We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will absolutely return!”
Review of 816 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
816 Hotel
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will absolutely return!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms were adorable and clean; the staff was gracious; the service was prompt and knowledgable. We loved it and love knowing we have a nice place to return to next time we're in Kansas City. Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klstres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for staying with us. Please remember to book directly with us for your next visit. Our repeat guest rate is the lowest we offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    201
    59
    32
    30
See reviews for
122
204
29
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Great service and staff. We really enjoyed the themed "KC" rooms and wallpaper throughout the hotel. I also love the location. We had a complimentary drink at the bar and our bartender was polite and friendly. This hotel really knows how to take care of their guests. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for the note Anna. We have a few kinks to work out but one thing is for sure, we want every guest to feel good when they check out. Also, remember to use our repeat guest rate next time you are in town. Simply call us for the lowest rate we have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wow... really neat hotel with the Kansas City themes and history. Did a "staycation" over the weekend and the hotel is in the perfect location to be close to everything in the midtown/downtown area i.e. restaurants, shopping, museums, etc.

The best part of our stay was the staff. Super nice people!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for the note. Please remember to use out repeat guest rate when returning. Simply call the hotel to book!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel was recently remodeled in a unique way. Some rooms are themed with historical Kansas City icons like World War 1 Museum, TWA and the Gangster room.

Located in Westport which is one of the entertainment districts. Local owner/operator makes a big difference. The grand opening included some real TWA flight attendants from the sixties in their uniforms!

Room Tip: Ask for a themed room. They are big corner rooms that will give you a cool Kansas City story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks Ross. Please remember our free shuttle will take you to Downtown (Power and Light) and to the Plaza (in case the walk is too much). Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The 816 Hotel is a great tribute to the history of Kansas City! There are amazing murals of historic Kansas City on each floor and several themed rooms as well. My favorite room is the TWA room! Beautiful mural on the wall, original airplane seats, great historic TWA pictures, and other memorabilia! Great staff and services!! Reasonable as well!!! Great location and fun place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks Nancy. Please be sure to use our repeat guest rate when you return (its the lowest rate we have). Simply call the hotel and let us know you are returning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The 816 Hotel, is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. This is not like your typical chain hotel. The idea of themed rooms is a nice added twist. The service is wonderful! The staff is super friendly and very helpful. Conveniently located in Kansas City. The themed rooms are great, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the Kansas City BBQ Society room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for the note. We too love the KC BS room...I wish some delicious burnt ends came with it :)

Moving forward, please remember that the lowest we have is for you, a repeat guest. Simply call us directly, give us your last name, and we then will quote the lowest rate available anywhere. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a Holiday Inn so don't be misled by thinking it is a new facility. That said, it is fine, with an excellent staff. But the regular rooms simply have been refurbished a bit so they show signs of their age. And you do share a parking lot with a bar/restaurant next door, which seems a bit odd. Of course, a short walk and you are in the heart of Westport. (For those into food, breakfast was great, as was the coffee.)

Room Tip: If you face the street, it can be a tad noisy with motorcycles, loud mufflers, etc. Nothing terribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Larry, thanks for the note. We have been challenged in how to explain the 816. Yes it is a conversion from a Holiday Inn Express, but the 816 is a new venture. The monicker on tripadvisor explains this is the former HI Express Westport but we will try to come up with another description to better explain a new venture. Please come back when ALL the work is completed...likely in a couple of weeks. And be sure to call us and ask for the repeat guest rate...our lowest rate available anywhere. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Kansas City Westport
AC Hotel Kansas City Westport
#26 of 109 in Kansas City
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
687 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,121 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 816 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 816 Hotel

Property: 816 Hotel
Address: 801 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111-3144 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Kansas City - Westport Plaza)
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#24 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 816 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Kansas City's only hotel dedicated to the past and present of the Paris of the Plains.   The 816 Hotel offers the BEST location in all of Kansas City...in the heart of Westport.  There are over 170 shops, restaurants and nightlife within a 5 block radius of the hotel. 6 blocks to our South is the Country Club Plaza and 30 blocks to our North Sprint Center and Power and Light Entertainment District. All of this is at your disposal with our complimentary shuttle service. Check into the 816, and tuck your keys away. Enjoy the best of KC without the hassle of driving and paying to park. Every guest of the 816 Hotel will enjoy the following amenities: * Free Breakfast including a made to order Omelet station * Nightly Manager's Cocktail Reception   * Free shuttle service in a 4 mile radius  * KC;s fastest (and free) hotel Wi-Fi * Free parking * Free passes to Gold's Gym (2 blocks to our East) We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 816 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kansas City - Westport Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing