We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #89 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Emporia, Kansas
1 review
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I had a wonderful experience at the hotel. Frankly I was surprised at the reviews. The staff were professional and the hotel was well maintained. I was impressed with the staff's willingness to go above and beyond to be helpful. They were open to suggestions and receptive. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: I had a wonderful stay st this hotel. The staff were professional and went out of their way to assis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steavenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    30
    49
    134
See reviews for
88
35
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

front desk very helpful and always willing to help with your luggage , has a resturant and lounge which was very helpful since we were all tired after a long flight . breakfast was really good too !!! only 5 min from the airport and offers a free shuttle and the driver was very nice . I will return soon and I will stay there again .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgerumzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I showed up to the hotel and the elevator was broken. The spa they offer also broken. The pool looks like it hasn't been cleaned. Mud in parts of it at the bottom. They say pet friendly ,but there are 1-2 ft hole all around the outside of the hotel in the grass areas. Majority of the staff are rude. Rooms are filty. Dirty sheets,tables,dressers.Noticed a spill by back door that sat there for 2 days. Lock to pool door broken on one door have to go around. Management refused to address any issues.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Knob Noster
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Worse hotel room I have stayed in during my 59 years! Website advertised room service/restaurant; sign in lobby said rest open 7 days a week. Restaurant was CLOSED. The room was so crowded you could barely walk around the furniture. Linens were dingy white, wrinkled, I was unsure if they'd been changed and debated whether to sleep in the bed or not. The mattress and pillows were worn out, the frame of the bed seemed broken, when you sat on the end of the bed it rocked. COCKROACH on wall! Toilet coming off of floor, rocked when I sat on it! Veneer coming off table. Balcony was hideous, chipped concrete, peeling paint. Dirty coffee cups (film in the bottom) Neither phone worked in our room; we reported this, four hrs. Later no one had come in to check them. We reported them again but they weren’t able to fix them. When the front desk clerk came up to try and fix the phones, we showed her other issues with our room. Kat was very nice, apologetic, and very embarrassed and appalled at the condition of the room. She did offer to move us to another room but we were too tired to move. e The airport shuttle a busted out window covered with some cardboard and looked like a junk heap! We will never stay at this hotel again and will question any other hotel in the choice chain! I'd like to see the reality show Hotel Impossible pay this location a visit! We stayed here when it was a Radisson and it was a wonderful hotel but has gone down the tubes. I will not return and will recommend to anyone NOT to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stay in this property for a month between Thanksgiving and new years, what a dump.
The couldn't figure out how to program the key for more than a few days at a time.
The smoking rooms have not been updated in years, although they state the non-smoking rooms are updated.
One of the two elevators didn't work most of the time I was there, I even got stuck in it once when it was working(kinda).
Two of the three ice machines were broken and had been for a while, they stated then would order parts the next fiscal year.
It snow heavily while I was there and they never plow or even put down salt.
The only bright spot was the girl at the bar, pretty and pleasent and not able to help with the other problems.
Don't waste your time here, better hotels near-by.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKWare2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
873 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

When I checked into my room, found a lamp with the lampshade off and no lightbulb ... two clock radios one unplugged ... dresser unrefinished since tv was replaced by a flat screen model on the wall ... cracked mirror ... broken stopper in the sink ... no shampoo

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMOverby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The only thing good we can say is that the staff if friendly and wants to help but the facility itself is in terrible shape. The heat and cooling unit makes to much noise we don't dare have it on. The Ice box had been removed completely, and the tv reception was not even watchable. Most difficult of all is that the toilet won't shut off unless you manually fix it. There are good hotels in the area around the airport but this isn't one of them.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41PeteR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#37 of 109 in Kansas City
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Plaza Circle
0.1 mi away
Towneplace Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 11828 NW Plaza Cir, Kansas City, MO 64153-1110 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Airport)
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing