We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent one-nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City South
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Decent one-nighter”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This brand is designed for business travelers not youth church groups, football squads or Mom's weekend getaways from the kitchen. Our stay was a one-nighter on points and was above average as the location was in a very quiet, semi-residential cul-de-sac, the staff was competent and friendly and our top floor room was very comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    65
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
55
27
2
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have been guests at this Courtyard for at least 20 times over the last 5 years. I can't recall ever leaving with complaint. This hotels feels brand new withrecent rooms and lobby renovations.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autryp314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2011

On our last trip to KC our van was broken into when there was nothing left in sight to steal. Out of state tags. No security. Manager pointed to the sign that states "HOTEL NOT RESPONSIBLE" and shrugged it off,
Do yourself a favor ...even if the room is more- stay somewhere else

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hnemets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had originally reserved a room with two queen beds. However, with my husbands status at Marriott we were upgraded to a suite. Sounds nice but the room didn't live up to expectations! It was dustier than some barns I've been in, seriously! It was bad enough that my five year old woke up before the rest of us and felt compelled to clean, and it was a huge improvement!!! It looked like the room hadn't been used in several months and someone just ran though and kind of dusted SOME of the flat surfaces. All of us woke up several times in the night coughing from the dust.

The bistro was SLOW and both the service and food were awful! My two year old spilled some juice and we don't have any silverware or napkins so I went up to ask for some napkins, she was busy and I couldn't get her attention so I went to take some silverware wrapped in napkins that were laying on the bar. She actually told me to put them back!! I explained why I needed them and she said she would bring out some napkins and a towel. Well, she took her time wandering out to help us while I sat at a table with three kids and juice everywhere! I was horrified that she would tell me not to take the napkins accessible and then not even bother to try and hurry out knowing there was a mess and small children! Once the food finally came it was awful and insanely expensive especially given the quality of what was served.

I can at least say that the room was very quiet and there wasn't all the normal banging and such that usually wakes me up in a hotel. However if our stay was typical, it's no wonder the hotel was quiet!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrnazarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My only complaint is that the hotel assigned an already-occupied room. Relocation to another room was quick and easy and met with sincere apology. I rated "Sleep Quality" a 4 out of 5 because the bed was too firm for my liking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMS1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The lobby and bistro area had been remodeled recently. Looked fine. But the kitchen service is slower than molasses. On both mornings I went down there, there were hardly any customers, yet it took forever to get the food out. 20 minutes for oatmeal? Really? No vending machines -- you have to buy drinks and snacks in the lobby. There's no WiFi in the rooms, and my iPod Touch doesn't have an Ethernet port, so no Internet in the room. Speaking of the room, the first one I got had evidence of bed bugs on the mattress. After calling the front desk, I was immediately moved to another room. Not sure if it was a current infestation or if the problem had been treated already, but leaving the mattress like that is just gross. And why not be proactive and regularly inspect the mattresses for bed bugs -- and discard the nasty mattresses?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Spent a night here in September 2010 with my fiancee the night before attending a football game at Arrowhead. Got a pretty reasonable deal on Travelocity. Pretty standard Courtyard - the chain is in the process of doing renovations at all its properties...this was an older Courtyard and had not been renovated but the folks at the front desk indicated that they were starting renovations in October, so by the holidays they may be done. That would give the hotel a much needed revitalization. This is a suburban style hotel -- not a high-rise but rather three floors and more spread out.

The first room we got smelled really musty and like it had been a smoking room at one point (currently the entire hotel is non-smoking). They relocated us to another room which was fine.

Entire hotel was very cold -- hallways were probably 60 degrees, and the rooms were cold upon entry but warmed up once you turned the heat on. Again, standard Courtyard style - nicely decorated, but currently with older CRT style TV's (should change with the renovation). Beds were comfy as they always are at Courtyard and bathrooms were very clean.

I'd stay here again, and I'd anticipate it will look nice once they complete the renovations it will look real nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fjnovak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.7 mi away
Best Host Inn Plaza Kansas City South
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City South

Property: Courtyard Kansas City South
Address: 500 E 105th St, Kansas City, MO 64131-4308
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City South 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kansas City South Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing