We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for conference/meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crown Center
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I attended a conference at the Westin Crown Center in March 2014 and was pleased with the accomodations and found staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable; I selected the Go Green option to limit housekeeping, but had any needed item delivered right away. It was a positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaronMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

KaronMann- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am thrilled to hear what a top notch experience you had and that our staff was friendly and accommodating, playing a large role in making your conference a success. We take great pride in our Westin Heavenly bedding and I am happy you were able to relax in comfort. We value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,043 - 1,049 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Friendly staff, clean and comfortable accomodations, good meeting space. I could fully concentrate on the conference I was there to attend as I had a good nights sleep and an overall postive and restful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Juli W- Thank you for taking your time to share your refreshing feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am thrilled to hear our staff was friendly and accommodating ensuring you had everything you needed for a relaxing and top notch stay. We take great pride in the amenities offered to our guests and it is great you were able to unwind in the comfort of your heavenly bed after a long day. We truly value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel is highly rated here and is a four star hotel so I expected more. I found this hotel to be poorly managed and disorganized, esp. housekeeping. We were out of the room all day on a Saturday and expected to return at 5:30 pm to a clean room. It took 2 calls to get someone to come in and didn't even receive an apology or explanation (the night shift cleaning lady was nice and did her job well, but she didn't know why our room wasn't serviced). Their book said that rooms are serviced between 8-4:30, yet they were on the defensive when I called asking if I should be expecting them later. We were not able to control the temp in our room and it was so hot that we weren't able to sleep well. The hotel garage could use some work, as it is cold, dark and not well kept, with very small parking spaces. I did find the hotel lobby staff to be genuinely friendly, courteous and helpful. I wouldn't go to the hotel restaurant though - we went for drinks since the restaurant had a very limited menu (under construction). There was a waiter at the bar area that didn't make us feel welcome by giving us the check after every drink (even after our first) - not sure why he didn't get the hint after he had to reprint our check three times. I was glad when his shift ended and we got another server. I also wouldn't listen to the concierge's recommendation of dining at Milanos - expensive, even more poorly organized than Westin (manager there made people leave by telling them they were too busy) and the drinks are terrible (expensive, small portions, little alcohol). The location is great - many activities within walking distance, esp. if you have kids. I got a great rate on this hotel but if I had to pay more than 100, I would not stay here. The hotel pool seemed cool - our room had a view of it and there were many swimming (it was cold out so I'm sure it was heated) and there is a tunnel where you can swim outside from inside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Letty S- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Wstin Crown Cener. I sincerely apologize if your stay was less than perfect due to the frustrations you experienced with our housekeeping team as well as your disappointment in our Brasserie Restaurant. The service you received is unacceptable and not at all how we train our staff. It is our goal to create as relaxing and accommodating an experience as possible. I have addressed your comments with the appropriate teams to ensure these matters and handled and do not reoccur on any future stays. We value your business and I hope your stay does not reflect negatively on other Starwood Hotels. I hope to have the opportunity to have you back as our guest in the future to create a top notch stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The staff at Westin Crown Center were genuinely friendly. Real people, not the over the top, annoying, fake friendly. The staff, from the front desk, to the housekeepers, to the concierge, to the bar staff were happy to help their guests. I was impressed on how clean the whole hotel was and how comfortable the rooms were. It was easy and convenient to get from the hotel, to Union Station, to the shopping area and to the Aquarium. The hotel was very well laid out.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Lynda H- I appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am thrilled to hear what a top notch stay you had with us and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. It is our goal to create as relaxing and memorable a stay as possible and I a happy you were able to unwind in the comfort of your Heavenly bed as well as enjoy all the fun sites and dining in Crown Center. We value your business and look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to all of Kansas City including Country Club shopping area and the light and Power District. The restaurant is avery good value and we really enjoyed the shuttle service. The room were very nice and appeared to have been recently redecorated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dave S- Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear what a great stay you had and were able to enjoy the meals provided to you in our Brasserie. We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and it is great you were able to indulge in all the fun sites and dining in the area. We value your business and look forward to having you back as our guest in the future. Thank you again for sharing your refreshing comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Although this hotel did not feel like a "traditional" Westin -- I appreciated the helpful staff, the nice room, and the easy connection to client site (via the mall.)

My one hope for improvement -- the restaurant/bar in the lobby. There were not many vegetarian/healthy food options. When I went back up to my room, I realize I might have been better off ordering room service. The Westin room service menu is quite limited... I have commented about this before. The waitress was great, and helped me find something to eat -- but I do think a hotel this big could do better.

Quick trip... good experience... I would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

BusTraveler40- Thank you for sharing your refreshing feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am pleased to hear our staff was friendly and accommoadting ensuring you had everything you needed for a relaxing stay. Your feedback is very important to our team and I have shared your comments wtih our restaurant team. We truly value your business and look forward to creating another top notch stay for you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were thinking we couldn't best the price if the free Crown Center and Kaleidoscope so we took our 4 kids there. We loved everything about that place from the great food at the shopping center food court to the chocolate fudge shop! We will definitely be back;)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tippymsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

tippymsw1- I appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am thrilled to hear what a top notch experience your family had with us. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center with so many fun sites and restaurants that are ideal for the family. It is our goal to create a memorable and relaxing time for our guests and it means a lot to know our team was able to create this for you. We value your business and cannot wait to have you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
3.1 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 110 in Kansas City
1,176 reviews
3.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#18 of 110 in Kansas City
1,171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
3.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £150 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing