We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Crown Center
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at this Westin Crown Center for our 25th anniversary and could not have been happier. The rooms and public areas were clean and the staff was exceptional throughout our stay. The pool area was welcoming and had a fresh outdoorsy feeling, not just another hotel pool. I enjoyed the lobby so much too that I went downstairs just to read and people watch. The location was wonderful and we really enjoyed all the shops and dining opportunities we had without leaving the grounds. Conveniently, located to attractions. Although, there were quite a few attractions geared for families and children, we had no trouble finding adult activities in and around the immediate area. We will be going back next year for no particular reason other to enjoy the great amenities of this property. Thank you all at Westin Crown Center.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children and wish to be close to pool area, choose the 5th fl., otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Cynthia S- I appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear what a top notch experience you had with us and that our team went above and beyond to make your 25th anniversary special. We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and I am so happy you were able to indulge in all the area has to provide. We truly value your business and it means a lot to our team you chose to celebrate such a special day with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to create another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

953 - 959 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Westin comfort and cleanliness, large windows and a great location for excellent shopping in the Crown Center. There is convenient access to the historic Union Station. Impeccable service has given me a high-floor city view every time that I have stayed. Room service was fast, served hot and rivaled the meals served in the dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Steve C- I appreciate you taking your time to share your refreshing comments on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear what a signature stay you had with us and were able to relax and unwind in the comfort of your guest room, indulging in all the amenities provided to you as our guest. We take great pride in being centrally located in the heart of Crown Center. I am happy you were able to visit all the fun sites and shops at your convenience. We truly value your business and look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a great time. Works great for participating in Hospital Hill race and race activities. Great location for Crown Center and Union Station for family activities, enjoyed the King Tut display at Union Station.

Room Tip: Loved the corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Nathan S S- Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over the Hospital Hill Run. We are very fortunate to be centrally located in Crown Center surrounding many of Kansas City's favored sites and dining. I am happy you were able to enjoy all the great things the area has to offer at your convenience. We value your business and look forward to having you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The parking is horrible in the parking garage. If you drive a larger vehicle you will hit the top on parts of the second floor. (We didn't hit the top, but a large truck will struggle in the parking garage with height and tight turns.) Do not drive a large vehicle.

When we checked-in I wish they would have provided something other than my room key. It would have been nice to receive a map as the hotel is huge and can be very confusing.

The room was average, it was not overly special in any way. The craftsmanship was poor in some areas. The carpeting in the entire hotel needs replaced.

I brought my family to the hotel, and they didn't feel comfortable. The hotel seems more like a business hotel, not family hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerGirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

SummerGirl71- Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I sincerely apologize if were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. It is our goal to create as relaxing and inviting a stay as possible and it is truly disappointing to hear your family did not feel comfortable. Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future to create a more signature experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great Hotel and location and the staff go out of the way to treat you special. Get a room with a City view and as high up as you can. I love the fact that it has a mall connected and a covered walkway to Union Station. Will stay there again!!

Room Tip: City view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmooske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

kmooske- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am pleased to hear what a great weekend getaway you had with us and that our staff made you feel warm and welcome. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center. It is great you were able to utilize our link covered walkway to stay dry and warm to visit all the sites in the area. We value your business and we look forward to serving you as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Westin Crown Center served our needs very well. We stayed there to go to a KC Royals game and thought the location was good for doing other things as well as going to the game. The shopping and restaurants at the actual Crown Center didn't have a huge variety, but were acceptable. Union Station was right across the street, Legoland was close by if you have children, so there was plenty to do. The rooms were nice and big and clean. I'll take a large room in an older hotel any day over a little bitty room in a brand new hotel. One note - when you pay $200 for a room, it's nice to have free wi-fi, which the Westin does not. One complaint - Torrence, the shuttle driver to the Royals game, was downright rude. We were told that there would be a shuttle to the game that left at 5:15. We were there before then and he was already loaded up and almost gone. We asked if there was room for two more and he said "no" abruptly and just turned and left - no offer of another shuttle, a taxi, no nothing! Another couple who had actually put their name on the list for the shuttle got left behind, so we shared a cab and passed Torrence and his shuttle on the way to the game. All other staff were excellent, especially Tall Paul!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

cwaddle- I appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were able to take advantage of all the sites and shops in Crown Center at your convenience. We are very fortunate to be located in such a prime location. i sincerely apologize for the service you received on our shuttle. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate teams to address this and make sure it does not occur in the future. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We take your feedback very seriously. The Westin Crown Center looks forward to welcoming you back int he future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We make a practice of staying at the Westin prior to events like the Hospital Hill Half Marathon. We return to the Westin because our experience has always been good. This year we enjoyed a room overlooking Union Station and downtown. The view was outstanding. Although the area was crowded with folks attending the Hospital Hill event, a convention and Friday night summer activities, we were in our room in short order. From the pleasant and efficient greeting by Lester at Valet Parking to the front desk where we had almost no wait, we were treated like valued guests. The hotel is convenient to activities throughout the area. We could walk inside via the link to the event center and then later to Union Station and across the walking bridge to the Freight House district for dinner. Although we had a car we found it so convenient to walk to many venues, we did not use our car during our stay. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking downtown, the view is wonderful especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Bill K- I appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy to hear we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay and that our staff went above and beyond to ensure your experience with us was top notch. We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center. It is great you were able to take advantage of all the area has to offer and relax and unwind the the wonderful view from your guest room after a long day. Your refreshing feedback means a lot to our team and we truly value your loyalty to The Westin Crown Center. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to create another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
3.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.1 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £164 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing