We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Places to stay for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #35 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Kansas City, MO
1 review
“Better Places to stay for the money”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Its a carnival atmosphere with little promise of a modern hotel stay. This review needs 200 characters so my review is complete in the first sentence any further notation is a further waste of time to book a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Terrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    437
    367
    241
    160
See reviews for
655
307
46
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family was treated like crap we visit this hotel for years I'm a honor member aswell be I want be back my family and I was visiting the hotel and got in the line for breakfast when a manager came up to us and advised "u people"meaning us black people can't came in here off the streets and eat breakfast for free ....he didn't ask if I had a room was very loud and rude and had all the other guest looking at me and my family strange.. other employees were making jokes making me and my family feel uncomfortable...after I told the manager I have two rooms here he was still rude never apologized I even asked for his name and he just walk pass me and say hold on I'll tell u when I'm ready and then walked by and said it under his breath..bottom line I will never go back I've been going to this hotel suites for years but the way me and my family was treated with no apologize was never hurtful do to the fact I'm a guest like everybody else and should be treated that way....black people can stay on the Plaza too....I will never go back again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ammris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Good afternoon

I hope that the individual your daughter's were visiting that morning at the hospital is doing better. I did speak to you at length that sunday in January and The staff member was counseled on his inappropriate behavior. I apologize that this still is upsetting to you 7 months later. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

wichita, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at KC Embassy and will definately stay again. My son loves to pool and the made to order omlets are wonderful at breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance to the Plaza for shopping and dining. I have also stayed at Embassy in Phoenix for business many times and love the hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I would not stay here again!!
we arrive and the police are arresting someone in the front of the hotel.
Noisy with the hospital close by.
The next morning we get up and look out the window and our grandson says the the wall is falling apart. A lot of water damage to the wall and window/door.
Being a Diamond member you would thing they would have put me in a nicer room or was this one of there nice rooms?
Breakfast should have been skipped.
Lastly while nibbling at the breakfast the Orkin man walks past everyone with his big spray canister. Not what any guest in a hotel wants to see!
The pool was a bright spot! nice
Please spend some money to fix up your hotel!

Room Tip: don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 747robertk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Good afternoon Robert K

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with the guests of trip Advisor. I apologize for the disappointments you encountered during your stay with your arrival, and your guest room. You are correct and I apologize for our staff falling short with our best guest, a Hilton Diamond member. Again, thank you for staying with us and I apologize for the disappointments during your stay you had with us. Lastly, thank you also for your patronage of our Hotels.

Scott Woidela
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
1,467 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is kind of your above average Embassy a Suites Hotel. The breakfast is very very good. The rooms seem to have been redone nice last time I was here and the rooms are very clean. it is only a short walk to the Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Good afternoon Emil T

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and your recent stay with us. I was happy to see that you noticed the recent changes we have made since your last stay. I was also happy that you found the Hotel and the amenities to your liking and you took advantage of these during your stay. Thanks again for your kind words and for taking the time to share your stay on Trip Advisor

Scott Woidela
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The only decent part about this hotel was the complimentary breakfast, the cooks and the clean-up at breakfast. Everything else fell below expectations for an Embassy Suites. Housekeeping, evening reception, laundry and vending are were terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Angeline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Angeline Z

I responded to your survey from the Hotel website last night and did not want to further irritate or upset you about your recent stay with us discussing this with you further. Please note that we did discuss your review this afternoon and I also spoke to the valet manager about the parking issue. There was no excuse for the valet staff not to offer to valet your car at the self parking rate as our lot was full. Moreover although most guest’s do like to season their own Bloody Mary’s, the bar staff should have graciously offered to season the Bloody Mary for your lovely Aunt. Thank you for sharing your review with the guests of Trip Advisor. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced with the Cramped Bathrooms and Breakfast areas. This time of year we are very popular with Families and that is why the breakfast areas may have been cramped in your eyes. Again, thank you for staying with us and I apologize for the disappointments during your stay you had with us
Scott Woidela
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Convenient location and friendly staff but smaller than normal bathroom in our suite. And breakfast area extremely cramped.
When traveling with children, I prefer Embassy bc of the consistent service and features. However, I may stay elsewhere next time in KC if no kids with me.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrixfootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear HendrixFootball

Thank you for sharing your review with the guests of Trip Advisor. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced with the Cramped Bathrooms and Breakfast areas. This time of year we are very popular with Families and that is why the breakfast areas may have been cramped in your eyes. Again, thank you for staying with us and I apologize for the disappointments during your stay you had with us. Lastly, thank you also for your patronage of our Hotels

Scott Woidela
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 108 in Kansas City
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing