We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock hard beds, rude front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Airport Kansas City
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I rarely wake up with a backache, but I did here. Beds r rock hard and so uncomfortable. Carpet is threadbare and looks dirty, I wouldn't take off my flip flops. Front desk was rude, very little breakfast, and tv remote was nonexistent. When I called the front desk, nobody answered. Easy location, right off interstate.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Airport Kansas City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

If you are looking for a basic clean room to stay in that's close to the airport, this is the place. I'd pre-paid for the room to get a rate of $36 at night. After having an hour-long flight delay, having to rush to the rental counter to pick up a car, this place was a wonderfully close place to grab some sleep for the night.
While the room may have lacked a coffee maker it was only a short walk down to the lobby to get coffee. I'm sure there were some muffins or something out there for breakfast, but we opted to head out and found a McDonalds a couple of exits down on the freeway.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkcurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Great value, senior rate of $36 plus tax. But still a nice clean, safe place. Had a no smoking room, and everything was clean and worked well. Don't expect much in the continental breakfast, though, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Having read other reviews of this establishment, I feared the worst. My 5 day stay, however, was problem free. I experienced no discourtesy from staff, who were helpful on each occasion that I approached them. Shuttle bus employees also friendly. Transportation from airport to downtown at weekends is a problem by public transport. Room clean but not spotless. One drawback is that there is no food available within walking distance, but a pizza company will deliver.

All in all, this is not the Ritz, but is is 5 minutes from the airport, which is why I chose it. For the money I paid, I got decent value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictorVonDoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My sister and I were arriving at the KC Airport very late because of some weather-related flight delays, and I asked my mom to find us a hotel room close to the airport. We drove up to this place, saw the front desk had a bullet-proof glass enclosure and decided not to stay here. We went inside to let the front desk person know, and she told us that the credit card used to reserve the room would be charged anyway. Aughh. We decided to stay and just get a few hours of sleep before we drove 2 1/2 hours home. The place is old, gross, and scary. The a/c unit in our room had not been turned on, and it was pretty hot. The carpet looked gross and the bathroom was tiny and the floor was badly stained. We reluctantly crawled into the beds, fully clothed to find out that the pillows were hard and lumpy and the mattress was rock hard. After unsuccessfully trying to fall asleep, we decided to just get up and drive home even though it was 3:30 in the morning. I would not recommend this place to anyone. It was a truly awful experience, and I was amazed that they could charge $57 for these accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenell31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I'm a hotel desk clerk in Nebraska. We would never treat people in such a deplorable manner. Rudest man I've ever encountered in the service industry. And he's the owner! Why doesn't Choice Hotels step in here???? He's giving you a deplorable name.

Keys and air conditioning didn't work. One of our rooms had blood on the sheets. There wasn't anywhere else in town to go, or we would have. If I hadn't had students with me, I''d have preferred to sleep in my car.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary45649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

First of all they hardly speak english. The main web site says free parking while you fly not so you pay to park. The rooms leave much to be desired and we waited for over an hour to be picked up on our return. Pay a little extra and have a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zvc50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Plaza Circle
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#38 of 109 in Kansas City
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Kansas City International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
0.9 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Airport Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport Kansas City

Address: 11300 NW Prairieview Road, Kansas City, MO 64153-1128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: £38 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Airport Kansas City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Kansas City
Econo Lodge Kansas City
Kansas City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing