We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Practical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kansas City Airport Marriott
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This isn't your top of the line Marriott. It is dated. Probably built in the early 1990s based on the décor and design. For an overnight stay or if you need to be close to the airport, it is well situated. The shuttle service is excellent. For longer term stay, get used to the sound of airplanes. The staff was very helpful (especially CJ at the front desk). The bar needs a make over but the drink selection and atmosphere were very good. A bit expensive but that is to be expected at an airport hotel. The rooms were comfortable but dated. The breakfast in the concierge level was excellent as well as the staff person. I give the hotel a very good rating mainly because of the hotel staff. As for the hotel itself - average.

Room Tip: Inside room to block airplane noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, Executive Admin. Assist. to the General Manager at Kansas City Airport Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

NDPatriot,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience with us at the Kansas City Airport Marriott. Hearing from our guests is such a valuable tool for us and really helps us focus in on what we need to work.
Thank you for your kind words and I will definitely let CJ know you mentioned him. He is one of our newest Hosts, but he is doing a great job and we are so happy to have him on our team.
As for our 'dated' decor---well, you are absolutely right and I am so sorry it is not up to the expected standards. However, we are thrilled to be able to say we are finalizing plans for several large projects to update the hotel and bring the Kansas City Airport far above 'average.' We will be completely redoing our lobby, restaurant, lounge and Front Desk in 2015 so it all becomes an open, inviting and functional Great Room that will take your breath away! But this is just one of many projects were are planning so I hope you will keep coming back to stay with us so you can see all the changes we're making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday night on a special $99 rate. I called after dropping off my rental car and they came and picked me up w their shuttle. Shuttle to the airport was quick and every 20 minutes and included in the price. I agree that wifi should be free but if you're an elite rewards member it's included. Room was fine and get on the executive level on the 9th floor. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Bret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, Exec Admin Asst to GM at Kansas City Airport Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Bret,
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We are delighted your stay with the Kansas City Airport Marriott was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with us so we may use your feedback to improve and strengthen our service standards in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It was a year ago I stayed at this Marriott. It is nice to be able to depend on a property such as the KC Airport Marriott. The staff ( special thanks to Mallory ) were exceptional, the bar and restaurant did not disappoint. This property is one of my favorites for it is a place that welcomes you with a sincere attitude. Oh and room 402 ( once again ) was very has a great view. Ask for it if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reno76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, Exec. Admin. Assist. to the GM at Kansas City Airport Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear reno76,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We truly appreciate it and are so glad your experience was positive.
Mallory says, "Thank you" too and we can't wait for you to come back and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My parents and my husband and I plan an escape weekend once in a while. We really don't plan shopping or theatre or a movie or anything else. We just go here for total relaxation. We enjoy the drinks at the bar. Hot tub, a game in the room. Then the breakfast buffet. It's a get away from our rigorous daily schedules. The rooms are always up to date and clean.

Room Tip: Call in advance and ask for the best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhudson5919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

$200 per night. Over priced for old and dated rooms. No free in room wifi, room not clean, air vent not clean, sink slow to drain. Bathroom walls dirty.

Parking lot is being re-paved and is a mess.

Given the price this is a bad value. Can stay at the Hilton for half the price a mile away.

Will not be staying here in the future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Kansas City Airport Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you or taking the time to review the Kansas City Airport Marriott. I am very sorry you were so unhappy with your experience here, and I would invite you to contact me directly at the hotel so we could discuss it further.
We are in the process of many exciting projects and I would love to be able to talk to you about them and see if I can win you back. We definitely do not want your lasting image of the Kansas City Airport Marriott to remain such a negative one.
Please call the hotel at 816 464 2200 and ask for Bob, the GM's Assistant.
Thank you, and again, I am very sorry your experience was such an unhappy one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our second stay at the Marriott, a year apart..
We stay at the Marriott, due to the proximity to the airport..We had a early morning flight and it made sense to "stay and fly"..
The 1st year we had a really old room, that was in need of a complete remodel..1st floor ground level
This year, we had what appeared to be one of their remodeled rooms, 3013..Totally different from the one we had last year..It is my understanding, that the all rooms are being remodeled, just not a total shutdown to remodel all at once..Understandable..
The rooms are small, but for a overnight stay, it was acceptable..
We arrived the Marriott, around 3 pm..Parking was sparse, probably due to meetings in the conference rooms ..After the meetings, more and better located parking became available..
Food at the restaurant was very good..
Shuttle service to the airport was excellent..
I am not sure if all the rooms are remodeled, but our room was and everything in the restroom looked " bright and shiny" caulking and tile in the area looked very fresh and new..
No issues with the room..
The indoor pool was closed last year for retiling, it was not close to being complete..
The indoor pool this year was closed as well, it looked complete and water was circulating, just closed..

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litenlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed for 3 nights. Great Exercise Room, clean room and friendly front desk staff.
I ate at the restaurant one night and the food was good. Internet is good and I would stay here again. They have a small concierge lounge for their Gold and Platinum members. Some large rooms for conferences if you have that need. Parking is free and easy. You are not downtown, but Close enough to get some BBQ and return. Easy Access to KS too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Kansas City Airport Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Scott D.,
Thank you for your kind words. It is so nice when our guests take the time to submit a review of their experience with us, and it is of a great service to us too. While we certainly prefer nice reviews like yours, we always welcome all kinds of feedback because we want to ensure all of our guests are happy with their experience at the Kansas City Airport Marriott.
And, just so you know, while access to our Concierge Louge is complimentary for our Gold and Platinum Reward members, any guest can upgrade themselves to Lounge access for only $20 a day.
Also, while parking is complimentary during your stay, if you'd like to leave your car in our parking lot after departure, we offer the low rate of only $30 for up to two weeks. Of course, we also have Park and Fly packages that include parking.
Thank you for choosing the Kansas City Airport Marriott and thank you for being a Marriott Rewards member; we appreciate your loyalty!
If I can be of any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to cotact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#35 of 109 in Kansas City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
#21 of 109 in Kansas City
568 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Airport Marriott

Address: 775 Brasilia Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64153
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £76 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Airport Marriott is currently undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation. Our redesigned guest rooms are everything you don't expect. Chic, sophisticated & stylish, they feature platform beds, walk-in showers, wide-open closets, hard-surface floors and locally-inspired artwork. All guest rooms have been upgraded to 55” flat screen TVs. This redesign makes the Kansas City Airport Marriott the premier hotel and a top choice for travelers looking for a hotel near Kansas City Airport (MCI). Take advantage of our hotel's helpful perks; we provide complimentary access to our on-site fitness center & indoor pool, as well as exceptional on-site dining options. Our newly-designed restaurant will feature indoor, as well as outdoor dining space. We also place you within a short distance of the city's most notable businesses and attractions, including Zona Rosa shopping center, Kansas Speedway, and downtown Kansas City dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kansas City Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kansas City Airport Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing