We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is that smell??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What is that smell??”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We found out late in the afternoon that we needed to spend two nights in south KC. Drove down after looking at ten different hotels. We unfortunately picked this one. We walked in to very slow service with lots of people trying to get check in or questions answered. The lady behind the counter was very nice, but slow. The room stank. No other way to explain but think of wet dog mixed with a vacuum cleaner broken bag. The bed squeaked very loudly. Wasted the money booking a king size. Next morning my wife tried to get moved to another room. The lady at the front desk did not care that the room was terrible. Her and one other worker were constantly talking about other employees and how terrible a job they do. They complained about about their jobs, other employees, the food they had to set out, everything you can imagine. No service, no help, place was filthy, and the tub dripped. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the slow check in process you experienced and the unpleasant odor you encountered in your room. As well, I apologize that our staff did not conduct themselves in a professional manner. I will be meeting with our staff to review these issues to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    8
    15
    41
See reviews for
21
7
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First night in hotel all they had was smoking room, got in late so I took it with the understanding I would have a non-smoking room available next day for two week stay planned. Manager Whitney came to my room knocked on door and evicted me at 11:30 am next morning. I explained I had a reservation for non-smoking room for day two and asked to stay in my room until my non-smoking room was ready. She said I'd have to pack up and leave and come back later. Cancelled my reservation on the spot and went to a nice Marriot where I have tons of points to use. Take my advice, pay the extra money and use a hotel that gives points towards free nights. You do not get much benefit from the low price extended stay gives you, stinky rooms and rude staff.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that you were unaware of our payment and reservation policy. In response to your feedback, I am making sure we review the policies with every guest at check in. As well, I apologize that you were given a smoking room and that our staff did not attend to your needs in a professional manner. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please feel free to contact me directly, at bwilmurth@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff was very helpful throughout our stay. A few items I needed the staff promptly brought to me. I would stay with them again! My son loved the chocolate muffins for breakfast and I the coffee! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Kristi – I appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our staff and our grab-and-go breakfast during your visit with us. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our team. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The manager here at this hotel is great. She does an awesome job. She finds excellent help for the hotel to provide wonderful helpful assistance away from home. Thanks for hiring Whitney. And thank Whitney for hiring Ina, Tania, Sherry and Anureka.

Room Tip: If you have kids, then stay on the 1st floor where Ina will help supervise them. If you smoke you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Owner at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Noel - The team and I appreciate your kind remarks. I am proud of our staff for providing you with a "home away from home". I will be sure to share your kind remarks with Whitney and that other members of our staff.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to providing you with the excellent service during your stay at Extended Stay America Kansas City South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The staff is outstanding, and may i say, extremely helpful. They have been very informative from pointing out the greatest places to dine and just the general knowledge of the city. The house keeping is excellent and always on time.. Absolutely no complaints..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splices1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm thrilled that our staff has been helpful in finding your way around the city. As well it is great to know that the entire team has been attentive to all of your needs. We look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Friendly staff, but the rooms had various problems from understocked kitchen supplies that other rooms did have in place to dirty refrigerator, etc. It is usually fine when it is just me and not when I'm bringing a group. Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: These rooms are inexpensive and doable for a must do situation. But, for an extended stay with a gro...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Kim - The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. It upsets me to hear that your room was not properly stocked and the level of cleanliness was not in line with our company's high standards. I am sorry for your experience. To ensure that a situation like yours doesn't happen again, my team is going to inventory each of our guest rooms, ensuring they are stocked correctly moving forward. As well, our housekeeping staff is working to enhance our cleaning services so cleanliness is not an issue in the future.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me, at kcs@extendedstay.com, if you have any additional comments. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel for an annual conference several times and have never had any issues. Unfortunately this was the worst hotel experience I've ever had in my life. I started receiving bug bites the first night of four nights. It wasn't until waking up the next day and having discovered more bug bites that I concluded that I was receiving the bites from the hotel. I brought the issue to attention of the front desk clerk immediately. I returned to the bug infested room and sat on the floor for TWO HOURS before anything was done. I had to call corporate at this point because nothing was being done. Finally a maintenance man came to inspect the room, he did find bed bugs in the head board! I was completely disgusted and horrified that I had been exposed to a blood sucking parasite through no fault of my own. My luggage had to be discarded with no replacement. I did recieve a full refund for all four nights, although nothing could be done to replace the time we had lost that day. It took half of the day to inspect and sterilize our luggage and clothing. I had to wear a sheet for three hours while I waited on my clothes to be washed. I am still in utter shock that something like this happened to me. I received about 7 bites on my face alone, and even more on both of my arms. Every time I look in the mirror I am disgusted at the thought of a parasite having been on my face! Because of what happened at this hotel I am anxious to stay in hotels in general now. I regret saying that I will NEVER be returning to this hotel again in my lifetime. If I wasn't so embarrassed about the situation I would probably be more proactive in discouraging everyone I know from staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank advicefrommonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Owner at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Monica - The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the level of cleanliness in your room and any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. The situation you described is not the norm, and one we take very seriously. In response, I am working with the staff to ensure that we improve how we handle these types of issues and limit the amount of time it takes for us to react. Also, your room has been deep cleaned and the housekeeping staff is striving to enhance their cleaning procedures and inspection policies moving forward to ensure this type of situation is not repeated.

The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. I invite you to contact me, at kcs@extendedstay.com, if you have any additional comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area for International House of Prayer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.6 mi away
Best Host Inn Plaza Kansas City South
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City South
Courtyard Kansas City South
#49 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Plaza Circle
23.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Tiffany Springs
3.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave
Extended Stay America - Kansas C...
#27 of 37 in Overland Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South

Property: Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South
Address: 550 E 105th St, Kansas City, MO 64131-4308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Kansas City
Kansas City Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing