We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed at Quality Suites Airport in Kansas City the night of 9-3-11. On the surface, there seemed nothing wrong and we were at first delighted with the check in and our room. After putting our things down and really looking around, our room had definitely seen better days. It had a funny sweet smelling cleaner that had been used in it. I'm not sure if that was their typical cleaner or if they were using it to mask the smell of cigarette smoke. There were dead ants in our window and on the top of the air conditioner unit. I never did see a live one. So maybe the smell was some sort of fumigant. The window and wall around it had a LOT of water damage. I never saw any mold (yes I looked carefully), but I didn't see any. The wall paper was very yellowed and peeling behind the curtain. The bathroom vanity also had lots of water damage at the base. The plug in by the sink had been ripped from the wall at some point and was just being held in by the wires from the socket and the bathroom vent fan was the same way. There was also lots of water damage around the baseboards in the bathroom. The room seemed clean. I never saw any live bugs, the sheets & blankets were clean, the carpet was clean (except under the a/c unit) and everything else about the room was clean. I guess all of the water damage just made it feel dingie to me. The indoor pool was small, but nice. The spa tub's jets were broken, so you could sit in the hot water, but couldn't actually get a water massage. Breakfast was decent with cereals, toast, bagels, fruit, waffles, scrambled & boiled eggs and sausage links. There was plenty of coffee, hot tea, and juice.
I didn't use it, but the hotel had a service that you could park in their lot and they would shuttle you to and from the airport. That seemed to me that it would be a very nice service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountryMomx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 139 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is the most broken down hotel I have ever been to. The numbers on the doors are all falling off... and are replaced with tape. The rooms smell of something awful (think mold and BO combined). And when we first walked into our room, we immediately noticed the carpets were wet. Gross.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kimlynea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcarlsonmo629, General Manager at Quality Suites Airport Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

The hotel is currently under renovations. The room number signage is on order. All the wood furniture was was refinished, they started on 7-5 and finished 7-10. All the AC units were cleaned and there may have been some dampness near the AC units as he worked on the AC's on 7-5 also. As there are several phases to the renovations we apologize for any inconvenience to the guest and look forward to the renovations being completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This property appears to still be "updating". The poeple working at the front desk were pleasant. While the room was good sized and appeared to have new carpet, there were other areas that need improvement. The numbers on the room doors were attached by clear tape and many had fallen on the hallway floor. The ice machine was not working on the first floor, the indoor pool was ice cold and the whirlpool was out of order. Our air conditioning was not working properly. When we arrived back at the hotel following a ballgame we were not able to find a parking place. We parked behind the hotel in an unlit area that made us very uneasy. Unlike the previous reviewer we paid $99.00 for our room and I would have expected more for that price. In the future I will look at the other properties in this area, as there are many on NW Ambassador Rd.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funtrip44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcarlsonmo629, General Manager at Quality Suites Airport Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

The hotel is currently under renovations and repair. There are several phases of the renovations and it is taking some time to complete. We apologize to the guest for any inconvenience and look forward to the renovations being complete soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

American cancelled it's flight to Chicago due to bad weather in DFW. Left to our own, we picked up an airport phone. Quality offered a free shuttle, breakfast, and a very reasonable ($59) overnight rate.

Check-in was easy. The room was large and had a sitting area. Shuttle service not only included the airport, but ZonaRosa; a shopping/restaurant district near the airport. Very nice since there is not a nearby restaurant. We were wisked away to a sidewalk table in Zona Rosa. Birds were chirping. The sun was out. I checked Hotels.com to see if the rate I was quoted was a rack rate. It was the same as the online rate. Nice to know I was not taken advantage of due to American's cancellation. The next morning Quality provided a nice continental styled breakfast, easy check out, and a shuttle to the airport.

Sounds a bit like a comercial, but this really happened Monday May 23rd at 15:20. Hopefully it will happen to you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I don't know the history of this place, but it was evident that this was an "in transition" kind of place. The first indication was the plastic banner/sign tied to a structure out front. You know the kind, the TEMPORARY kind. It looked like Hawthorn just took over the building and were trying to see if they could make a go of it. My answer to that would be a resounding "No". I was ready to leave within the first 10 minutes of arriving, but we had little choice as we needed a place for just one night and the location was great. Dirty bathroom, itchy sheets, etc. If this is a new venture for them, they should try fixing up the place AND THEN allowing guests in, not having guests WHILE they figure out how to run a hotel. I can't think of one good comment to write, other than a good location. Sad, really.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyVacaPlnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed here as a flight was cancelled. ALL staff was super friendly, food at breakfast was WONDERFUL! Free shuttle staffed by great people. Free Internet. All around an excellent experience!!! H U G E rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janetoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
#48 of 109 in Kansas City
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#38 of 109 in Kansas City
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Airport Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Airport Kansas City

Address: 11951 N Ambassador Dr, Kansas City, MO 64153-1126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Airport Kansas City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites Airport is a 2-room all suite hotel less than 2 miles away from the Kansas City International Airport. We are located just east of the junction at 1-29 and I-435 on NW Ambassador Drive, 20 miles from downtown Kansas City. Close to Worlds of Fun, Oceans of Fun, the Sprint Center, Kansas City Power and Light District and Zona Rosa Shopping Center Area. Royals and Chiefs Stadiums are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Suites Airport Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Hawthorn Suites
Comfort Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing