We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding Party”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding party. The wedding and reception was down the road so the hotel provided a shuttle which was great. We enjoyed our stay. The underground parking was a little tight, even in the SUV parking area, but great they have free parking available. The rooms were clean and comfortable as I expect from Holiday Inn. The front desk was very busy when we checked in, a Friday night and a lot seemed to be going on in the hotel. The staff was proffessional and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxyyzzaabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you also for noting our helpful and professional staff- they take pride in anticipating and exceeding our guests expectations. I will certainly share your comments with our staff. Our complimentary parking and shuttle service are very popular with our guests. Together they offer our guests the luxury of parking the car and letting us take care of getting them where they need to go.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Kansas City.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    215
    135
    49
    39
See reviews for
156
121
34
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn at The Plaza, Kansas City for 2 nights. First impressions were that it was a bit so so. However, good underground free parking, a very comfortable bed and a fairly decent breakfast helped to bring us round. The bar service a little limited but draft ale was available including Stones IPA.

The hotel was a bit noisy on the second night as there was a lot of people in for graduation proms. Hotels do really need to think about how to make doors more soundproof !! This wouldn't dissuade us from staying again, I guess it is just a bit of the luck of the draw.

The location is handy for restaurants and bars and makes for easy getting around. The spa was closed when we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Ian B,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our property. We are happy that you enjoyed the amenities and services offered by our hotel as well as our central location to all the best Kansas City has to offer!
We hope that you will stay with us if you travels bring you back to our wonderful city.

Best regards,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The location was great as the KC Plaza is a fantastic area. Our room was clean, tastefully decorated. Staff was always very pleasant, helpful, cheerful. Our phone in the room did not work. I had to call the front desk from my cell phone. The toilet sat very low. Seemed lower than regulation chair height. Both my husband and I had a heck of a time using it. Lastly, there were not enough electrical recepticals in the room. My husband and I both use a C-Pap machine (for sleep apnea) and there was only ONE plug near the bed, and it was on the wall behind the headboard and extremely difficult to get to.

Room Tip: Ask where exactly the ice machines are, of you probably won't find them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maplewood_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Maplewood_Jen,
We appreciate you taking time to help us to continually improve our guests experience. I understand the frustration with electrical outlets never seeming to be where you need them at any given time. We recently added additional outlets by the workdesks and televisions in response to guest needs for laptops, cell phones, cameras, etc. I have shared your concern with our engineering director and he is examining options for solve your concern.

In regards to the toilets in the hotel, we have plumbing industry standard height toilets in all our of rooms. I am not sure exactly what your concern was about our toilets but I encourage you to reach out to me so that I can more fully understand.

Thank you for noting our pleasant staff. I will share you feedback with them as they strive to exceed all of our guests expectations.

Best regards,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Kansas City offered a lot more than we expected on our drive-though road trip. This Holiday Inn is a fantastic location near the Plaza - an outdoor shopping mall where you essentially drive to the stores you're looking for. Mid-level and high-end shops, and a movie theater as well. You can walk both to the Plaza and within it - but it would be a long walk. Free shuttle will come pick you up within 3 miles if you get tired - nice thought/offer from the staff as my husband and I were debating on the walk. Lots of excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel was standard, as to be expected. Staff was friendly. No annoying housekeeping knock in the morning and we didn't even have the DND sign out. Beds were fine/good - I didn't think about them either way, so I must have slept well. Parking was free and easy. On our way out of KC we took pictures of the city's library garage (it's neat!) and stopped for a free brief tour of the Money Museum (Federal Reserve Bank). Looked like there was a lot more to do if we had the time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Jennifer,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza. As you noted we are located in the center of all the great things to see and do here in Kansas City. The city has a lot of historical heritage, a great variety of culture and arts, and of course great food and shopping! I hope that next time you have more time to experience all KC has to offer and that you will again stay here.

Sincerely,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights thinking we got a great deal given the good location and free parking, but we never imagined we would have such a horrible experience. First of all, the rooms were old and did not include a refrigerator and/or microwave. We called to request a refrigerator and/or microwave and we were told we would be placed on a list and that we would receive a call once they were available. We never received a call, even after the hotel cleared out. In addition, there were people hanging out in the hallway, yelling from one side of the hallway to the other and slamming doors throughout the middle of night: midnight to about 4:00am. I called Guest Services, more than once, to report the issue and was repeatedly told they would send security, which did not resolve the issue. Then when I brought this up to management upon check out, they blamed it on all of the college students in the area. Very Disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Barbara,
Let me first apologize for the issue of people making noise near your room. Our staff responded to your calls but upon arrival the offenders were gone. Our staff patrolled the area for a period of time and heard no noise on the floor. If we had more specific information regarding which room(s) these individuals were in we could have done more. It is disappointing that a couple of rowdy individuals can ruin the stay of other guests.

In regards to the microwave and refrigerator, we do have a number of them available on a first come first served basis. I understand that in limited service hotels these can be a standard feature in rooms, but as a full service hotel with a restaurant and lunge we do not advertise these as a standard room amenity. I do apologize for any confusion there may have been about these.

Our property does offer a great location and great value for guests coming to Kansas City and to the Country Club Plaza. While incidents like this can happen they are rare and we work diligently to ensure our guests comfort.

Best regards,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed three nights for business; the hallways/rooms are on a split level floor, so you end up carrying your luggage up 5 steps...even if you take the elevator up to your floor...(very strange). Hallways are dark and you have a distance to walk if you need the elevator/ice/ etc...if your room is located at the opposite end of these locations. Otherwise staff were friendly...free breakfast was great.

Room Tip: If you stay; request the rooms close to the elevator and tell them you do not want to go up the step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPARC98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
SPARC98,
We do have one corridor that requires guests to go up 5 steps if their room is past that point. This affects a very small number of rooms and I'm sorry that this was inconvenient for you during your stay. If you return just ask our friendly front desk staff for a room that avoids that hallway.

I do appreciate you noting our friendly staff. We strive for this recognition and appreciate the kind words.

I hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to KC.

Best regards,
Jim Jirik
Asst Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Absolutely fantastic location - can walk to the Plaza for shops and restaurants as well as the Nelson-Atkins and Kemper museums. Free parking is a huge plus as no other hotel in the area offers it. We did not find the size of the spaces to be an issue as there were tons of vacant ones, as well as outdoor parking.

Rooms was standard Holiday Inn calibar. Clean and modern enough. Biggest downside was the lack of adequate lighting in the room. An additional light fixture on the ceiling would have been very useful.

I would definitely stay again when returning to Kansas City.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKNY329_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
JKNY329_10
Thank you for taking time to review our property. It is especially gratifying hearing from an experienced traveler. Our location and free parking and clean modern rooms make us an ideal choice for anyone coming to visit Kansas City and especially the Country Club Plaza.
We look forward to serving you again the next time you visit Kansas City

At your service,
Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Address: One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel at the Plaza-Kansas City is located on the world famous Country Club Plaza, the Midwest's premier shopping / dining / entertainment district. The hotel provides the following complimentary services: WiFi, garage parking (all other Plaza hotels charge), local calls, and shuttle service within a 3 mile radius, including Historic Westport. The Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza Hotel also offers a 24 hour fitness center along with the largest heated outdoor hotel pool in the city!Finally, relax in our bar or simply order room service and relax in your room. Minutes from Sprint Center Arena, downtown Kansas City American Century, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, H&R Block 3 miles, UMKC 5 blocks, Rockhurst U., 7 blocks, KCAI and St Luke's Hospital 5 blocks, KU Med 5 blocks, Sports Complex 10 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing