We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of Kansas City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Crown Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Crown Center
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“In the heart of Kansas City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a stay there. Check-in was a breeze. Rooms were nice and the bed was comfy. Enjoyed having a few cocktails in the lobby bar. Staff was super friendly. This hotel could is conveniently located to several attractions and the Power & Light entertainment district. Love the ambiance of this hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Debbi B- Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided quick and efficient service to ensure you had as comfortable a stay as possible. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center with so many great sites and dining in the area and I am pleased you were able to visit the area at your convenience. We truly value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    532
    262
    117
    57
See reviews for
421
384
89
879
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great place to stay in mid-town KC. Downtown is just a few blocks away, the Plaza is also not far. Crown Center shops are adjacent with a few eating choices there plus in the hotel. Nice room, came with a refrigerator and great view. Besides parking costing sixteen bucks a day, had two problems: Found the walls to be a bit thin and had quite a bit of street noise - finally had to use earplugs to sleep. The walk between the parking garage and the lobby required schlepping suitcases up or down a flight of stairs, which seemed odd - no elevator around.

Room Tip: Facing away from the front of the hotel would cut down on the street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offered a $5 coupon in their lobby bar/restaurant if you skip maid service.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Changelatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Changelatitudes- Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our overall stay with us and were able to indulge in all the great sites in the Crown Center area. It is our goal to create as relaxing and convenient a stay as possible. I apologize if any traffic noise caused for a less than refreshing stay. We truly value your business and hope to serve you as our guest in the future to create a signature stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked our room through Expedia and got a really great rate! I expected our room to be in the basement next to the boiler room for that rate, but was pleasantly surprised to be placed in an excellent room on the 14th floor! I also requested (and received!) a room away from the elevator. The hotel has been updated from the last time we were there, so that was also a nice surprise. The best surprise, though, was Margaret at the front desk. She made us feel as though we were guests in her home. So welcome and pleasant! Thank you for a great stay, Westin!.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Penny G- Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax and unwind in the comfort of your guset room. We are very excited about our new lobby renovations and I a happy to hear you liked the new improvements. We truly value your business and it means a lot that our staff was friendly and accommodating. We look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was probably once really good. Now it is dated and tired.

The staff are great and there wasn't anything wrong with the hotel except that it needs a refurbishment and refresh. Everything is a little bit jaded.

As the hotel is attached to a Mall ther is a lot of through traffic in the reception which is either a distraction or great for peopl watching.

The location is a little odd as it's not "near" anything.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Steve A- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I sincerely apologize if your experience was less than perfect. It is our goal to create as relaxing and accommodating a stay as possible and we hope to welcome you back in the future to create a top notch experience. Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel July 20th - 24th and must say that I thought this resort would be on the caliber of other Westin resorts. Well, this hotel is in much need of a restoration. The floor in my unit were worn, the bedspread had make-up stains on it from a prior guest, and the safety deposit box was not even working. I would say that for the price this resort really needs to be renovated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
TravellingVA- Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I sincerely apologize if your experience was less than perfect due to the servicing of your guest room. We strive to create as relaxing and top notch a stay as possible and I understand your disappointments. I have addressed this matter with our housekeeping team to fix these issues as soon as possible. We truly value your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel was overbooked even though I prepaid. I was then transferred to a sister property (Sheraton) and placed in a double bed instead of a king right next to the elevators . Front desk staff was friendly but that doesn't excuse the inconvenience or overbooking of the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AyanaMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
dantelost- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I sincerely apologize for the frustrations you experienced upon check in at The Westin. I understand how disappointing this was for you but am happy to know our Sheraton team was friendly and accommodating. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to create a top notch, relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Without question, my stay at the Westin Crown Center over the duration of my attendance at the Silpada National Conference was seamless from the time of arrival on the front steps through checkout. The staff was welcoming to all returning Silpada Jewelry Representatives, giving the feeling that we were welcome to return each and every year for Conference. Amidst thousands of women running on sheer energy and excitement over their annual conference, each and every member of the Staff was highly professional, capable and able to maintain the utmost in decorum even in difficult situations.

While several hotels are offered during Conference each year, my choice will be to return to The Westin next year and each year for my visit.

Room Tip: During the time of Silpada National Conference, choose a corner room on one of the lower floors as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanWoman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear what a signature stay you had with us during the Silpada Conference and that our staff was friendly and accommodating from the moment you arrived. We truly value your business and it means a lot our team was able to create such a signature experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
3.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
1.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Property: The Westin Crown Center
Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing