We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mexican plaza meets gingerbread house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mexican plaza meets gingerbread house”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I stayd here two nights in mid October 2011. The hotel is classic atrium-style 15 stories but with a novel approach to internal architecture: think Hansel and Gretel in a Mexican Plaza without the witch and the wood stove. The hotel is really quite nice once you get paste the 'icing' that is really mortar painted yellow beside the elevator landings. Somebody had fun with the interior decorating here!

In all seriousness, I enjoyed my stay, the breakfast is great, the staff are uniformly well-trained to be attentive and friendly and welcoming and I have almost no complaints. The two would be the 'musty' smell that went with the air conditioning unit in my room, and the horridly slow 'high-speed' intrnet I was charged $9.95 per day to use. If t was free I might not complain but since they charge extra they ought to make sure it beats my old 28 kbps model. The space was very nice and I would definitely stay here again but perhaps not pay for the internet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    425
    349
    224
    149
See reviews for
615
297
43
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed here for one night on business, Embassy Suites is one of my favorites. The staff was great, from the front desk to the happy hour. The place desparately needs renovation, so it is hard to criticize them for the chipped furnture, wearing paint, cracked walls, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffadamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My family and I took a little vacation in Kansas City. We stayed at the Embassy Suites - Plaza. Our stay was wonderful. Our children loved the pool. The staff was wonderful. The breakfast....delicious!!!

It was all great

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EOSSTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We travel to Kansas City almost every year for a tennis tournament and always stay at this hotel. It's close enough to the Plaza to walk (about 10 minutes) and just far enough away for some privacy.

There is a new parking system that only guests (you use a card key) can park which has greatly improved available parking since last year.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakast is the usual Embassy type (omelets, eggs, bacon, potatoes, ect) and is very tasty. We are usually gone during the Manager's Reception.

The rooms are very spacious. There is a seperate living room with a TV, refridgerator, microwave and the bedroom area is farily large too. Clean and well maintained.

This is always our go-to hotel when we visit Kansas City!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The Plaza Embassy Suites hold true to standards for the Hilton owned hotels. It is clean, nicely decorated and has a fantastic breakfast staff.

Check in was smooth & fast.

Room was comfortable, fashionably decorated and clean. Water was HOT, which is nice because many times in a hotel, it doesn't get hot enough for my preference.

Parking, $10 for self-park, $15 for valet, was available both outside & in an underground parking garage. Plenty of spaces were available on the Friday nite of our stay.

The breakfast line moved quickly and the selection was typical. We had no trouble finding a table.

Walk to the plaza is 4 blocks downhill, and shuttle service is available.

We will stay at this property again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This Embassy Suites lives up to my expectations as a good hotel for travelers. Rooms large and quite. Breakfast very good. The managers special in the evening (free happy hour) should not be missed. Close to the plaza and lots of good restaurants and shops for evening walking.

Room Tip: Pick a high room since it is close to street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

room is so nice-has a seperate liv rom with tv & xbox..door to the bedroom with another tv..granite countertops..wonderful cooked to order breakfast with the friendliest worker cleaning up the area. Then free drinks from 5;30-7:30...great location to the Plaza & they have a shuttle to Plaza, so you can eat/drink & be driven!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redstapler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing