We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing location near the Country Club Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Ranked #3 of 12 Kansas City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boonville, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing location near the Country Club Plaza”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Greeted by a lovely host, amazing and delicious breakfast, comfortable room and beautiful surroundings. We were walking distance to the plaza and art museums in a safe quiet neighborhood. The grounds were set up to sit, read, and relax as was the house. When we returned at night to cookies and coffee or tea to slip up to our beautiful room or relax on the outside deck to watch the stars was a perfect evening! We will return again. Thanks to the hosts for our stay in their lovely home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    25
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
19
132
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

To say that it is hard to know where to stay in a city that you know nothing about is difficult is an understatement. We were not sure on Southmoreland but I can only tell you after our stay is it was PERFECT!
Everyone who was staying there as well as our hosts were nice with no problem no noise, the air was cold plenty of hot water and the food was PERFECT!

If you live in KC you need to stay for the weekend if not.............Go to KC and stay at Southmoreland.

We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms look really nice but we wanted a balcony so we stayed on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is where we are staying when we visit KC again. We arrived late on a Sunday night and were immediately upgraded to the William Nelson suite at no charge due to some AC issues. Quiet, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was fantastic. All for the same price, if not cheaper than some of the area hotels. A bonus- it was close to Jack Stacks BBQ. A can't miss, but I had to bring most of it home since I was still full from breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This stay was a wonderful gift from my son's family. I can't think of anything I would have enjoyed more. We chose the only room with two beds which was on the main floor. The room was comfortable with an oversized bathroom. It was close to the breakfast room that overlooked the gardens. Breakfast each morning was a culinary feast. Late afternoon wine & snacks could be enjoyed in the garden & bedtime snack was out when we returned in the evening. The hosts were gracious & welcoming & made the experience one to remember. We would love to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I just spent the weekend at the Southmoreland with my family to celebrate a wedding (mine, actually!) and I was so sorry to leave. My now-husband and I spent three nights in the Carriage House, which is a lovely and well-appointed suite, separate from the rest of the house. Our room was huge and very comfortable and had a lot of nice little touches, from a jacuzzi, a TV (usually don't see those at B&Bs) and complimentary apples and sherry (I believe all of the rooms had those).

Breakfast was served on the porch or on the deck every morning and it was DELICIOUS. The multi-course breakfasts were all basically gourmet and the portions were very generous. They also served wine and appetizers every evening and had fresh-baked cookies and coffee/tea available every evening from 9-11 pm. Needless to say, I need to go on a diet after my stay at the inn, but I was loving every second of it!

We held our wedding on the back deck and the venue was perfect (the awesome weather didn't hurt). The pretty arbor and flowers on the deck provided a great backdrop and the intimate setting was just what we were looking for. Nancy, the owner, provided lunch for our small group after the ceremony and was very flexible and accommodating to our schedule.

The location can't be beat--you are a short walk to the Art Museum and all of the shops and restaurants on the Plaza. When the weather isn't a million degrees, Kansas City is a great city to walk in, and the Southmoreland acts as a great home base for exploring the city.

The best part of our stay was the hospitality. Mark and Nancy and the rest of the staff were always SUPER friendly and helpful and you could tell that they always had their guests' needs in mind. The little touches like the snack fridge and the fresh cookies were what made this place stand out. The Southmoreland took what could have been a stressful event and made it carefree and picture-perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

If you are tired of hotels, this is for you. A Victorian home within easy walking distance of the Plaza in Kansas City. Breakfast is a multi-course affair served overlooking the terraced garden. A true hidden gem. We stayed in the Thomas Benton room which was a bit small, but had a lovely balcony, and adequate bathroom. Perfect for two people.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a chest of drawers but did have a large closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agwelchkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Southmoreland on the Plaza. When I walked in the door it was hard not to say, "Honey I'm home!" It feels like a much nicer version of home. As a business traveler I treasure that feeling, as so any places feel so impersonal.

The staff always greets you warmly. We are reminded where the coffee and tea are and review the breakfast menu to be sure everything meets with our personal taste and diet requirements. Each room we have stayed in is beautifully appointed. None of the rooms are alike, they each have their own warm personality. The amenities in the room have been given careful consideration, plus extras...bowl of apples, flowers, robes, sherry. We return from dinner and the room has been turned down and there are freshly baked cookies waiting. You really have the feeling that the staff and owners alike care about your experience as a guest.

A+ for breakfast. It is a delicious, creative, gourmet, multiple-course breakfast. As a chef, Mark could easily be ranked up there with the best. We appreciate the fact we have an option about the time we can come down for breakfast. This accommodates both the business traveler and the vacationer. Individual tables are set up on the sun porch which eliminates the need to converse over breakfast with total strangers.

The location is perfect for our needs. The Plaza is a ten minute walk for shopping, movies and some wonderful restaurants. If you have some extra time and would like a touch of culture you can just walk ten minutes to the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.

Our trips to Kansas City are affiliated with our business. But our time spent at Southmoreland makes it feel a lot more like fun than business.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southmoreland on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmoreland on the Plaza

Property: Southmoreland on the Plaza
Address: 116 E 46th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southmoreland on the Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Southmoreland on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmoreland On The Plaza Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing