We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
193
27
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
27
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe nelson atkins museumporch swingdecanter of sherryart museumartichoke dipcookies and hot drinksturn down servicewalking distancelittle touchesjacuzzi tuboff street parkingthird floorthe location is perfectbusiness and pleasurehappy hourhome away from homebed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is where we are staying when we visit KC again. We arrived late on a Sunday night and were immediately upgraded to the William Nelson suite at no charge due to some AC issues. Quiet, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was fantastic. All for the same price, if not cheaper than some of the area hotels. A bonus- it was close to Jack Stacks BBQ. A can't miss, but I had to bring most of it home since I was still full from breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This stay was a wonderful gift from my son's family. I can't think of anything I would have enjoyed more. We chose the only room with two beds which was on the main floor. The room was comfortable with an oversized bathroom. It was close to the breakfast room that overlooked the gardens. Breakfast each morning was a culinary feast. Late afternoon wine & snacks could be enjoyed in the garden & bedtime snack was out when we returned in the evening. The hosts were gracious & welcoming & made the experience one to remember. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I just spent the weekend at the Southmoreland with my family to celebrate a wedding (mine, actually!) and I was so sorry to leave. My now-husband and I spent three nights in the Carriage House, which is a lovely and well-appointed suite, separate from the rest of the house. Our room was huge and very comfortable and had a lot of nice little touches, from a jacuzzi, a TV (usually don't see those at B&Bs) and complimentary apples and sherry (I believe all of the rooms had those).

Breakfast was served on the porch or on the deck every morning and it was DELICIOUS. The multi-course breakfasts were all basically gourmet and the portions were very generous. They also served wine and appetizers every evening and had fresh-baked cookies and coffee/tea available every evening from 9-11 pm. Needless to say, I need to go on a diet after my stay at the inn, but I was loving every second of it!

We held our wedding on the back deck and the venue was perfect (the awesome weather didn't hurt). The pretty arbor and flowers on the deck provided a great backdrop and the intimate setting was just what we were looking for. Nancy, the owner, provided lunch for our small group after the ceremony and was very flexible and accommodating to our schedule.

The location can't be beat--you are a short walk to the Art Museum and all of the shops and restaurants on the Plaza. When the weather isn't a million degrees, Kansas City is a great city to walk in, and the Southmoreland acts as a great home base for exploring the city.

The best part of our stay was the hospitality. Mark and Nancy and the rest of the staff were always SUPER friendly and helpful and you could tell that they always had their guests' needs in mind. The little touches like the snack fridge and the fresh cookies were what made this place stand out. The Southmoreland took what could have been a stressful event and made it carefree and picture-perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

If you are tired of hotels, this is for you. A Victorian home within easy walking distance of the Plaza in Kansas City. Breakfast is a multi-course affair served overlooking the terraced garden. A true hidden gem. We stayed in the Thomas Benton room which was a bit small, but had a lovely balcony, and adequate bathroom. Perfect for two people.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a chest of drawers but did have a large closet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agwelchkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Southmoreland on the Plaza. When I walked in the door it was hard not to say, "Honey I'm home!" It feels like a much nicer version of home. As a business traveler I treasure that feeling, as so any places feel so impersonal.

The staff always greets you warmly. We are reminded where the coffee and tea are and review the breakfast menu to be sure everything meets with our personal taste and diet requirements. Each room we have stayed in is beautifully appointed. None of the rooms are alike, they each have their own warm personality. The amenities in the room have been given careful consideration, plus extras...bowl of apples, flowers, robes, sherry. We return from dinner and the room has been turned down and there are freshly baked cookies waiting. You really have the feeling that the staff and owners alike care about your experience as a guest.

A+ for breakfast. It is a delicious, creative, gourmet, multiple-course breakfast. As a chef, Mark could easily be ranked up there with the best. We appreciate the fact we have an option about the time we can come down for breakfast. This accommodates both the business traveler and the vacationer. Individual tables are set up on the sun porch which eliminates the need to converse over breakfast with total strangers.

The location is perfect for our needs. The Plaza is a ten minute walk for shopping, movies and some wonderful restaurants. If you have some extra time and would like a touch of culture you can just walk ten minutes to the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.

Our trips to Kansas City are affiliated with our business. But our time spent at Southmoreland makes it feel a lot more like fun than business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews