We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marine Corps Retirement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marine Corps Retirement”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great service and accommodations. A fabulous family weekend in a fun area. We rented a room on the third floor after the ceremony and had a great party.......Thanks to Jeri for all the help! We recommend to everyone coming to the KC area.

Greg

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. It was good to read you had a very nice experience at our hotel and everything was comfortable during your stay. We have a very friendly staff who strive to take care of our guests and I am glad they delivered that level of service to you. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    226
    132
    72
    49
See reviews for
171
163
30
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Upon arrival I was greeted with a smile and informed my room was upgraded. This is just what I need ed I could stay here a month and it wouldn't be long enough the staff was really nice especially Dexter

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for sending the positive feedback to Trip Advisor on your recent stay at the Sheraton Suites in Kansas City. It was good to read the staff did a good job of taking care of you during your stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on a future visit to Kansas City. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. While a bit pricey for this hotel class, we found it to be well worth the value to stay right on the plaza. I have stayed here on a couple of occasions, and neither time spent much time in the room. The rooms seemed to be going through a bit of an updating transition. While there were beautiful granite counters in the bathroom there was also old caulking in the bath surround. While there were two very large flat screen tv's, there was heavily scratched up furniture legs. The luxurious beds were wonderfully plush and comfy, but the dated drapery had stains on them. For every great aspect in the room, there seemed to be a counter point that left you wondering how long before the update would be completed. All the rooms are small suites with a small refrigerator, private bedroom and pull out couch which is super nice for families.

I believe this is the only hotel that is truly situated on the Plaza, from the minute you walk out the front door. All the others are a few blocks from the Plaza. Obviously, if you are reading this review, you are probably planning to spend considerable time shopping and/or dining on the Plaza. Many times this hotel offers specials for Plaza-goers - check their website under the offers link. Many of their specials include free valet parking ($20 value) as well as gift cards to be used at Plaza shops and restaurants. Sometimes these specials are much more valuable, and cheaper than booking a standard room through any of the travel sites.

The hotel also has a great fantastic indoor/outdoor pool separated by a movable glass wall and a hot tub. While the hot tub is very conformable, it is walled off in the back pool area. If you have a family, it would be difficult to watch your kids playing in the pool while enjoying the hot tub - your views of the pool are limited. The Sheraton also has a great little restaurant/lounge called the Gallery. I have had breakfast there in the past, however, on this occasion, we had appetizers in the lounge. If you are a calamari fan, do try it. We have had calamari at some of the finest seafood restaurants, but none compared to the calamari we had here! We also had the buffalo wings which were very good as well, but had a substantial zing to them. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when planning a weekend around the Plaza.

First time to the Plaza, here are a few can't miss stops.
Snacky? Topsy's popcorn for cheese & caramel mix and a cherry limeade.
Old Fashioned Burgers and malts? Try Winstead's just a couple of steps off the Plaza on 47th Street
Happy hour? Brio Tuscan Grill 2nd floor outdoor overlook deck
Late Night Entertainment? O'dowd's Little Dublin for live cover bands or DJ's (cover charge may be applicable)
Finest Dining? Plaza III Steakhouse - make sure to try the bleu cheese dressing......wow
Best fountain? Check out the JC Nichols Memorial fountain across the street from PF Changs.

Room Tip: I would suggest an eastern facing room that looks out over the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I am glad you choose to stay at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza for your recent trip to Kansas City. It was good to read that you found our room accommodations to be nice and our staff to be friendly and helpful. It was nice to see you were able to take advantage of some of the many nice restaurants we have within walking distance of the hotel. We have a great hotel in a great location on the Country Club Plaza and I am glad you had a great experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to have you return as our guest on a future visit to the Kansas City County Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The location is great. I love that about this Sheraton. However, I must say I am disappointed. I am not one to nit pick and notice problems in hotels, but I noticed several problems during our stay. The "suites" are very small. Not a big deal if it is just two adults. The furniture in our room was damaged, the corner of the desk was missing and looked trashy. The coffee cups in our room had been used, presumably by the previous guest. Gross. Obvious coffee remnants in the cups. Decent place, but for the plaza I was disappointed, it certainly wasn't special.
Staff was very helpful and courteous. Clean comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was disappointed to read your experience at the hotel was not excellent. I do apologize for the items you mentioned that you encountered during your stay. The hotel housekeeping and maintenance staff usually do a very nice job getting the rooms ready for our guests and I will review these items with them so they can be corrected. We appreciate your business and hope to have you return to our hotel on a future visit to the Kansas City Country Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Terrible, terrible. 1) billing issues. 2) room flooded for two days, hard to believe but it happened 3) rooms I stayed in are dated smell musty....more like a kennel. 3) perhaps the most frustrating thing was the managers attitude " whatever". 4) they must run some sort of promotions on weekends because the place gets loud and It is hard to sleep because of all the in room parties going on. While I was talking to people at the front desk there was a couple next to me complaining that they never got silverware with their room service and ate with their finger.

Terrible, worst placed I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza and sending your comments to Trip Advisor. I apologize for the issue you experienced with the condition of your room. I understand how inconvenient this can be to your family and for that I sincerely apologize. We appreciate your business and hope to have you return to our hotel on a future visit to the Kansas City Country Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Level Contributor
830 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This was the fourth time staying here and while it's still better than average it's slipped just a bit. Only real negative other than broken glass in the pool they spent two days cleaning is the $15 parking a night. I don't think you can park across the street for free so that kind of stinks even with my spg card. Suites are nice and big enough and staff was all very friendly. Wasn't too crowded on a wed and thurs night and it was very quiet. We didn't notice anybody eating or drinking at the restaurant but we always enjoy Tom Fooleries which is the next block over. Great location on the plaza and walking distance to everything.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Banny9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I am glad you choose to stay at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza for your recent trip to Kansas City. It was good to read that you found our room accommodations to be nice and our staff to be friendly and helpful. It was nice to see you were able to take advantage of some of the many nice restaurants we have within walking distance of the hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to have you return as our guest on a future visit to the Kansas City County Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stay here only for pleasure and always enjoy it. We park in the underground lot, leave the car behind and walk to shopping and restaurants. Rooms are all suites with ample room to relax. I have to say that our room this last stay was not as clean as we would have liked (carpet was stained) but we really like this hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful. Starbucks coffee is complementary in the lobby in the morning. Views are great from the room.

Room Tip: Get a higher up floor for the best view from your room. Ask for a room away from the elevators for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. It was good to read you had a very nice experience at our hotel and everything was comfortable during your stay. We have a very friendly staff who strive to take care of our guests and I am glad they delivered that level of service to you. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.6 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza

Property: Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Address: 770 W 47th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1802 (Formerly Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Country Club Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites at Country Club Plaza is minutes from Sprint Center, Power & Light District, Kansas Speedway and the Kansas City Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Hotel Country Plaza
Sheraton Kansas City
Sheraton Country Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing