best place to stay in KC!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurieM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews