We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded all of my expectations. Not only was the location grand but the service was well above what I expected for the price. They treated my family and I as if we were at a five star hotel in Hollywood or somewhere, it really felt like a home away from from. The staff was wonderful and one member in particular named Ramon went above and beyond to satisfy my families every need. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great price with outstanding customer service!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We appreciate your lovely comments. We tell Ramon you mentioned his customer service! He does love the guests and will do what eer he can to make sure your stay is what you want. Thank you again, hopefully you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Let me preface this by saying that I'm a diehard Hampton Inn fan. I went with this hotel because they offered a complimentary shuttle to the concert were were attending. Well, I am most definitely still a Hampton Inn fan.
The hotel was decent, with a nice back patio. The room was large and clean, but smelled heavily of urine. The bed and pillows were comfy. The shower head was tall, but there wasn't a holder for the toilet paper.
The staircase is cement, dirty, and stinky.
There was a wonderful variety of foods at breakfast. Most were tasty, but the hash browns and monkey bread were way crunchier than they should be.
At check-in, we debated between the 6:15 or 7pm shuttle. We wanted to arrive at the venue at 7, but we chose the 7pm shuttle. They put our name, room number, and cell number on the 1st 2 slots of the 7pm list. We got to the lobby at 7:00, maybe 7:01 at the latest. The shuttle had left us! We assumed they asked for my cell number so they could call us if needed. We had to wait 30 minutes for it to return. The shuttle driver was very nice and apologized. She said she would have come back for us if the front desk had only let her know there were 2 more passengers. We got there and back safely, so it wasn't a big deal in the whole scheme of things, but I thought it was quite crummy customer service by the front desk.

Room Tip: only book 216 if you enjoy the aroma of urine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clickheelsngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We apologize for the chaos over the weekend you were with us. We want you to know the shuttle was in much demand over this particular weekend due to a large outdoor concert in town. However,this is no excuse for the driver not attending to your requests. That paricular weekend we were also installing new vanities in all of the guest rooms. When some of the plumbing was disconnected there was a particularly unpleasant odor. Your guest room was a room that was somhow affected by this and we do so apologize. Hopefully, you did bring it to the staff's attention so we could rectify the situation. We are again so sorry we did not provide you with the stay you deserved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel about a year and a half ago and it was great. Stayed there again this last weekend and it has gone way downhill. The bed we had was harder then the carpet. The room smelled and had stains on the carpet, the TV didn't work, and it's not in a very good part of town! I feel like I waisted my money staying here and will never give best western my business again after this trip! 3 Star hotel thats really a 1 star hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfer_waldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We are so very sorry you had an unpleasant stay with us! We strive to make sure all of our guests are satisfied and we apologize we did not do that for you. You were on property when we were installing all new bathroom vanities and we must admit there was some chaos. However, the beds are only 11/2 years old. Usually, they get less supportive. We will check on the bed in that guest room and see the status of wear. We are sorry you feel the property has diminished from a year ago. We have been making improvements over the last year with the addition of a larger breakfast room and an added entertaining/meeting room. We added a new back patio wih comfy couchs and chairs. New lamps and Kuerig coffee makers in the spa rooms. And as of a few weeks ago our new granite top vanities in every guest room. We again apologize you were not satified, and hope you have safe travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

WE chose the Best Western because of its' location in Kansas City. The service by the staff was excellent. It had a great rate. It was close to all of the sites we wanted to see, and was in walking distance to local shopping. It was in an area that we were able to walk around each day for exercise

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JOE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We want to thank you for taking your valuable time to tell us about your stay. As you have said, we are very accessible to most of the sites and activities in the metro area. This time of year the walk to the Plaza is beautiful! If you take the path through the park across the street from us you can utilize the exercise stations along the route and you end up at the gorgous horse fountain on the Plaza. We appreciate your kind words about our property and hope when you return to KC we will be seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The Staff was very friendly and welcoming from the front desk to the house keepers. We felt as we were the primary concern. What really surprised me was the room. It was huge and there was plenty of room for a family of five. We had a double queen bed with enough room for a portable crib and to still be able to walk around without stepping on one another. So many rooms I have stayed in don't have space to move. Additionally the room was clean and appealing. The breakfast was a good start to the day, far above many hotel breakfasts that I have eaten over the years.

This Hotel is close to many of the downtown sights, WW1 Museum, crown center, union station, shopping and eating establishments. It was also a short driver to Kauffman Stadium. Across the street is a nice clean park with a running track that I wish I had known about when we checked in.,

I had read some concerning reviews after my wife booked the hotel but we were very pleased and will definitely stay here again if we are in KC.

Room Tip: Our corner room was roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with your family! Our guest rooms are very spacious,
the double Queen rooms are over 400 sq. ft.. We are sorry that you were not aware of the park across the street that has a walking/ jogging path to the Plaza. Many guests really enjoy that walk to the Plaza. We are very close to most of the attractions in KC. So guests appreciate that proximity. We will let our breakfast attendant know you enjoyed the choices on the breakfast buffet.
We are pleased you will be returning to us on your next KC trip. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel offered great location and comfort as our home base for visiting friends in KC. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast had fresh scrambled eggs and sausages, plus cereal, toast, bagels, juice, milk and some other hot baked items. Location is ideal for visiting the Plaza and art museums. Easy parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank EmilyV280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We realize everyone's time is valuable so, it means a lot to us that you took the time to talk about your stay with us! We will notify the breakfast attendant that you enjoyed the variety of choices on our complimentary breakfast buffet. It's so nice to know you also found us convenient to your friends and to so many of the sights you wanted to see. We hope when you return to visit your friends you will stay with us, and become part of our family of guests that we know by name!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at this place on May 23, 2014. Our room was on the second floor. As soon as we got off the elevator, we noticed an awful smell (sewer). Our room smelled even worse. We were late for a wedding, so we got ready and left as fast as we could. When we came back, all tired, we notified the desk and were told there was only one more room available two doors down on the same hallway. As I said, the whole hallway smelled awful. We didn't feel like repacking everything and going two doors down. So we spent the night in the same room and left as soon as we could in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Fereshteh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Oh my goodness! We are so very sorry you had this experience! We have investigated and it seems there was a mainteinence issue with plumbing on that particular floor. It has since been resolved. Again we are so sorry and we can understand your frustration. We have notified your reservation point of origin and your reservation and stay will be removed. We cannot tell you enough how sorry we are and that we did not provide you with the stay you deserved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#26 of 109 in Kansas City
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel

Address: 4309 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £86 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel we are a smaller, boutique-like property that is very guest oriented. As a repeat winner of Trip Advisors Award of Excellence we are located within Kansas City's dining and entertainment districts. Close to a variety of restaurants and premium shopping on the Country Club Plaza. The world-class art of the Nelson-Atkins museum and the Kemper Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance. Convenient to many of Kansas City's other premier attractions, such as Union Station, the Power and Light District, and City Market and the famous Westport area. Fridays and Saturdays we offer a complimentary shuttle service from 4pm to midnight that can take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Our friendly staff is happy to give you a variety of great dining and entertainment suggestions or answer any questions that you may have during your stay. We are a 100% smoke-free, dog-friendly property. Guests will enjoy our upgraded amenities, in-room refrigerators, free on-site parking. Ask about our inroom 2 person spas, the only ones on the Plaza. We are also proud to offer free full, hot breakfasts, 24-hour fitness and business centers, and free wireless internet. We look forward to seeing you, enjoy your stay. And always, let us know how we can make the time you spend with us enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kansas City
Kansas City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing