We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Ranked #15 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Be Careful”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have been travelling around the US for two months and this is the first problem. We have medications that need to be kept refrigerated. Every single hotel we have stayed at on this trip, and that is 32, have had a refrigerator in the room and that includes two Holiday inns in Augusta and Laramie.Here in Kansas City we did not think there would be a problem but there is. No refrigerator!!!. Do these Hotels not think that people may need refrigerators for medications??? and if they don't provide one they should say since they are the exception rather than the rule. then we can either ask in advance or try another hotel. I don't think they realise that some medications need constant cooling or they may not be usable and will have to be discarded.Equally it is no use if they are put in the hotel refrigerator and then are needed during the night. This hotel does not seem to understand that and i would urge any potential visitors who need cooled medications to beware of this hotel. There are plenty of others i Kansas City.
We have a 12 volt cooler for the car and unfortunately in the US they don't seem to have mains powered coolers as well for travel so we rely on hotels. Please Holiday Inn KC, get your act together or be proactive and tell people that you do not have fridges in all rooms, do not fall back on Caveat Emptor!!!!!!

Room Tip: if you need a refrigerator make sure you ask in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Caprontee,
We certainly apologize that the accommodation we offered for you medications were not acceptable to you. Our website has an exhaustive list of what is and is not in our guestrooms. None of our guestrooms state that they are equipped with refrigerators, although there are thirty that do have refrigerators and we have several that are loaners- just for the purpose you mention. Unfortunately there are times when they are all on loan and we don’t have additional available. We do have ice buckets in every room and ice machines available throughout the hotel- this is usually acceptable for guests that can get access to a refrigerator. Once again I apologize that we were not able to accommodate your needs to your satisfaction. It is in our plans to add these to all of our guestrooms but I don’t have a firm time table on that project.

Sincerely,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    220
    140
    53
    42
See reviews for
168
125
35
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My stay was comfortable. It was located in a good area of town. I like the shuttle service was free and friendly. The staff was very professional, as well as friendly. The staff was very helpful in the information they gave/.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Beverly,
We are pleased to be your first review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate hearing that our guests feel our staff is friendly and professional. Your comments are a great reward for their efforts on a daily basis. Come back to see us the next time you stay in Kansas City!

Best regards,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are due to stay at the hotel July 11-13 and we are very excited about our stay reading the comments really is making me want to stay more and more and did I read correctly there is free breakfast every morning?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Cheri1972,
We look forward to you coming to stay with us. We have packages available that include breakfast, but the standard rate does not include breakfast. You might consider upgrading to our Best Flex with Breakfast. It includes breakfast for two for a very nominal charge.

Thank you,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Staff greeted us warmly. Our rooms seemed clean & beds comfortable. It is an older hotel, or we were put in the older section. Seemed like a mile from the front desk. We received a good senior rate - luckily we are in good enough shape to walk the long halls and several steps with our luggage to the room. There was no refrigerator, and to get ice, I needed to walk the mile to the restaurant or front desk to get ice. Coffee is not usually available unless you buy it from the restaurant. We were happy to be assigned an adjoining room with our son and wife.

Being close to the Plaza and convenient to nearby shops was important to us. Parking is conveniently below the hotel so our car was available whenever we needed it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room relatively close to the front door, unless you don't mind walking a long way in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Lily096,

Thank you for telling us about your recent experience at our hotel. Our hotel has a main tower and also two floors of rooms that wrap around our very large pool courtyard. There are some guestrooms that are roughly 300 feet from the front desk. While this is not a really long walk, with luggage it can take a minute or two to cover with luggage. I do apologize for that walk, normally we would place seniors in a closer room to avoid this but sometimes we cannot make this arrangement.

We have ice machines on each floor so I do not understand your comments regarding going to the front desk or restaurant- feel free to contact me directly about this so I can understand what happened.

I do not understand your comments about coffee. All of our guestrooms offer coffee (regular and decaf) and tea. In the morning we have complimentary coffee available in our lounge across from the restaurant. We also have coffee available in our restaurant for a small charge. Again, please feel free to contact me about this issue so I can better understand how you feel our coffee service is lacking.

Thank you for noting our staff, clean rooms, and comfortable beds.

We hope that you will stay with us again when you come back to Kansas City.

At your service,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieLynn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel meeting space was great for our needs. Hotel staff is great! Excellent customer service provided!

Hotel shuttle will go 3 miles, which has been nice for inclimate weather. Caution must be exercised regarding legitimate cabs and limos.

Fitness Center is small.

Country Club Plaza is about 3 blocks away with a large variety of restaurants and shopping opportunies.

The hotel set up a "Snack Bar" table near the registration area for our participants to purchase various snack items (popcorn, chips, trail mix, cheese fish crackers, nuts, sodas and bottled water and coffee). What a convenient service. Free Breakfast buffet served daily that most everyone participated in, with coffee refills until 9am. Restaurant offered a luncheon buffet as an option just for us.

Would hold another conference at this hotel in a hearbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
SusieLynn,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and meeting facilities! It was a great pleasure having your large conference here. Although the Kansas City weather wasn't the greatest welcome for your group, we tried to bring as much sunshine as possible to your many attendees. The breakfast, snack bar, and lunch buffets are just a few options that we can offer groups. Our sales and catering team can be very flexible in creating options that work for groups of all sizes. It was our pleasure to be of service to you for this group and we look forward to your next conference in a couple of months.

Thanks again,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Class of 1954 from St Lois Grade School in Kansas City had their 60th Grade School Reunion in the Boardroom of the Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza on June 6th, 2014 exactly to the day 60 years later that we graduated from St. Louis School. The personal at the hotel were terrific! We want to especially thank Ali Kelley and Marta Garcia de Cruz for their professionalism and creativity in making the reunion the success it was. Also, the out-of-town classmates had superb accommodations while staying 3 nights at the hotel. If you want to have a reunion in Kansas City, this is the perfect place to do it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Jim,
It was certainly our pleasure to host your school reunion. I will pass along your thanks to Ali and Marta. I know that they worked tirelessly to help you make this event all that you hoped it would be for your group.

Our group sales and catering staff are creative and helpful in making events special whether it be a class reunion, wedding, or company meeting.

We were happy to be part of your special event and thank you for your praise of our staff and facility.

Best wishes,

Jim Jirik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our family recently stayed at the Holiday Inn to celebrate a birthday. The hotel management was nice and had all of our rooms next to each other so we didn't have to roam the halls to find our relatives. The outdoor pool is very nice and the large seating area around the pool is a great place to unwind in the evenings. The hotel has it's own parking gargage under the property and the garage itself is very well lit and secured by gates. The hotel is just up the hill from Country Club Plaza. A short walk if you don't mind the hill.
The rooms were as expected and were very well kept. We received a voucher for breakfast and they allowed us to use these for the buffet. That was a great perk when you have 13 people trying to get ready in the morning. The hotel also has a free shuttle that you can use to get to area locations. Our family used it to get to the train station.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the main floor you can ask for one that faces the pool. This is great if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjack80724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Owner at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Sjack80724,
We are happy that your family chose our hotel for the birthday celebration and that we were able to help make this gathering an enjoyable experience. It sounds like you had the opportunity to take advantage of many of our amenities from complimentary parking and shuttle to our restaurant and pool courtyard.
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza Hotel!

Best regards,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#25 of 108 in Kansas City
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 108 in Kansas City
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Address: One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel at the Plaza-Kansas City is located on the world famous Country Club Plaza, the Midwest's premier shopping / dining / entertainment district. The hotel provides the following complimentary services: WiFi, garage parking (all other Plaza hotels charge), local calls, and shuttle service within a 3 mile radius, including Historic Westport. The Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza Hotel also offers a 24 hour fitness center along with the largest heated outdoor hotel pool in the city!Finally, relax in our bar or simply order room service and relax in your room. Minutes from Sprint Center Arena, downtown Kansas City American Century, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, H&R Block 3 miles, UMKC 5 blocks, Rockhurst U., 7 blocks, KCAI and St Luke's Hospital 5 blocks, KU Med 5 blocks, Sports Complex 10 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing