We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for the neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Disappointing for the neighborhood”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The location is great. I love that about this Sheraton. However, I must say I am disappointed. I am not one to nit pick and notice problems in hotels, but I noticed several problems during our stay. The "suites" are very small. Not a big deal if it is just two adults. The furniture in our room was damaged, the corner of the desk was missing and looked trashy. The coffee cups in our room had been used, presumably by the previous guest. Gross. Obvious coffee remnants in the cups. Decent place, but for the plaza I was disappointed, it certainly wasn't special.
Staff was very helpful and courteous. Clean comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was disappointed to read your experience at the hotel was not excellent. I do apologize for the items you mentioned that you encountered during your stay. The hotel housekeeping and maintenance staff usually do a very nice job getting the rooms ready for our guests and I will review these items with them so they can be corrected. We appreciate your business and hope to have you return to our hotel on a future visit to the Kansas City Country Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    233
    135
    72
    49
See reviews for
175
167
31
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Terrible, terrible. 1) billing issues. 2) room flooded for two days, hard to believe but it happened 3) rooms I stayed in are dated smell musty....more like a kennel. 3) perhaps the most frustrating thing was the managers attitude " whatever". 4) they must run some sort of promotions on weekends because the place gets loud and It is hard to sleep because of all the in room parties going on. While I was talking to people at the front desk there was a couple next to me complaining that they never got silverware with their room service and ate with their finger.

Terrible, worst placed I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza and sending your comments to Trip Advisor. I apologize for the issue you experienced with the condition of your room. I understand how inconvenient this can be to your family and for that I sincerely apologize. We appreciate your business and hope to have you return to our hotel on a future visit to the Kansas City Country Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Level 6 Contributor
857 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This was the fourth time staying here and while it's still better than average it's slipped just a bit. Only real negative other than broken glass in the pool they spent two days cleaning is the $15 parking a night. I don't think you can park across the street for free so that kind of stinks even with my spg card. Suites are nice and big enough and staff was all very friendly. Wasn't too crowded on a wed and thurs night and it was very quiet. We didn't notice anybody eating or drinking at the restaurant but we always enjoy Tom Fooleries which is the next block over. Great location on the plaza and walking distance to everything.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Banny9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I am glad you choose to stay at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza for your recent trip to Kansas City. It was good to read that you found our room accommodations to be nice and our staff to be friendly and helpful. It was nice to see you were able to take advantage of some of the many nice restaurants we have within walking distance of the hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to have you return as our guest on a future visit to the Kansas City County Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stay here only for pleasure and always enjoy it. We park in the underground lot, leave the car behind and walk to shopping and restaurants. Rooms are all suites with ample room to relax. I have to say that our room this last stay was not as clean as we would have liked (carpet was stained) but we really like this hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful. Starbucks coffee is complementary in the lobby in the morning. Views are great from the room.

Room Tip: Get a higher up floor for the best view from your room. Ask for a room away from the elevators for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. It was good to read you had a very nice experience at our hotel and everything was comfortable during your stay. We have a very friendly staff who strive to take care of our guests and I am glad they delivered that level of service to you. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Valley, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed for three weeks on a business trip and was impressed by just about everything. The building was easy to find and located within easy walking distance of numerous good restaurants, shopping, parks, museums and street corner jazz bands.
The Sheraton was nice and had many services for the guests available such as underground parking, swimming pool, Breakfast/evening appetizers, newspapers, coffee and of course friendly and knowledgable staff.
I would also make a good review on their restaurants cuisine and a great review of the Bartender named Tara for her attentiveness, knowledge, patience and killer Martinis.
Without a doubt I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably equally great and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireMNDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza and sending feedback on your stay. It was good to read you had a good experience at our hotel. The hotel staff strive to deliver an excellent guest experience to all of our guests and I was glad to read they did a good job of delivering that experience to you. Tara does a great job at the hotel and I am glad she was able to provide great service to you during your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return to our hotel on a future visit to Kansas City. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I had our Valentine's Day weekend here. We'd been to the plaza many times and always wanted to stay at the Sheraton. From the outside the place looks nice, but our room was outdated and small. We had a king suite. We also were excited for some pool time, but the pool was dirty and the hot tub was very old, it worked, just wasn't at all what we were expecting after what we paid for it. The next time we were at the plaza we stayed at the Marriott and had a great view and a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was disappointed to read your experience at the hotel was not excellent. I do apologize for the items you mentioned that you encountered during your stay. I fully understand how your experience can be negatively impacted when the room and pool condition is not as expected and for this I do apologize. We appreciate your business and hope to have you return to our hotel on a future visit to the Kansas City Country Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

OK, we had one incident with the hotel. We left at 8 in the morning, came back at 5 and our room was not made up. I called guest services and was told by the young woman answering "not to raise my voice with her" and she hung up. I didn't raise my voice so that made me mad. Eventually after more phone calls our room was made.
The rooms themselves are nice, clean and large. We were on the top, the 18th floor and had a nice view facing west. We didn't use the microwave or coffee maker in the room, but we did use the fridge. Wireless access was strong throughout the room.
You will have to pay $15 a night to park your car, unless you want to park across the street in the free Plaza parking or on the street a few blocks away.
The bed was large, soft and great to sleep in. The room was totally quiet with absolute blackout curtains if you need to avoid that horrid morning sunshine/hangover combo.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ per night if you are staying a few days so that you will have access to the club lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza and sending feedback on your stay. It was good to read you had a good experience at our hotel. The hotel staff strive to deliver an excellent guest experience to all of our guests and I was glad to read they did a good job of delivering that experience to you and your family. Sorry about the late cleaning of your room one day. I was glad to read they did get it cleaned for you quickly upon your request. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return to our hotel on a future visit to Kansas City. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza

Property: Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Address: 770 W 47th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1802 (Formerly Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Country Club Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites at Country Club Plaza is minutes from Sprint Center, Power & Light District, Kansas Speedway and the Kansas City Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Hotel Country Plaza
Sheraton Kansas City
Sheraton Country Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing