We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Breakfast Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Rude Breakfast Staff”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I have been to numerous Embassy Suites. This was mediocre at best. The rooms were okay and clean, but the staff was pretty cold and not friendly at all. The hotel was fairly full the night we were there midweek with business travelers and a convention of sorts. Breakfast was busy, but the staff working it were the rudest ES staff I have ever encountered. The lines were fairly steady and even though the food was prepared and there were people still in line grabbing items, the staff started cleaning up right at the cut off and started clearing tables and pulling the food into the kitchen. What a waste of perfectly good food with people that could have eaten.

I would never stay at this particular location again. The only reason we did this time was because we were traveling with our pet which was allowed in the hotel. (only plus that I can mention.)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoagy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyKCI, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Please accept my apologies for your less-than-exceptional experience with out staff. We have reviewed our current operating policy for our breakfast serving times and will be more flexible if guests are still arriving. Thank you, again, for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    220
    125
    57
    33
See reviews for
287
115
17
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

After attending a conference in downtown KC and experiencing a poorly managed hotel experience downtown, coming here to the Embassy Suites was a breath of fresh air!!! I came to this hotel to meet two business colleagues and one of them got a "boardroom" accommodation--perfect for our needs. My room was the typical king room and it was spacious and comfortable.

At first when arriving, it was obvious that the hotel had booked some high school girls sports teams for a special event so it was crowded and rather loud in the public areas. But--it all seemed just fine. The restaurant/bar handled the crowd perfectly well and the waiter we had was fantastic. As far as noise was concerned, the bedroom was inset w/a door that could be closed and wah lah--no noise!!

All aspects of the room including the bathroom was nice and functioning well. Everything was clean and sleep quality was good. The manager's evening reception and the morning buffet breakfast: far superior to most that hotels offer these days.

The only downside: tiny and stuffy fitness center.

Embassy Suites has a comp. shuttle to/from the airport--a 10 minute drive. Quite convenient and the price is right, compared to the high priced taxis in Kansas City.

If in the area again, I will definitely consider this as my 1st choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyKCI, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Thank you so much for your comments...they are a breath of fresh air! We always enjoy hearing about our customers' stays. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I arrived on a Saturday afternoon. By Sunday at noon, I realized that I was starting to come down with a stomach flu (that I got from my daughter, who was in another state). In the wee hours of Monday morning, I was praying to the porcelain gods. I called down to the front desk so that I could get a complementary tooth brush, and rushed back to my room for another round with the bathroom. Later in the morning, one of my colleagues picked up some gatorade for me at the little shopette, and let the front desk know that I was still feeling poorly. The lady on duty from the wee hours of the morning called my room to see if she could go to the Walmart to get me anything. The gesture was truly kind, and made me feel better being ridiculously sick in a foreign town.

Further along in the day I gave up trying to combat the sickness myself, and gave in to my wish to go to the hospital. The hotel shuttle took me, and picked me back up after I was discharged. The front desk staff were extremely kind and asked if I needed any help getting back to my room. Super kind people.

The rest of the trip was thankfully uneventful, and I managed to get over my bug. I was finally able to enjoy the free breakfast (fantastic omelettes) and room service (try the chicken marsala). I never heard any loud noises, nor had any issues with cleanliness. I really did enjoy my stay... once I was 100% better. :)

I have told everyone I work with about the kind people and the kind hearts here at the Embassy Suites. If I ever come back, I wont think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyKCI, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
I am so sorry to hear you were under-the-weather during your recent stay. I am glad our staff was able to bring some comfort to you in your time of need. I will pass along your kind words. Thank you, again. And, please, keep traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This hotel is conveniently located, clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly. I'm not much of a breakfast person, but was pleasantly surprised with the free meal. I didn't spend too much time there, but it was an overall great experience and wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOTYER6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyKCI, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Thank you for your comments. We enjoy hearing from our guests. We are glad we were able to "surprise" you with our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. It is a pillar of the Embassy Suites brand. We also offer a two-hour manager's reception in the evening with complimentary beer, wine, mixed drinks and snacks. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The price was reasonable, the room roomy with every amenity you could ask for and the breakfast was the best complimentary breakfast. The shuttle driver was friendly and the workout facility was entirely adequate for a night or two if exercise is important to you. The inner lobby was beautiful. If it had better proximity to the downtown area, I would have stayed here for my entire stay and not only for convenience to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThankxgivingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

This is a average hotel, but the structure seems to amplify any and all noises coming from the lobby. Kids were running all over the hotel without their parents from the time I checked in until the time I went to sleep 11PM. Luckily my two bedroom suite bedroom door drowned out about 80% of the noise that was very audible from my living room. The bed sleeps wonderfully! Breakfast was mediocre at best. The person that checked me in seemed to have a chip on his shoulder, but the lady who checked me out was very friendly. The Business Center had computer that were clearly out dated connected to CURRENT printers that did not work. Can someone say help desk?
Long story short, this hotel is a hit or miss and a far cry from any other Embassy Suites that I've booked in the past.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyKCI, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
I am sorry to read that your experience at the Embass Suites KCI was not up to your expectations. We strive to make each guest's experience warm and inviting. I will review your experience with the appropriate departments. We may need to brush up on our associate's training. Also, we will review our Business Center equipment and our breakfast food offerings to make sure they meet or exceed our brand standards. We appreciate all feedback. Thank you for your insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We were in town for our parents' 50th Anniversary and the location was perfect- near their home and the airport. Even though we didn't have a block, they were able to give us rooms all right next to each other (children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren in the mix). The breakfast buffet was fantastic: fresh fruit , yogurt, individual milk bottles, oatmeal and a cook-to-order station for pancakes and eggs. Love the Dowe Egbert coffee, too! And, they had high chairs for all of our babies. The rooms were well-appointed- made use of the sofa beds and desks, coffee-tea station. Comfy beds, great bathroom ammenities. Loved that we all had a view of the downstairs lobby area (restaurant, grand piano) so we could find our family members. Front desk agent at check in was super friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, we had no time to use the pool or fitness center. The only negative experience was the charge for wireless per computer. We had several going (working on the anniversary event) and had to pay almost $10 for each connection. We had to run down to the business center to print.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyKCI, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate hearing your kind words about our Hotel and Staff. I am glad we were able to provide accommodations in the same area for your family. It makes reunions so much easier. I understand you were not pleased with the charge for internet in the guest suite but were satisfied with the complimentary internet in our BusinessLink (business center) in the lobby. As a brand, Embassy Suites charges for internet. I am sure when the Embassy Suites' full-service competitors start providing complimentary internet, we will follow. Although you did not have time to experience our pool area, it is currently under renovation and will be a fabulous, new space for our guests! Thank you, again, for your comments. Please come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
733 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
535 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
Address: 7640 NW Tiffany Springs Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64153-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Kansas City - International Airport hotel is located just five minutes south of Kansas City International Airport via complementary shuttle and within 20 minutes of most of Kansas City's businesses and corporations. Our Kansas City Airport hotel is a full-service, upscale, all-suite hotel with amenities and location make us ideal for the leisure and business travelers. Guests enjoy free cooked to order breakfast snacks and drinks at our complimentary Evening Reception, fitness center and business center.Nearby attractions include Zona Rosa Shopping & Entertainment District, Tiffany Greens Golf Course, The National Golf Course, Tiffany Hills Sports Complex, Country Club Plaza, Hallmark Visitors Center, Kansas Speedway, Arrowhead Stadium, Kaufman Stadium, Sprint Center, Kansas City Convention & Entertainment Center, Kemper/Hale Arena, Kansas City Zoo and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City - International Airport Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing