We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supurb venue and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crown Center
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Supurb venue and value”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We recently stayed here for a wedding and extended weekend. The special rate for the wedding party was amazing (I won't quote it here, but let's just say I've spent more in some Holiday Inns). Our room was spacious with two comfortable chairs and a very convenient desk/work station with plenty of electrical outlets for plugging phones, tablets and computer. The bathroom had lots of counter space to accommodate my wife and me. The bed was not as comfortable as we would have expected from an AAA 4-Diamond hotel. I was also disappointed that there was an extra charge for in-room WiFi (which was waived because of our Starwood Membership). In-room WiFi in this era should be free. There is free WiFi access in the lobby.

The Brasserie Restaurant has a very nice breakfast buffet for a reasonable price. We did not have other meals in the hotel. There is easy access to connected attractions in the Crown Center via elevated walkways. The hotel is also walking distance to several major attractions: the National WWI Museum, Union Station, and more. For families with kids, local sites include an aquarium and a Lego Activity Center (adults are only admitted if they are accompanied by a child!)

Note that the airport is about 20 miles from the hotel. Most taxi companies have a flat rate of $46 one way (or about $52 on the meter). Super Shuttle service is cheaper, but may take longer.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and were very pleased with the hotel.

Green Features: The hotel has a "green" option in which you can decline daily maid service and receive a $5 / day voucher to use in the hotel (alcohol excluded).
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40n75w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
40n75w- Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to relax and unwind in the comfort of your guest room after a long day of festivities. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center with so many fun sites and shops right outside our doors and it is great you were able to indulge in all the area has to offer at your convenience. We truly value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    559
    270
    120
    59
See reviews for
443
401
91
933
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stay in Westins often, and this one is a bit average compared to most. However, the location is superb. It's an easy walk to many attractions (Legoland, Aquarium, Union Station, the King Tut Exhibit, the WW1 Museum, Hallmark) and restaurants. Most can be reached by elevated and air-conditioned walkways. If we were looking to stay close to the attractions, we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
ColoradoDoc- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy you were able to indulge in all the fun sites and shopping in the heart of Crown Center at your convenience. It is our goal as a Westin to create as relaxing and accommodating a stay as possible. We hope to have you back in the future to create a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from hosting a family reunion at the Westin Crown Center. It was a huge success and relatives from across the country loved this hotel. Preparation went smoothly thanks to Anthony in sales, Rita the concierge and Torrence in transportation. All were very helpful. The hotel has been renovated; we found rooms and facilities in very good condition. Staff were courteous and attentive from bellmen to front desk to housekeeping. Not one complaint over 4 days. The hotel is simply the best location possible to host a multigenerational gathering. It is perfectly situated between the action and nightlife of the Power & Light district, the great kids activities and museums around the hotel campus and the historic Country Club Plaza. It was wonderful to see that the Crown Center property built and celebrated years ago continues to be a vibrant part of Kansas City tourism.

Room Tip: Great views of downtown Kansas City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
dentaltraveler- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was friendly and accommodating ensuring you had everything you needed for a comfortable and convenient experience. We are truly fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center with so many fun sites and dining and it is great you were able to indulge in all the area has to offer at your convenience. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful renovated hotel with indoor fountains, spacious 3 story lobby, the BEST view of the Kansas City Skyline and a lovely outdoor secluded swimming pool with a bar. This hotel is part of the 3 story crown center shops and restaurants and connects to the Hallmark head quarters. We loved all of the kids activities and fountains. The sky walk "link" over to Union Station to more restaurants. This hotel Is The Best in Kansas City all around. Location, things to do, many great restaurants, view of downtown and Price!! Excellent service all around too!!! Highly recommend for families!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Patricia S- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear what a top notch stay you had with us and that you loved the new lobby renovations! It is our goal to create as relaxing and inviting a stay as possible and it is great you were able to indulge in all the wonderful sites and shops in Crown Center at your convenience as well as unwind n the comfort of your guest room after a long day. Your loyalty to The Westin Crown Center is very important to our team and we look forward to serving you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Aisha Hinds was a great help. She guided and advised us on anything we needed..She was very professional and she is a great asset to your organization!! Superior customer service!! The service everywhere in the hotel were very good.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel was very on top of the green ecological ways..
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semperfimamag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy to hear what a great stay you had with us and that our front office team went above and beyond to ensure you had everything you needed for a relaxing stay. I have shared your warm feedback with our team to ensure Aisha receives the recognition she greatly deserves. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently stayed several days and nights at the Crown Center. We found the facility to be very nice. It seems recently updated. It is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is attached to a mall, though at present it is mostly nonfunctional due to a renovation. There is a nice food court though, with all levels and cuisines, as well as a drug store, candy store, tea store, etc.

We found the room to be good. It was large enough, the bed was comfortable, there were plenty of pillows, and a fridge. I think the towels in the bathroom might have been nicer and more plentiful, but they were fine. The toiletries and coffees/teas were just fine. There was initially free bottled water, but that went to a dollar a bottle after the first were gone. Not bad, really.

We were over the pool, but that was not noisy. The pool is a nice, large one. I would say that we had no real complaints. There were a few minor frustrations.

The tv control was difficult. One of the people we were traveling with had a wet carpet, as a result of which her fridge was removed and not replaced. The hotel was very busy due to conventions and a dance competition, and the elevators were pretty slow. There were, however, many elevators. We did laugh! One of the amenities advertised is private balconies. These balconies were about 12 inches wide, and I would challenge a person to relax on that. Still, the window was a door, so there was good light and a view if you have the right room. Although we did get daily housekeeping, the replenishing of the toiletries, water, coffee, etc. was a little sporadic. I solved that by catching the cleaning cart and asking for what I needed. We did room service dessert once, and that was efficient and took only about 30 minutes to arrive.

Ah, yes. One complaint. The restaurant in the lobby, The Brasserie, is the slowest restaurant I have ever encountered. The food was fine, but we opted to be elsewhere rather than wait so very very long for our food. I am sure there were some specific circumstances, but it was not acceptable.

The valet service was pretty pricey, even with a discounted cost. The valets and bellmen were very nice and efficient. I really think they need more valet people, though, because when we arrived we had to go and find someone. I saw others doing that throughout the visit as well.

All in all, this was a good experience and I would not hesitate to return.

Green Features: They do have options for green stays. We did not use it, but it is great if you choose that path.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiiantaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hawaiiantaco- Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center with so many great sites and dining and it is great you were able to indulge in all the area has to offer at your convenience. It is our goal to create as comfortable a stay as possible and I am happy you received this experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This Westin at Crown Center has been around a while and show its age. Nevertheless, the rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with the usual Westin collection. There is a nice waterfall in the lobby atrium and great views from the rooms. The hotel is connected to the Crown Center where there are entertainment and eating venues. Also a skywalk connects to the Union Station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the downtown area. also, BE SURE TO ASK ABOUT THE AIRPORT SHUTTLE.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can opt out of daily housekeeping and the hotel gives you a $5 discount at local restaurants.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveShalit_GM, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
MichaelBD57- Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to indulge in all the wonderful shops and sites in Crown Center. We strive to create as relaxing and inviting a stay as possible and I am happy you received this experience. We value your loyalty throughout the years and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
3.1 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 108 in Kansas City
1,144 reviews
3.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 108 in Kansas City
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Property: The Westin Crown Center
Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing