We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wondeful friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wondeful friendly staff!”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Embassy Suites Plaza in Kansas City was a comfortable, attractive hotel in a great location 2 blocks from Westport, a fun, funky neighborhood with independently owned shops and ethnic restaurants-exactly the neighborhood I look for in every city. The pool and hot tub area was lovely-I never made it to the pool-and the free cooked-to-order breakfast was great. They also have a complimentary happy hour at the hotel bar, and give you tickets for free drinks upon check-in. Everything about this hotel was terrific, but the really outsanding thing was the staff. I have never stayed anywhere where all of the staff were friendly, kind, funny, and really made you feel at home. Especially the woman with the long blonde hair at breakfast and who took care of our meeting room-she went way above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Embassy Suites is lucky to have such a fabulous staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kettsrebellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    425
    349
    224
    149
See reviews for
615
297
43
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
151 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is typical Embassy Suites, which if you are not familiar, is an rather upscale chain hotel with largish rooms equipped with a separate living/cooking/dining area. They sleep three adults or a family comfortably, with the plus that you can close the door between the living area/sleeping area in case someone wants to stay up late and work or watch TV or something. This one is near to the very cool Kansas City Plaza, which is nice if you are here on business and have an evening to kill or something; walking about feels safe because there are a lot of people milling around. The free breakfast here is great, and what is really great is one of the hosts, Byron. Byron was polite, attentive, interested in the guests, and funny, without being intrusive or overbearing. Minus side: They charge ten bucks a day for parking. There is free covered parking a few blocks away at the Plaza.

Room Tip: Park for free at the plaza and walk over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistorianMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I recently stayed at this ES. The decor is a little dated. The rooms seems dark (especially the bathroom). There were some strange things like the bathroom tub plug being on the tub rather than in the drain. I tried to put it in, but it was broken. The bed was comfortable.

Like all ES rooms, it was spacious. The television selections were good. The wireless was slow. It was difficult to log in remotely and work because of the speed.

I had room service for dinner and it was good.

I have to say that the front desk employees were very good. The valet service was very good.

I would stay there again due to the proximity to downtown. I felt like the price was right for what I got.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEOKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I found myself at this hotel for a business seminar. It was clean, the food was pretty good, and it was in close walking distance to a lot of shopping and great places to eat. At the seminar we had a dinner buffet, and it was great. I wouldn't have a problem if we had another seminar at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
252 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Nice place to stay, good rooms, clean, no problems, I would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksprenger111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, ne
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A group of friends went to Kansas City last weekend to go to World of Fun, which was great--but coming home to the hotel room was NOT they way to end the evening. We did a cash deposit for incidentals, and the next morning we got a call accusing us of not paying! (mind you, we did not book through 3rd party, and we are Hiton Honors Members) The Mananger on Duty was very friendly and apologetic however, when we went to the front desk to address the issue. They did resolve the matter. Breakfast was alright, dishes we NOT clean and my coffee tasted like syrup. I would assume this would be due to a bad dishwasher.
But all in all, the breakfast tasted alright. But WAY too many people, we had to walk all the way across the atrium to find a table to eat. Maybe they should look into more seating.

OKAY, now let's talk about the room. 3 lamps, all of which did not work. There was mold EVERWHERE on the celing. The couch look like it had been stabbed with a knife. There was a rip in our curtins(letting in quite a bit of light). Only ONE of our outlets worked. NOT IMPRESSED. Disgusted, really.

To sum up my review, if you're okay with average hotel rooms and bad customer service, go right ahead.

Suggestions: Rennovation, more seating in breakfast area, new staff.

P.s don't bother signing up for Hilton Honors, it doesn't do anything for you. Not even Morning beverage delivery or free WIFI! What a joke.

Room Tip: Be as far away from the smoking floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayeKnowsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
1,262 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,705 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I found my three nights at the Embassy Suites Kansas City - Plaza to be enjoyable. The air conditioning worked well, the members of the staff were attentive and friendly with an "aim to please" attitude, the complementary breakfast was excellent, the manager's reception each evening was a nice touch, and the free shuttle to sites within a 2 to 2.5 mile radius was a bonus. While the rooms are beginning to show some wear, they were clean and functional. A fee is charged for in-room wifi, but the hotel has a free business center. I would return to this hotel should I visit Kansas City again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing