We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel is like a city in and of itself!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Crown Center
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The hotel is like a city in and of itself!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel has a wonderful lobby; wonderful staff, very friendly. The pool was fabulous but unfortunately no one was staffed at the poolside bar - (not going to lie) initially one of the selling points for my friends and I to stay at this hotel. The hotel restaurant/bar was fun and lively; decent food. Super easy to park in the garage but the hotel is attached to the Crown Center shopping area and at times it was easy to get a bit mixed up as to where you were at any given moment. All in all, nice hotel. Bed top cover could have been cleaner and the balcony door didn't quite seal all the way when shut. Don't know if I would necessarily stay here again but I would say it would be most ideal for families with young children - lots to do!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHITbaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    545
    269
    119
    58
See reviews for
429
390
89
896
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This was my first time staying at the Westin Crown Center in Kansas City. Had stayed at another hotel in KC two previous years. Now I know why my fellow Silpada Conference attendees raved so much about their stays there! The staff here is absolutely outstanding as well as very friendly. I had more interaction with the staff than I normally do during hotel stays, (asking re: services and information, etc.), and what each encounter had in common was that the staff members treated me extremely well, and made it clear that they cared. Seems to me that they've had a lot of training in doing whatever it takes to meet their guests' needs! Was especially impressed with Consuelo and Tabitha's total commitment to service! Also, we had a corner room and it was huge, with one long wall of windows with a pretty view of the city. The main lobby (sunken), was well laid out too with plenty of seating for conversation.The beds were awesome and the room was very clean. The hotel is attached to the Crown Center with all of its shops and restaurants too, and also has a huge, (and beautiful) waterfall right off the lobby. Am very much looking forward to going back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they're huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyTSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

So far (this is the first 3 hours after checking in) things are not too promising. I checked-in and applied for the "preferred guest" card. So far, OK.
Next I tried the get connected to the internet. This took 25 minutes (3 calls to the front desk, call to 800 number of ISP but no answer, found I was incorrectly registered by the from desk so that I couldn't log in, found the pages to even login confusing and many wouldn't load the first time). Then I found that you have to re-log in whenever your computer goes to sleep and that my web pages took *several minutes* to load. I can say without any exaggeration that this is the worst connectivity and internet experience that I have encountered anywhere in the world during the last 10 years with the exception of one undeveloped country. Unfortunately, one is also charged roughly $10 a day for this privilege. [It appears the ISP is Guest-Tek Ltd and the charges are set by Westin.]
Then the AC will not budge the temperature more than 0.2 of a degree (honestly) after several hours of being in the room. It is pretty warm in here at the moment. Just tried the “service express” number on the telephone to try to get a manager – but the number didn’t appear to work or to ring this time. H-m-m-m . . . .
Not sure how the rest of this visit will work out -- but technology here is definitely a work in progress.
Will report back if there are any changes for the better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilltraveling1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked a corner room expecting a fab view. Man ! We got out of that in 2 min flat. The extra sq feet are all hallway. The room setup is just bad in general with creepy low ceiling and hospital color schemes.
Next room well you can tell Crown needs updating tht paint scheme is horrid and whoever wasted money on tht whole big fragrance/ candle sham! Must of been a relatives ideal. The room felt and just didnt look clean fridge had hair in it. Furniture had obv not been cleaned had big handprints on it.
Staff at desk was so rude when inquiries made about internet.
I dont understand where customer service dissapeared to??
And i dont understand how la qiinta inn can provide free internet but the crown charges guests for 24 hr internet. Please its 2011 we all have mobile devices. Yes its nice tht the crown shops are so close but they close at 6 pm on sat nite and dont open till 12 on sunday what a waste of our weekend to not get to shop.
The crown pool needs a complete revamp pool furniture umbrellas broke. So sad my old friend The Crown needs a buffing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stay here every year for a conference. The hotel is in serious need if an overhaul. Weston tries their best to overcome this with some cosmetic cover-ups but you can't hide the truth. Service staff is very good as well, but again, hotel is just plain outdated.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrnyman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwilt, Front Office Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great staff on your recent visit. The Westin will have lobby renovations that will take place starting at the end of this year and will continue through 2012 and 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado springs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Came to town for a wrestling tournament & the recommended hotel was booked. Used Priceline to find accomadations. Requested Crown Center 4+ star for $60/nt. It would of been between Westin or Hyatt Regency so you can't go wrong! Bad weather so we didn't really want to leave hotel. Used valet--expensive as all valet is. Nice to have hotel attached to a "mall" for shops/food. Didn't have to leave except to go to the tournament. Nice room/accomodations. Received a free kids pay-per-view for our son w/his kids pack upon checkin. Avoid the traincar restaurant in the mall. Unique place. Hotel is connected to mall that has indoor walkway to the Hyatt on the other side. Outdoor ice rink looked fun. Spent 3 nights here & it was well worth the $. Free internet in the lobby. Nice workout room/pool/spa/sauna. Great place to stay while visiting KC!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jendavedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The lobby is the least attractive place in the entire hotel, which is a shame because that's the first place you see when you enter. It's a depressing, dark concrete badly designed 1970s faux Blade Runner meets, well---a prison, kind of lobby. One idea would be to paint all the concrete white. Another would be to just tear down the hotel and build a new one.

Once you get into your room, it's pretty much a standard room you'd get anywhere. Nothing special except for a miniature standing balcony. Which is nice if you want to step outside. Although the balcony is more of a stoop. It's only about 12" deep and just a couple feet wide. Still, the sliding glass door opens. You've got to hand it to a hotel to at least get that right.

But really the whole lobby is so depressing... It takes away from everything positive.

The "restaurant" is typical airport-restaurant-type food. But with so many great restaurants in Kansas Cit, no one should have to eat at the hotel. The service in the bar is incredibly slow. They should hire a few more wait staff. With only two people it's impossible to cover the entire lobby area, and the crowds of convention-center business people within a reasonable amount of time.

My advice is to stay here is someone else is paying for it. There are far superior hotels in Kansas City, in far more attractive and welcoming areas.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writer/Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
3.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
1.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Property: The Westin Crown Center
Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing