We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS HOTEL!!”
Review of 816 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
816 Hotel
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Great service and staff. We really enjoyed the themed "KC" rooms and wallpaper throughout the hotel. I also love the location. We had a complimentary drink at the bar and our bartender was polite and friendly. This hotel really knows how to take care of their guests. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for the note Anna. We have a few kinks to work out but one thing is for sure, we want every guest to feel good when they check out. Also, remember to use our repeat guest rate next time you are in town. Simply call us for the lowest rate we have!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wow... really neat hotel with the Kansas City themes and history. Did a "staycation" over the weekend and the hotel is in the perfect location to be close to everything in the midtown/downtown area i.e. restaurants, shopping, museums, etc.

The best part of our stay was the staff. Super nice people!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TC O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for the note. Please remember to use out repeat guest rate when returning. Simply call the hotel to book!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel was recently remodeled in a unique way. Some rooms are themed with historical Kansas City icons like World War 1 Museum, TWA and the Gangster room.

Located in Westport which is one of the entertainment districts. Local owner/operator makes a big difference. The grand opening included some real TWA flight attendants from the sixties in their uniforms!

Room Tip: Ask for a themed room. They are big corner rooms that will give you a cool Kansas City story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks Ross. Please remember our free shuttle will take you to Downtown (Power and Light) and to the Plaza (in case the walk is too much). Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The 816 Hotel is a great tribute to the history of Kansas City! There are amazing murals of historic Kansas City on each floor and several themed rooms as well. My favorite room is the TWA room! Beautiful mural on the wall, original airplane seats, great historic TWA pictures, and other memorabilia! Great staff and services!! Reasonable as well!!! Great location and fun place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks Nancy. Please be sure to use our repeat guest rate when you return (its the lowest rate we have). Simply call the hotel and let us know you are returning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The 816 Hotel, is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. This is not like your typical chain hotel. The idea of themed rooms is a nice added twist. The service is wonderful! The staff is super friendly and very helpful. Conveniently located in Kansas City. The themed rooms are great, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the Kansas City BBQ Society room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzyKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for the note. We too love the KC BS room...I wish some delicious burnt ends came with it :)

Moving forward, please remember that the lowest we have is for you, a repeat guest. Simply call us directly, give us your last name, and we then will quote the lowest rate available anywhere. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a Holiday Inn so don't be misled by thinking it is a new facility. That said, it is fine, with an excellent staff. But the regular rooms simply have been refurbished a bit so they show signs of their age. And you do share a parking lot with a bar/restaurant next door, which seems a bit odd. Of course, a short walk and you are in the heart of Westport. (For those into food, breakfast was great, as was the coffee.)

Room Tip: If you face the street, it can be a tad noisy with motorcycles, loud mufflers, etc. Nothing terribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Larry, thanks for the note. We have been challenged in how to explain the 816. Yes it is a conversion from a Holiday Inn Express, but the 816 is a new venture. The monicker on tripadvisor explains this is the former HI Express Westport but we will try to come up with another description to better explain a new venture. Please come back when ALL the work is completed...likely in a couple of weeks. And be sure to call us and ask for the repeat guest rate...our lowest rate available anywhere. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I was born and raised in the Kansas City area. I read articles and saw news stories about this new hotel so I had to check it out. We did a "staycation" over the holiday weekend and we are so glad we did. The hotel gives you the true feeling of being in Kansas City. The pictures are so beautiful. It really made me proud of our city to see it like this. I didn't stay in a themed room but there were still huge pictures in my room of the Country Club Plaza in the early years. I will stay again but next time I am going for a themed room.

The night we checked in, there was the aroma of fresh baked cookies. My kids loved getting a warm cookie from the clerk. She was sweet and helpful .

There is free breakfast with your stay and Rochelle was so friendly and helped my family with pancakes in the pancake machine. She constantly had a smile and was helpful to all.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who lives here as well as travelers. I want people to see Kansas City and our history and love it like I do. I think 816 Hotel is just the place to make that happen.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for the note. Yes we love the cookies too but unfortunately, our waistline may disagree. Next tie you are with the family, you may want to check out the ZOO room (with bunk beds). Very cool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
312 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ramada Kansas City
Ramada Kansas City
#78 of 109 in Kansas City
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Kansas City Westport
AC Hotel Kansas City Westport
#29 of 109 in Kansas City
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 816 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 816 Hotel

Address: 801 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111-3144 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Kansas City - Westport Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £70 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 816 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Kansas City's only hotel dedicated to the past and present of the Paris of the Plains.   The 816 Hotel offers the BEST location in all of Kansas City...in the heart of Westport.  There are over 170 shops, restaurants and nightlife within a 5 block radius of the hotel. 6 blocks to our South is the Country Club Plaza and 30 blocks to our North Sprint Center and Power and Light Entertainment District. All of this is at your disposal with our complimentary shuttle service. Check into the 816, and tuck your keys away. Enjoy the best of KC without the hassle of driving and paying to park. Every guest of the 816 Hotel will enjoy the following amenities: * Free Breakfast including a made to order Omelet station * Nightly Manager's Cocktail Reception   * Free shuttle service in a 4 mile radius  * KC;s fastest (and free) hotel Wi-Fi * Free parking * Free passes to Gold's Gym (2 blocks to our East) We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 816 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kansas City - Westport Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing