We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in Kansas City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Ranked #3 of 12 Kansas City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B in Kansas City”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We loved our 4 night stay at Southmoreland on the Plaza this week. We came to KC for a few baseball games (father-in-law is a die hard Dodger fan) and found the location to be an excellent choice for our mini vacation. We ended up renting a car at the airport since we decided to do a last minute day trip to St Louis, however, I initially chose this location for its close proximity to restaurants and shops and it was so lovely to be in walking distance to the Plaza area. I also chose this location since we usually do not like to stay at large hotels and we enjoyed the great customer service provided to us here. Nancy and Mark are gracious hosts and we felt they have a true passion in preserving the history and charm of their B&B. We started off each morning with a delicious gourmet breakfast and ended each evening with tea and fresh baked cookies. Our room was very comfortable with a charming patio area on the second floor and the bed extremely comfortable and inviting, especially after long days of exploring around the city. The gals they have working there were also very helpful and always greeted us with a smile. Thank you again Nancy and Mark for proving such a peaceful and relaxing Inn which made our stay a KC such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RxVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    25
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
19
129
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you're visiting Kansas City for work or pleasure, this is an excellent place to stay. It definitely surpassed my expectations. What a great get-away location with a unique balance of relaxation and entertainment near by. The location is perfect! The Inn is nestled amongst the trees and beautiful gardens. You can easily walk to the plaza, museums, and river area. The plaza is lovely with shopping, dining, music, fountains, carriage rides and more. The Inn itself is 100 years old, so it has wonderful charm with all the modern conveniences. The rooms are beautifully (and comfortably) decorated, with private balcony's overlooking the garden ... perfect for enjoying cup of coffee (or tea) and reading the morning paper. The dinning room and deck are cozy and comfortable with a fully equipped outdoor barbeque. Breakfast is included, along with wine and appetizers in the afternoons and warm cookies in the evenings. The food is VERY good and full of flavor. The owners and staff are warm and friendly and pay attention to all the details that make you feel relaxed and pampered. Overall it was a perfect weekend. Special thanks to the Innkeepers (Mark and Nancy) for making us feel at home. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I love staying at bed and breakfast inns (having stayed at 35 over the last 13 years) and Southmoreland is now in our top three. I booked our room because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. In fact, we plan to return next year.
Our innkeepers, Mark and Nancy, and there staff did everything right: from the welcoming at check-in and all of the amenities to the fantastic meals and happy hours. We even decided to buy their cookbook and two coffee mugs as a remembrance of our stay.
One other great thing about Southmoreland -- it is walking distance of Country Club Plaza with all of the shopping and restaurants and many culture sites, such as the Nelson-Atkins Museum.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We love B&B's and have stayed in many over the years...and this is our favorite. We have stayed at Southmoreland multiple times. The Inn has 12 rooms and a carriage house. All of the rooms are beautifully decorated in a theme, with wonderful beds, and full bathrooms. Many have covered balconies overlooking the big shade trees and gardens. The Inn includes a living room, dining room, open style kitchen and the breakfast room is lined with a wall of windows into the gardens. And on nice days a barbecue breakfast is served on a beautiful outdoor patio. I wake up in the morning,step out on our balcony to enjoy the start of the day, head down for tea or coffee, read the paper, and then enjoy a 4 star breakfast served with a smile. And then it's off to the Plaza for amazing shopping, fountains, outdoor entertainment, and great restaurants which is a easy walk away, or to many parks and museums all within minutes of the Inn. And back at the Inn in the afternoon for wine and appetizers, before heading out to a great KC restaurant for dinner or some KC barbecue and blues music. And finally warm homemade cookies before bed. KC is a wonderful city and Southmoreland is perfectly located. We want to thank the Innkeepers Mark and Nancy for all the great times we have spent in their lovely Inn.

Room Tip: Go to the website to view the rooms and their amenities. The balcony rooms are great. All rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My out-of-town guest stayed here and loved it. And now I want to spend a weekend there too. This is a tastefully remodeled old mansion located right off the Plaza so you can walk to the art galleries and to the Plaza and to many of Kansas City's finest restaurants. Distinctive rooms - many with balconies. Great food. Attentive staff. Amazing backyard garden and fountain. My friend said the sheets were the best she had experienced. All of this at a price that beats almost any standard hotel room. I am definitely a fan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saintgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've never stayed at a bed & breakfast this size before! Usually B&B's have two or three rooms but Southmoreland operates like a mini hotel. Everything is personalized, but there are other guests around and definitely more than three rooms!
My sister and I spent a night there when she was visiting me and we really enjoyed our stay. Our time there was too short to make use of our balcony (and the weather was chilly, still) but we loved the nautical theme of our room and all the other touches like the cookies, the elaborate breakfast and we loved everyone who works there!
They made the best hummus dip as an afternoon snack and always had plenty of clean glasses for water and cups set out for tea. Staying at Southmoreland was a real treat, I'd definitely recommend it to my friends!
Only minor complaint is the TINY/TIGHT parking lot. It took a lot of maneuvering to get the car in and out, and it seemed like other guests we met struggled with this issue too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatmahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wichita, kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We came up for a weekend visit with friends and had a wonderful time. The southmoreland is an absolute gem. Afternoon wine and appetizers, late night cookies and the best gourmet breakfast we have ever had. Rooms were wonderful and the friendliness of the staff was second to none.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chipdowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southmoreland on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmoreland on the Plaza

Property: Southmoreland on the Plaza
Address: 116 E 46th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southmoreland on the Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Southmoreland on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmoreland On The Plaza Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing