We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, but not really.”
Review of 816 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
816 Hotel
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a Holiday Inn so don't be misled by thinking it is a new facility. That said, it is fine, with an excellent staff. But the regular rooms simply have been refurbished a bit so they show signs of their age. And you do share a parking lot with a bar/restaurant next door, which seems a bit odd. Of course, a short walk and you are in the heart of Westport. (For those into food, breakfast was great, as was the coffee.)

Room Tip: If you face the street, it can be a tad noisy with motorcycles, loud mufflers, etc. Nothing terribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Larry, thanks for the note. We have been challenged in how to explain the 816. Yes it is a conversion from a Holiday Inn Express, but the 816 is a new venture. The monicker on tripadvisor explains this is the former HI Express Westport but we will try to come up with another description to better explain a new venture. Please come back when ALL the work is completed...likely in a couple of weeks. And be sure to call us and ask for the repeat guest rate...our lowest rate available anywhere. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I was born and raised in the Kansas City area. I read articles and saw news stories about this new hotel so I had to check it out. We did a "staycation" over the holiday weekend and we are so glad we did. The hotel gives you the true feeling of being in Kansas City. The pictures are so beautiful. It really made me proud of our city to see it like this. I didn't stay in a themed room but there were still huge pictures in my room of the Country Club Plaza in the early years. I will stay again but next time I am going for a themed room.

The night we checked in, there was the aroma of fresh baked cookies. My kids loved getting a warm cookie from the clerk. She was sweet and helpful .

There is free breakfast with your stay and Rochelle was so friendly and helped my family with pancakes in the pancake machine. She constantly had a smile and was helpful to all.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who lives here as well as travelers. I want people to see Kansas City and our history and love it like I do. I think 816 Hotel is just the place to make that happen.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for the note. Yes we love the cookies too but unfortunately, our waistline may disagree. Next tie you are with the family, you may want to check out the ZOO room (with bunk beds). Very cool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a "cool" room! Kansas City Zoo has decorated the room with PENGUINS! A huge mural of nesting king penguins in Antarctica sets the mood along with fun accessories and icicles on the wall. The king size headboard is a cool, blue iceberg! The room even has bunk beds for the kids with penguins diving from the top. Overall this room is great for penguin fans and families. For the adults try the penguin themed cocktail down at the bar!

Room Tip: The Kansas City Zoo Penguin themed room is a must for families with children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for the note. Starting in a week, the Zoo room will come with a KC Zoo Penguin pack that includes tickets and other goodies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I love the 816 Hotel! The staff is Awesome and very helpful. I stayed in the TWA theme room ,Wow what memories this TWA Theme Room brought back.Loved the framed lifevest over the toilet and the TWA Airplane Mural on the large wall.Hotel is comfortable and clean, great king size bed.Check out the very cool bar in the lobby .I would definitley stay at the 816 Hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose one of the theme rooms they are so cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

The TWA is special in many way. Starting June 9th, guests in this room will receive free tickets to the TWA Museum and a TWA/816 coffee mug (to enjoy your roasterie coffee in).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The TWA room is a must see. A lot of thought went into the design of the room which features passenger seats, an airline beverage cart and several other bits of TWA memorabilia. I have not tried the new breakfast items but have only heard positive comments about it. I also commend the entire staff for their friendliness and professionalism. Be sure to try the TWA specialty drink, the Bocci Ball. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is completely renovated with several themed rooms, The Kansas City Star room is really cool with historic front pages on the wall's and a mural featuring early early photos. They brought in newspaper racks to use as nightstands! Very clever. The room is spacious and unique. Very fun way to spend a stay-cation or business trip! Staff is very efficient and very helpful! Great bar!

Room Tip: The KC Star room is a Kansas City historical treat!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Kim, thanks for the note. We love the KC STAR room and the portion of the wall mural that shows a STAR employee offering Ernest Hemingway employment at $60/month. Next time you need a room, be sure to call us and ask for the repeat guest rate...our lowest rate available anywhere. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Claudette was so friendly and helpful,TJ & Sarah gave great service at the bar, and Rochelle made a fantastic omelet for me in the morning. I loved the unique KC themed décor and the freshly baked cookies :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Kansas City Westport
AC Hotel Kansas City Westport
#27 of 109 in Kansas City
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#45 of 109 in Kansas City
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
9.7 mi away
Ramada Kansas City
Ramada Kansas City
#78 of 109 in Kansas City
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 816 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 816 Hotel

Address: 801 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111-3144 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Kansas City - Westport Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £63 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 816 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Kansas City's only hotel dedicated to the past and present of the Paris of the Plains.   The 816 Hotel offers the BEST location in all of Kansas City...in the heart of Westport.  There are over 170 shops, restaurants and nightlife within a 5 block radius of the hotel. 6 blocks to our South is the Country Club Plaza and 30 blocks to our North Sprint Center and Power and Light Entertainment District. All of this is at your disposal with our complimentary shuttle service. Check into the 816, and tuck your keys away. Enjoy the best of KC without the hassle of driving and paying to park. Every guest of the 816 Hotel will enjoy the following amenities: * Free Breakfast including a made to order Omelet station * Nightly Manager's Cocktail Reception   * Free shuttle service in a 4 mile radius  * KC;s fastest (and free) hotel Wi-Fi * Free parking * Free passes to Gold's Gym (2 blocks to our East) We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 816 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kansas City - Westport Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing